We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe
Ranked #20 of 72 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Brentwood, Tennessee
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Extremely friendly staff. Wonderful location within walking distance to anything you need. Very clean and updated appearance. Nestled in the pines makes for a resort type setting. Great breakfast selection in the morning. A bit pricey but what hotel in Tahoe isn't? Easy driving distance to major attractions and beaches.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room. Heavier folks above you can make for a miserable night's sleep. had to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gr8webguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    193
    48
    12
    9
See reviews for
138
143
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We only stayed one night and it was worth the price I got through Priceline. It has free parking, free Internet, and free breakfast. It's close to everything and very clean and updated. Carpet needs to be replaced, but it's livable. Would stay again!

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
Thank GangiBluth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

We never visited Lake Tahoe before and only stayed for one night. But we were not disappointed ! The rooms are large, clean and well furbished. Great swimming pool that is however out of the sun in the later afternoon. We stayed on the ground level and had some noises from the guests on the floor above us. Breakfast is a bit basic but the kids loved the automatic pancake machine. The staff was kind and helpful and recommended a great boat tour on the Lake (Lake Tahoe Queen) that made our short stay there a true success. Especially since we were offered a late check-out at 2 pm provided we were or became member of the Inter Continental Club.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruintje86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

This hotel was clean and had all the amenities we were looking for except for no beach access. If you are looking for walking distance to casinoes, shopping, and nightlife, this location is perfect. We enjoyed the fireplace, jacuzzi, and generously sized bedroom and bathroom.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ninjagirlCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We came to Tahoe for a very last minute wedding on the lake and were pleasantly surprised by this location. We didn't get to the hotel until 10 pm and check-in was a breeze! Our room was very quiet (we were on the third floor) and it was very clean also! We walked down to Harrah's casino, whcih was a breeze. Very convenient-Great location! Zephyr's Cove is easy to get to also. The wedding we attended was on a boat that went out to Emerald Island. It was nice to wake up to a cont. breakfast with eggs, sausage, donuts, and yogurt. The staff is very friendly and I would definitely recommend you to stay here!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliCamaroGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We had never been to South Lake Tahoe and booked thought AAA. The hotel is close to nice shopping areas and across street from Heavenly Ski Resort ....also close to Stateline casinos, all within walking distance. Close to Lake itself and easy driving to various hiking/biking trails.
Hotel staff was wonderful! Everyone that we encountered was friendly and very helpful. Our room was quiet, clean and spacious.Complimentary breakfast was available in large room/lobby with lots of choices.
I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Our room off and away from main street was very quiet....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kemjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faringdon, UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Stayed one night during our tour of California. Our itinerary only permitted the one night, but would love to return to the area and would happily stay at the Holiday Inn Express.

We had 2 rooms booked, and arrived early, only one room was ready, so we piled the luggage into one room and after advice from the two people on reception, set off on a round the lake drive. It would take about 2 and a half hours if you didnt stop to take photographs, but we took around 5 hours. Some of the views, particularly Emerald Bay were truly spectacular. We also walked along some of the shoreline, and I would love to return.

The hotel itself was clean and the rooms we had were huge with an even bigger bathroom. Service from the front desk was excellent with good knowledge of the area. Breakfast room a little cramped in the morning but we soon had a seat.

Large pool and hot tub, which I had to myself at 7pm in the evening, so enjoyed a peaceful swim.

Ate at Applebees next door, good chain resatuarant food.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PSIW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 789 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#15 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 664 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#6 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Inn by the Lake
Inn by the Lake
#17 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 686 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 947 reviews
0.3 mi away
Americana Village
Americana Village
#8 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe

Property: Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe
Address: 3961 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8907
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#19 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express, South Lake Tahoe is centrally located on Hwy 50, nestled in the heart of South Lake Tahoe. Getting here is fast and convenient too. We are the ideal place to enjoy fresh mountain air, beautiful scenery and natural landscaping. The Holiday Inn Express is just minutes from Lake Tahoe, Nevada Stateline Casinos, Skiing, Horseback Riding, Shopping, Movie Theaters, Boat Cruises, and so much more! Our facilities include an Seasonal Outdoor Pool and Spa. Our Indoor Spa and Sauna Room is currently being renovated, until June 2016. We are a completely Smoke-Free facility. Our hotel features include Complimentary Express Start Breakfast, Free Wi-Fi Internet Access and Local Phone Calls. You are close to Restaurants and Night Life yet amid graceful Pine Trees. Visit South Lake Tahoe, CA and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Holiday Inn Express Lake Tahoe
Holiday Inn Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing