We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe
Ranked #21 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Even though this Holiday Inn is an older property everything was 5 stars! The young ladies at the front desk were friendly and accommodating. The location was ideal and walking distance to everything for eating, shopping and playing. There's lots of free parking and the complimentary breakfast is the normal Holiday Inn spread. Their water tastes second best after ours back home, thus no need to go out and buy bottled water there for drinking. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaTvlAgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

We are very happy that you had a wonderful stay. Thank you for your kind words about our friendly staff. Our city is proud to have such great tasting drinking water and it is definitely a bonus to not have to buy bottled water when staying in South Lake Tahoe. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (464)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 464 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2012

Very nice place with welcoming and friendly staff. Complimentary breakfast good. My only complaint was that I thought we just had a few yards to walk to the Lake, but that was private land so we had to walk along the road a fair distance before accessing the lake. It is a shame that so much of the lake access has been bought privately.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ObanTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are happy that you had a good experience while staying with us. The nearest public beach access is less than one mile away. Like you, we wish that there was less private access too. I will make sure to convey your comments about our "welcoming and friendly staff" to my co-workers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We are fans of holiday inn express and have stayed in them all across the USA this one is quite old and in need of some upgrading, that said the room was clean and well presented, the staff are exceptional, the receptionists were helpful, happy and obliging the breakfast was up to HIE standard, there is no fitness room which we look for, all that aside the inn is well situated close to restaraunts and most of the sights... It represents great value, Would we stay again? Yes, if you do you won't be disappointed, alan and Penny

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank AlanT113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed 2 nights here. Great base for South Lake Tahoe. Compact room but all the facilities and very clean. Free wifi. Just offset from main road but did not notice noise at Night Good pool . Used Laundry - washer and drier, $2 including powder. Just across the road from Raleys supermarket, short walk from ski-lift and shops, and easy walk to Casino at stateline. Friendly staff and good breakfast. Thoroughly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikepr59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Arrived with a group of 5 at 3pm, one king, one double and a king with jacuzzi and fire place.My room was not ready until about 4 pm,not a good start after a long drive.Went down to reception at about 5 pm with some questions,the young lady was busy while the other lady was outside the front door sitting on the seat having a smoke .Things did get better from there, a handy location,clean and tidy rooms , all three and a chance to catch up on laundry. The ladies who made up our room everyday were pleasent and well worth the tip we left. Apart from our shakey start i would recommend this inn, but check out prices of all hotels close bye

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lowewalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We were welcomed with a friendly smile and were pleasantly surprised by the spaciousness of the room. The room was clean and had a very nice compact kitchenette. I thought it was a great idea that the pillowcases are embroidered with the firmness of the pillows they contained. No guessing if the pillow is just right! We requested a ground floor room and found that the walkways were lined with slip and snow resistant mats. We were given a map of the grounds so we could easily find the spa and ice and soda machines. Breakfast was included however since we were so close to other restaurants we opted to explore the area instead. This hotel is in a great location with all the amenities. We would stay here again and recommend it to anyone who is particular about a clean and comfortable room.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SgtWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

This hotel is situated near ski lift, shops and Lake, rooms are a good size and clean. The staff are good and helpful, and plenty of resturants close to the hotel within walking distance.It is made to look more like a motel type accomidation and parking, but in a good way.The block we stayed in on the second floor had no lift, so if you have heavy suitcases I would reccomend when booking you either get a block that has a lift or go ground floor. The continental break fast was as per standard HIXP and the area although small was clean and tidy. A trip on the Lake is a must plus a walk on the top after stopping off the cable car is well worth while.

Room Tip: Make sure ground floor room or block with lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vic f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,150 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#9 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,100 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Americana Village
Americana Village
#6 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
405 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
913 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe

Address: 3961 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8907
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#18 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: $136 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express, South Lake Tahoe is centrally located on Hwy 50, nestled in the heart of South Lake Tahoe. Getting here is fast and convenient too. We are the ideal place to enjoy fresh mountain air, beautiful scenery and natural landscaping. The Holiday Inn Express is just minutes from Lake Tahoe, Nevada Stateline Casinos, Skiing, Horseback Riding, Shopping, Movie Theaters, Boat Cruises, and so much more! Our facilities include an Seasonal Outdoor Pool and Spa. Our Indoor Spa and Sauna Room is currently being renovated, until June 2016. We are a completely Smoke-Free facility. Our hotel features include Complimentary Express Start Breakfast, Free Wi-Fi Internet Access and Local Phone Calls. You are close to Restaurants and Night Life yet amid graceful Pine Trees. Visit South Lake Tahoe, CA and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Holiday Inn Express Lake Tahoe
Holiday Inn Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing