We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Efficient, but more!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe
Ranked #21 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Reviewed November 6, 2013

You'll find what you expect for a HI Express. It's a basic motor inn layout where you can park near your room. The rooms are clean and standard, but the bathrooms were impressive. You"ll find an outdoor pool, as well as an both indoor and out door spa. Breakfast was better than anticipated and the location is perfect. A couple of blocks to the downtown shopping, chairlifts, waterfront, and casinos. However, since the hotel is not surrounded by those things and its set back from the street, it feels peaceful and quiet. A great choice for winter or summer.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ru P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Hello Ru P,

Thank you for staying with us, sounds like you had a good time. I am happy that you had the opportunity experience the the numerous activities within walking distance from the hotel. Hope to see you again this winter. Have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (465)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 465 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2013

This motel was EXTREMLY CLEAN and very accomodating. We had trouble finding a hotel/motel that would hold a block of rooms for my daughters wedding party. The Holiday Inn Express was very accomodating with holding our block of 10 rooms they had us all together and a great rate. The outside of this motel is very woodsy looking but the inside was all new and decorated nicely.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Dear Wendy D,

I hope that your daughters wedding turned out to be a fantastic experience. I am glad that our staff was able to accommodate your party and keep the rooms close to each other. Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of our property, hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for one night as we were passing through Lake Tahoe. For a standard room with a king size bed we paid $150. I would say this hotel is just okay. I didn't have a horrible experience, but it wasn't exactly a great one either.

Pros:
1) The room was very clean. I hate walking into a hotel and feeling like it is scummy or gross. This holiday inn did NOT feel like that and I was very happy with how clean everything was.
2) Excellent location! Easy walk to heavenly village and the casinos. Very close to Carrows and Applebees if you are just looking for something quick.
3) Free wifi
4) Spacious and comfy king bed
5) Nice TV and many channels available
6) Free parking right outside the rooms

Cons:
1) Housekeeping!!! First they woke us up early by slamming the cart around very loudly outside. Then they knocked on our door at 8:30am. We told them we were still sleeping but they kept coming by and knocking on our door repeatedly, even after we put in the "please let us sleep for a few more hours" placard. This kept occurring from 8:30-10:30pm. Check out time was 12pm and we felt that housekeeping kept pressuring us to leave, even hours before checkout. I found it very irritating to be woken up in this way and did not appreciate practically being pushed out the door.
2) Continental breakfast was not great. They did have a lot of items to choose from, but all of the items were poor quality. In addition, the way the breakfast area is set up is annoying. It was very crowded and hard to access many of the items we wanted.
3) Although the bathroom was a good size, the bedroom was pretty small overall and felt cramped even for 2 people.
4) Walls seemed like they were paper thin. We could constantly hear people walking by and up/down the stairs.
5) Lack of amenities. I have stayed at hotels for similar prices that had gyms, room service, etc which is always convenient.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megan24209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Megan24209,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. It's nice to hear that you like our clean rooms and convenient location. Our goal is to provide superior customer service and a unique stay to all of our guests. I would like to apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced due to the unacceptable housekeeping service received and amenities. We will address these points and we hope when you return you will see the improvements made. Once again thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I normally don't stay at "express" hotels but the reviews were good so thought I would try it. The room was clean, quiet, and very reasonably priced, compared to some of the other hotels in the area. Breakfast is free but not to my liking. If you are picky about your breakfast food there are may places within walking distance.

Room Tip: If you like a sunny room you should request it. These rooms open up to an outside hallway with a co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Spent one night on vacation. Great front desk. I asked for a shower stool when I registered and they were at the door with one when I got to room. Great location, good breakfast, great little Inn. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 156lulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed two quiet nights at this property, in a nice-sized king room. They include a nice breakfast buffet and free Wi-Fi. What I especially liked were two separately-controlled lights in the ceiling, making the room brighter than most hotel/motel rooms. The staff was friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lincmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is an old hotel-motel.Our room were in a bldg a significant distance across a parking lot from the office/breakfast room. Rooms are elaborately decorated, clean and service good, but beds & pillows & linens are horridly cheap and very old!.No ice or soda machines was located in the building where our room was located. Advertised exercise room was also in an out-of the way building. The advertising did not indicate that there were no elevators in some buildings.

Room Tip: ask for building with elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19,022,013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear 19022013,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. My apologies for any disappointment you may have had with our facilities. Please be assured that these will be looked into and that your comments will be used to monitor future improvements needed.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,166 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
225 reviews
0.3 mi away
Americana Village
Americana Village
#6 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#9 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
915 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#10 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe

Address: 3961 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8907
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#16 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: $143 - $418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express, South Lake Tahoe is centrally located on Hwy 50, nestled in the heart of South Lake Tahoe. Getting here is fast and convenient too. We are the ideal place to enjoy fresh mountain air, beautiful scenery and natural landscaping. The Holiday Inn Express is just minutes from Lake Tahoe, Nevada Stateline Casinos, Skiing, Horseback Riding, Shopping, Movie Theaters, Boat Cruises, and so much more! Our facilities include an Seasonal Outdoor Pool and Spa. Our Indoor Spa and Sauna Room is currently being renovated, until June 2016. We are a completely Smoke-Free facility. Our hotel features include Complimentary Express Start Breakfast, Free Wi-Fi Internet Access and Local Phone Calls. You are close to Restaurants and Night Life yet amid graceful Pine Trees. Visit South Lake Tahoe, CA and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Holiday Inn Express Lake Tahoe
Holiday Inn Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing