We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“beautiful and fun historic tour” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pope Beach

Pope Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wide sandy beach, popular with families.
Chatsworth, CA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“beautiful and fun historic tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Lots of history in Lake Tahoe I didn t know about. We rode bikes and did the tour. Well worth it. Beach was beautiful and there is a doc.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank caligirlie111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    67
    16
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sparks, NV
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Typical beach at Tahoe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Sand is course - you can park on the highway and walk in or pay to park. It is along the bike trail so you can even bike in if you want.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank sparksnv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Lake Tahoe beach!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

After reading several reviews we decided to give Pope Beach a try and we were so glad we did. There are a lot of trees along the beach front so you can enjoy the sun or cool off in the shade. The beach front is a long expanse so it is not too crowded. We were able to sit close to the water so my 3 year granddaughter could be easily supervised while she played in the sand or water. The bathroom facilities were nice and spaced along the beach so they are convenient for everyone. Grills and picnic tables are available as well as beach craft rentals. In the first parking lot segment there is a food trailer that sells drinks and a limited selection of food items.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Howe334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Favorite Beach with rentals, but no Trash Cans!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had so much fun at Pope Beach. Our 7 kids enjoyed renting a two person kayak (2 person kayak, 1 hour $30) and a paddle board ($20 for 2 hours). The water is nice because there are no waves and it is so easy to set off from the shore. The water is pretty clear and the sand is clean, however, there are no trash cans. No wonder previous reviewers have complained about trash. We found a dumpster by the restrooms that was overflowing. There are picnic tables. If you want to avoid the $7 parking, park on the highway and ride a bike or walk down the long driveway to the beach.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank SanClementeMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Nice beach area for picnic and suntanning, easy access, clean beach - not typically crowded, great local historical sites nearby.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Rex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pope Beach also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Pope Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing