We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Location! Clean and not too pricey!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe
Ranked #21 of 68 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
West Lawn, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
97 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great Location! Clean and not too pricey!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2008

Our family of four stayed here for two nights in August of 2008 and enjoyed our stay. The property is located within a five minute walk to Heavenly and perhaps a ten minute walk to the casinos in Stateline, Nevada.

We stayed here with our two children and they enjoyed the pool and the hot tub as well as the complimentary continental breakfast. The breakfast has the usual items; bagels, cereal, yogurt, etc. Our room was clean and large. It also had a small microwave and fridge which came in handy when we brought pizza back from our first night out.

Our rate was around $130 a night which I didnt think was bad considering our location. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mailcommando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    197
    49
    12
    9
See reviews for
140
146
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2008

Pretty good location about 10 minutes walk from main lift, good rental shop across the road and the ski bus stops there. Typical motel layout, my room was large and clean. Breakfast is very basic: I've never come across so many precooked things you stick in a toaster! Free coffee and tea all day long. Would stay again but would eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank N_McL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2008

This is a nice, new property with well maintained grounds, clean rooms, comfortable beds and large bathrooms. It is located in a great spot and easy to walk to nearby attractions.

The only complaint we had was an iron that was leaking water and frustrating to use when trying to iron our clothes.

For a weekend stay in Tahoe we thought it was a pretty good value and would recommend staying there.

  • Liked — Well maintained property, clean rooms, comfortable beds, good sized bathroom, good location
  • Disliked — The iron in the room for ironing our clothes was leaking water and frustrating to use.
  • Stayed July 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank seetheworld87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2008

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights and were very happy with the room and the location. Surrounded by pine trees and set off the road this place was very quiet in one of the busiest areas of South Tahoe. Pool area was nice and we liked the indoor Jacuzzi. Guest laundry area had 2 washers and 2 dryers. The rooms have a large bathroom area with nice dresser, large closet, and 2 side by side sinks. Very reasonable price for this area. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Location is perfect.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jbaker2858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st louis
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2008

The hotel is in a nice location and walking distance to most things.
It is a good looking hotel and has good parking. The room is very nice and clean. I would advise tho that if you stay there get a room on the second floor. We were on the first floor and we could hear people walking around upstairs and also knew when they used the toilet or took a shower. It was so loud one night I had to close our bathroom door which didn't help very much. Also the front desk staff is not the most professional. I would stay there again but only on the second floor.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — noise from second floor
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SsiStljohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2008

Wow. My family loved this place. We booked 2 rooms for 4 adults, 3 seniors, 2 teens, and 1 toddler. We were here for a wedding. The rest of the family stayed at the Marriot Grand Residence. Our room had the kitchen which had everything we needed. Usually the kitchen and dining area is pretty cramped, but this was spacious enough. We also had the suite which sleeps 6. This place had plenty of room. Raleys shopping center was like a 5 minute walk. The casinos was maybe a 15 minute walk. It was in a great location. The checkin process was a breeze. We requested late check out and that was no problem at all. We also loved this place because parking was right outside our door. Alot of our relatives were stopping by to visit because we had alot of room in the living area. At one time, we had 12 teens and 2 kids and 2 adults watching a movie in the living area. We loved this place. I dont regret choosing this place over Marriot Grand. We will certainly come back.

  • Liked — price
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lovely622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakenheath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2008

Booked the hotel for 3 nights at the end of our US road trip in November 2007. The Holiday inn Express in South lake Tahoe was our last stop before heading back to the UK.

Checked in with no problems. Front of house staff were plesent and helpful. We were given a room on the ground floor towards the back of the parking lot. It was nice an quite. The hotel was not full while we were there. The room was light and bright. Two Double Beds, Work Table with Free internet, sofa type chair, large TV and Tea and Coffee making equipment. The bathroom was almost as big as the bedroom with two sinks and a very large shower.

The hotel felt very safe. There is a free breakfast in the morning but it was quite busy. The foodbar was restocked on a regular basis and we didnt want for anything. There is a currows onsite and Applebys within walking distance. There are a large number of other places to eat within driving distance or you could walk up to stateline and eat at one of the casinos.

The hotel also had vending and Ice machines, Washer and Dryer and a hot tub (Indoors). The main pool was closed as it was off season.

The location is ideal for the casinos just accross stateline and for the ski resorts durning the winter and the lake durning the summer. We had a great stay and could not really fault it. The hotel is also fully non smoking.

  • Liked — free Internet, big rooms, free breakfast
  • Disliked — nothing really
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Nickwaddick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
0.3 mi away
Americana Village
Americana Village
#7 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#9 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#10 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
#20 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe

Property: Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe
Address: 3961 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8907
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#19 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express, South Lake Tahoe is centrally located on Hwy 50, nestled in the heart of South Lake Tahoe. Getting here is fast and convenient too. We are the ideal place to enjoy fresh mountain air, beautiful scenery and natural landscaping. The Holiday Inn Express is just minutes from Lake Tahoe, Nevada Stateline Casinos, Skiing, Horseback Riding, Shopping, Movie Theaters, Boat Cruises, and so much more! Our facilities include an Seasonal Outdoor Pool and Spa. Our Indoor Spa and Sauna Room is currently being renovated, until June 2016. We are a completely Smoke-Free facility. Our hotel features include Complimentary Express Start Breakfast, Free Wi-Fi Internet Access and Local Phone Calls. You are close to Restaurants and Night Life yet amid graceful Pine Trees. Visit South Lake Tahoe, CA and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Holiday Inn Express Lake Tahoe
Holiday Inn Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing