We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“old resort, bad room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village
Ranked #22 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Vacaville, CA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“old resort, bad room”
Reviewed February 3, 2009

Stayed in a 2 bedroom suite with a group of teenagers for the weekend to ski. The resort is old, but clean. Elevator and hallways remind you of Tower of Terror at Disneyland. The lobby is bright and our stay included a continental breakfast that was well stocked. The location to the Gondola is exceptional, only a short walk, only reason to stay here would be the location. A ski/board rental shop is on the property and Mariah the shop employee was wonderful. Our room was clean, yet old. The Floor was warped and many appliances were leaning. The shower heads were made for someone under 5 foot, my son is 6'3". The closet doors were off track and broke. Our room was an end unit in which cars were parked directly next to our windows. There was numerous fights and arguments from guests that were at an event at the resort, directly across from our room. I had to call the office 2 times and insist the police be called as there was a lot of violence involved and afraid we were going to be shot. Our room was above the gym and because of the paper thin walls we were awaken by 7:00 a.m. with loud speaking and televisions. Felt a bit unsafe walking back to the resort late at night as it is quite dark and entry a bit isolated. A few of our guests were allowed to stay in the room over an hour after check-in while waiting for their ride. Perhaps some of the other rooms would be more up to date and offer a more enjoyable stay?

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottfamilytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    201
    109
    72
    40
See reviews for
326
153
12
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2009

We stayed at the Forest Suites Resort from 6th - 16th Dec 2008 and got married on the Observation Deck at Heavenly on 10th Dec. Our arrival didn't get off to the best of starts. We'd booked a standard room which was rather a disappointment. HOWEVER, when we spoke to reception about upgrading to a 1 bedroomed suite they were extremely helpful and within 10 minutes we were given our keys to the suite.
The suites are very spacious with an open plan lounge, kitchen and dining area. The lounge was very comfortable and the kitchen fully equiped. The bathroom was fab. Very spacious. Bedroom also was very spacious with plenty of storage space (wardrobes and draw space). The rooms were cleaned everyday and bed made up. Couldnt fault the housekeeping.
The location of the suites was perfect. Within walking distance of all major attractions in Heavenly.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. On the day of our wedding the receptionist even played photographer and took photos of us in the hotel lobby. We also had a bottle of champagne delivered to our suite courtesy of the management. I loved staying that the Forest Suites Resort and did not want to leave. We're already planning our next visit in Feb/March 2010.

  • Liked — all the comforts of home AWAY from home!!
  • Disliked — decor slightly outdated
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WelshCez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2009

My boyfriend and i stayed in one of the best suites i have ever been in! There was a fireplace in between the bedroom and livingroom that was great not only for the heat but very romantic. In the bathroom there was a jacuzzi tub and the shower had double shower heads that i faced towards eachother that made even a simple shower the best one i have ever had. Everything about the bedroom was great, comfy bed and the bedding was so soft that i am looking for that same exact bedding for my home! The location of the resort is very convienant, a short walk to the main strip of casinos and we even walked to dinner. Which by the way was hands down the BESTsushi i have ever had, its called The Naked Fish in case you are a sushi fan.
The staff at the resort were very friendly and helpful with all our questions and in general they just knew how to do their jobs very well! I definately am going back to the Forest Suites Resort every time i visit South Lake Tahoe and i have already recommended it to friends!

  • Liked — Hard to decide, i loved the location and how at home i felt even though it was a hotel room!
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kEtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PNW
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2009

Stayed at the Forest Suites over the winter break.

The property is a series of old, 70's-vintage apartment buildings. It's a very convenient 1 block walk to the base of the Gondola and the Village. The lobby is quite nice. The continental breakfast was basic and blah. Our room, while dated, was spacious and clean, the beds were comfortable and the maids did a great job. However we discovered that half of the living room area carpet was soaking wet from some sort of leak. We notified and the maintenance people came and looked, shoveled some snow. By the next day, the room stank to high heaven and we requested to be moved. The front desk was prompt and courtious. Also each room has it's own, rather loud, furnace, which we nicknamed The Dragon. The bathroom doors will not stay open unless propped. The building's elevator, which was broken on our last day (we had to haul our luggage down a stairwell), was something out of 'The Shining'. Seriously, the one florescent bulb just needed to be flickering to complete the scene. Also, there were cooking smells throughout, since the rooms had kitchens.

I probably would not choose to stay there again. We felt that it was a little rough for the price. It would be good if you had a group with kids - lots of room and no worries about them being rough, messy, dirty.

  • Liked — Location, comfortable beds
  • Disliked — A bit shabby, the smells.
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marywileydore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
Reviewed December 14, 2008

Front Desk is worst I have ever experienced in my life

  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tishaolson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcadia, Florida
1 review
Reviewed November 19, 2008

We only stayed here one night, and then went in search of a new hotel. Some of the staff was friendly; however, two employees we encountered were extremely rude. The lobby is beautiful....but that is it. The room smelled terrible, the carpet was soiled with stains, the shower curtain had mildew on it, and the bed was about as comfortable as a concrete slab. I would never stay here and expressed this to the staff the next morning. We couldn't even get help finding a vending machine to get a soda. The hotel is in dire need of updating and major remodeling.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The cleanliness
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank snowbunny_542004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2008

This place is awesome!!!!! My fiance and I loved the room so much it was hard to leave. There were two gigantic flat screen TV's hanging above the fireplace (in bedroom and living room), remote controlled fireplace, two separate bathrooms, huge kitchen, dining room w/ huge dining room table, huge wonderful bed, and the main bathroom had a jacuzzi, double sink, toilet, and an unbelievable walk in shower with two heads. I think it was the nicest room they have. The room number is 101, and I highly recommend asking for it. Staff was super friendly, manager was nicest guy ever, and breakfast was delightful. We ordered a few complimentary razors and they were at our door 3 minutes later. THAT IS SERVICE!!! This place rocks!!!!! I left my fiance and myself with everlasting memories!!! Don't forget to eat at the Naked Fish sushi restaurant it is the best in South Lake-Tell them Cameron sent ya!

  • Liked — ROOM WAS AMAZING
  • Disliked — NOTHING
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cameronbirdwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe
Holiday Inn Express South Lake T...
#20 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village

Property: Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village
Address: 1 Lake Pkwy, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8834
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#9 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, Location! Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village is a South Lake Tahoe resort nestled in intimate alpine environment located less than 100 yards away from Heavenly Ski Gondola and Heavenly Village. All of our over sized South Lake Tahoe resort suites sleep 4 to 6 adults. We are a few minute walk to the casinos, and a few blocks to the crystal clear waters of Lake Tahoe. Guests staying at Forest Suites Resort will experience updated rooms & furnishings, new decor & upgraded amenities. Our guests will experience high-speed wireless internet, hot American-style breakfast buffet, mid-week nightly wine and cheese receptions, weekend child activities including arts & crafts, "Green" exercise classes, movie nights, an XBOX game center & events throughout the entire year for the entire family to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Vacatia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Forest Hotel Lake Tahoe
Forest Resort Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing