We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pope Beach

Pope Beach
Highway 89, South Lake Tahoe, CA
5305432600
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wide sandy beach, popular with families.
Upland, California, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Pope Beach provides a beautiful view of the whole lake. On most days, you can see all the way to the other side of the lake. The view is absolutely breathtaking. The beach was very quiet and there were not very many visitors because of the time of year. I would love to go back in the summer months.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Heather J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    56
    15
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“feel sorry for the neighbors”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

this beach looks amazing. i went during fall so i didnt take full advantage but it was a shame for the neighbors since there were multiple people admiring the beach. i do not like that the home owners have the "beach" cut off and you can't walk through more area but im sure they pay hefty property fees. this must be nice in the summer

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank waitingtoexhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful & Peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I was there October 18th....the great part about going in October is the solitude of the area. We rented bikes from Anderson's Biclycle Rental for $10 / hr and rode about 16 miles total. Some of the areas we rode thru were closed to vehicles, but OK on bike. We spent a few hours taking in the beauty of Pope Beach and DEFINITELY want to return. The water was crystal clear and th the entire area immaculate.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Mili G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clio, California
Level Contributor
131 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“What a surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

The beach gooes on for what seems like miles. Not many folks on the beach in early September, the water was warm ( for Tahoe) this was a great spot to put in the SUPs

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave_in_Clio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
188 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“There are better places”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Pope beach has an entry fee and is kind of narrow area which is very populated. We much prefer the Kiva picnic area further down the road. It's free, the area of trees is much bigger and it's less populated overall.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Leslie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pope Beach also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Pope Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing