We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and building no Priority Club recognition”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe
Ranked #21 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

In a good location in South Tahoe on the main street in CA but close to the Nevada section. Buildings look fairly new and are well designed and set amidst Pine Trees.
Standard HIE breakfast.
Stayed on Priority Club points as I'm a Platinum member. Received no upgrade or any kind of recognition from the hotel which is both unusual and extremely unwelcome. My rating reflects this.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJO_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear AJO_UK,

Thank you for being a Priority Club Rewards Member and taking the time to leave a review of our hotel. I am glad that you liked our location. Please accept my sincerest apology for any inconvenience you experienced at check in. I appreciate you bringing this matter into our attention as this is our best resource of improving guest services.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (459)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 459 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here 2 nights, lovely hotel and well designed. Rooms spacious and comfortable, reception was modern and breakfast area pleasant. Used the indoor spa which was fine, sauna seemed to take ages to warm up and in the end switched it off. Great laundry facilities for us travelling Brits getting laundry washed and dried for $2. Happily stay here again

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRAVELBAG40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Have stayed at this hotel every October since 2005. It is centerally located across from the ski lift and shops. Free wi fi and continental breakfast and the indoor jacuzzi is great - pool has been closed during our stays. Beds are comfortable and rooms have small refridgerators and microwaves. A rental car is a must and your within short drives to anywhere you want to go around lake. Close to casinos and quiet mountain trails. The national park is minutes away and the salmon spawning migration is incredible to watch.

Room Tip: we like to face the mountain (south). rooms not in the front section offer little in way of views
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MIKE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Like being in the forest but near everything. Lovely rooms with fridge and microwave, closet and drawers. Double sinks in bathroom. Roomy and comfortable. Free wi Fi and one of the better included breakfasts. Friendly staff. Indoor jacuzzi, outdoor pool. I would stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for one on the 3rd floor
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tzipster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Extremely friendly staff. Wonderful location within walking distance to anything you need. Very clean and updated appearance. Nestled in the pines makes for a resort type setting. Great breakfast selection in the morning. A bit pricey but what hotel in Tahoe isn't? Easy driving distance to major attractions and beaches.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room. Heavier folks above you can make for a miserable night's sleep. had to...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gr8webguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We only stayed one night and it was worth the price I got through Priceline. It has free parking, free Internet, and free breakfast. It's close to everything and very clean and updated. Carpet needs to be replaced, but it's livable. Would stay again!

Stayed: August 2012
Thank GangiBluth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We never visited Lake Tahoe before and only stayed for one night. But we were not disappointed ! The rooms are large, clean and well furbished. Great swimming pool that is however out of the sun in the later afternoon. We stayed on the ground level and had some noises from the guests on the floor above us. Breakfast is a bit basic but the kids loved the automatic pancake machine. The staff was kind and helpful and recommended a great boat tour on the Lake (Lake Tahoe Queen) that made our short stay there a true success. Especially since we were offered a late check-out at 2 pm provided we were or became member of the Inter Continental Club.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Bruintje86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,120 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
900 reviews
0.3 mi away
Americana Village
Americana Village
#6 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,092 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,080 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#14 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe

Address: 3961 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8907
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#19 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: $148 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express, South Lake Tahoe is centrally located on Hwy 50, nestled in the heart of South Lake Tahoe. Getting here is fast and convenient too. We are the ideal place to enjoy fresh mountain air, beautiful scenery and natural landscaping. The Holiday Inn Express is just minutes from Lake Tahoe, Nevada Stateline Casinos, Skiing, Horseback Riding, Shopping, Movie Theaters, Boat Cruises, and so much more! Our facilities include an Seasonal Outdoor Pool and Spa. Our Indoor Spa and Sauna Room is currently being renovated, until June 2016. We are a completely Smoke-Free facility. Our hotel features include Complimentary Express Start Breakfast, Free Wi-Fi Internet Access and Local Phone Calls. You are close to Restaurants and Night Life yet amid graceful Pine Trees. Visit South Lake Tahoe, CA and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Holiday Inn Express Lake Tahoe
Holiday Inn Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing