We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice if cost is not an issue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe
Ranked #21 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Great location in a walkable area. Very clean hotel room. Breakfast was good enough, with some hardboiled and scrambled eggs and yogurt. Parking is free. It had a real lodge-type feel to it. The bathroom was huge.

The only possible problem I had was that there were a lot of smokers near my room and the smell went into my room. Not the hotel's fault. Also, the beds were springy and not soft with a pillow top like I have experienced at other Holiday Inn Express hotels.

Check in was quick and easy. Wifi was quick and fast. I used points but if I had paid for it, it would have been $100++. That seems a bit pricey given that there are many other hotel options on this street.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunnyDTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (465)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

290 - 296 of 465 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2011

The hotel was great and I'd be glad to return. The room was updated and comfortable. The location was great (near the action - and the rooms were set back a great distance from the road so it was not noisy). The breakfast was good. The setting among all the great pine trees of Lake Tahoe gave it a feeling you were in still in the mountains. I did not like to Nevada side of South Lake Tahoe - it felt like a cement city and cheap casinos. But soon as you crossed to the California side it felt like a mountain lakeside resort community that respects nature and protects trees and creates a resort setting (still a bit commercial but much nicer that the Nevada side). Hope this helps.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canoe42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Stayed here with my wife and 2 teenage daughters. No complaints from anyone. The room is large and the bathroom large enough for all of us to use at the same time. Very convenient and quiet too

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vegashomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

I have two young daughters and swim with them in a lot of pools, most of them ice cold. This summer, I bought a wetsuit top to wear in the pool, tired of being cold. When they got into the pool at Holiday Inn, they said it was warm. I put my toe in. It felt warm. I decided to jump in without my wetsuit top. It was 100% warm. I have NEVER felt a pool this warm. I have waited my entire life to find a pool this warm. A thousand thank yous Holiday Inn. I know I'll freeze my butt off in the remaining hotels we stop at, but, for once, it was nice to feel 100% warm.

As for the hotel, it was super nice. It had a grove of trees surrounding it. Very beautiful. The rooms were top notch. Comfy beds. The bathrooms were very well done. To be honest, this place didn't seem like a Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

This is a nice and seemingly new hotel, nice on the outside and inside. Very clean, large and nicely appointed rooms, but the beds and pillows leave a lot to be desired. It looks like they did everything top notch, but skimped on bedding. The beds were squeaky and felt worn out, and the pillows were small and lumpy. I don't remember staying at a HI Express with uncomfortable beds, until now. So I give the hotel all good ratings in every category except bedding, and with the price charged for the room, they should have been better. New beds and pillows, and you have a fine hotel in every respect.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

We are a family of four. We enjoyed an upper level room with two queen beds. The room and bathroom are huge. With two teenage daughter's, the ample granite counter space allowed us to sprawl out all our make up and hair products. And even though it faces Tahoe Blvd, it is the quietest hotel we have EVER stayed at. And that is why were were back:) The breakfast is mediocre. The eggs don't really taste like eggs. But hubby and daughter's enjoyed the pancakes. We tried the number #1 rated hotel on this forum, however nice, the Holiday Inn Express is a best bet for families (especially with teenage girls) :)

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chillinonvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

By poor service I mean they do not respond on my request, I wrote to their 2 email address, no response since more than 2 weeks. Other than that they did not excuse for light not working in a room where we stayed. Receptionist just goes something like "hmmm, Ok". Pretty weird reaction.
So there was no electricity in a bathroom at all, no light, no one plugin did work, and it was bathroom with Jacuzzi, so we paid for what we could not use. It was only one night we stayed in the hotel, and it was too late (we checked-in around 8 pm) to ask for technical help.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YuMCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,166 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
225 reviews
0.3 mi away
Americana Village
Americana Village
#6 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#9 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
915 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#10 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe

Address: 3961 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8907
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#16 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: $143 - $418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express, South Lake Tahoe is centrally located on Hwy 50, nestled in the heart of South Lake Tahoe. Getting here is fast and convenient too. We are the ideal place to enjoy fresh mountain air, beautiful scenery and natural landscaping. The Holiday Inn Express is just minutes from Lake Tahoe, Nevada Stateline Casinos, Skiing, Horseback Riding, Shopping, Movie Theaters, Boat Cruises, and so much more! Our facilities include an Seasonal Outdoor Pool and Spa. Our Indoor Spa and Sauna Room is currently being renovated, until June 2016. We are a completely Smoke-Free facility. Our hotel features include Complimentary Express Start Breakfast, Free Wi-Fi Internet Access and Local Phone Calls. You are close to Restaurants and Night Life yet amid graceful Pine Trees. Visit South Lake Tahoe, CA and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Holiday Inn Express Lake Tahoe
Holiday Inn Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing