We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local's Secret Spot”
Review of Pope Beach

Pope Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wide sandy beach, popular with families.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Local's Secret Spot”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I shouldn't tell you, but this is a nice beach. Very large, never crowded. They recently redid all the bathrooms.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Tahoeyoyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    72
    17
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Lake Tahoe, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best beach”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is the best beach we have in Tahoe if you don't have your pets with you. They charge 7 dollars to park but you can come and go all day as long as they aren't too full. They have picnic tables that are huge! Bathrooms with indoor plumbling. No outhouses. The sand is better than the other beaches and the water is not that far of a walk from parking or the picnic tables. There is adequate sun and shade areas. They also have a vendor that sells food and beverages. If you don't want to drive you can bike or hike in. The kids love this beach. We watch the fireworks from it every year.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Misty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good size and beautiful beach”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

The beach is right off of the highway and has a lot of space. It was closed when we went, but we parked on the highway and walked in. The sand is fairly smooth and the beach look great for swimming in the summer. We brought our dog and a lot of other people had theirs too.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank natly90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
1 review
“summer”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I love all the beaches down that way but pope has the cleanest water, partially because there aren't a lot of people. So if you go DONT litter!!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lazoozoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice beach with nice views”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We went to Pope Beach in July 2012. This was our family's first visit to Pope Beach and we really enjoyed it. There was plenty of parking and the beach is a short walk from the parking lot (2 important criteria for us.) There were also many bathrooms along the beach so you were never too far from one (another important factor for our family.) Aside from that, this beach had the same beautiful views of the lake that you would expect from anywhere around the lake. The water is calm and pretty shallow, so children can play safely in the water. There is plenty of sand to make sand castles, etc. This is a great family beach!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank KMTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pope Beach also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Pope Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing