We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Know what you are getting...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village
Ranked #23 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
PNW
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Know what you are getting...”
Reviewed January 2, 2009

Stayed at the Forest Suites over the winter break.

The property is a series of old, 70's-vintage apartment buildings. It's a very convenient 1 block walk to the base of the Gondola and the Village. The lobby is quite nice. The continental breakfast was basic and blah. Our room, while dated, was spacious and clean, the beds were comfortable and the maids did a great job. However we discovered that half of the living room area carpet was soaking wet from some sort of leak. We notified and the maintenance people came and looked, shoveled some snow. By the next day, the room stank to high heaven and we requested to be moved. The front desk was prompt and courtious. Also each room has it's own, rather loud, furnace, which we nicknamed The Dragon. The bathroom doors will not stay open unless propped. The building's elevator, which was broken on our last day (we had to haul our luggage down a stairwell), was something out of 'The Shining'. Seriously, the one florescent bulb just needed to be flickering to complete the scene. Also, there were cooking smells throughout, since the rooms had kitchens.

I probably would not choose to stay there again. We felt that it was a little rough for the price. It would be good if you had a group with kids - lots of room and no worries about them being rough, messy, dirty.

  • Liked — Location, comfortable beds
  • Disliked — A bit shabby, the smells.
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marywileydore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    215
    113
    78
    49
See reviews for
352
159
12
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
1 review
Reviewed December 14, 2008

Front Desk is worst I have ever experienced in my life

  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tishaolson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcadia, Florida
1 review
Reviewed November 19, 2008

We only stayed here one night, and then went in search of a new hotel. Some of the staff was friendly; however, two employees we encountered were extremely rude. The lobby is beautiful....but that is it. The room smelled terrible, the carpet was soiled with stains, the shower curtain had mildew on it, and the bed was about as comfortable as a concrete slab. I would never stay here and expressed this to the staff the next morning. We couldn't even get help finding a vending machine to get a soda. The hotel is in dire need of updating and major remodeling.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The cleanliness
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank snowbunny_542004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2008

This place is awesome!!!!! My fiance and I loved the room so much it was hard to leave. There were two gigantic flat screen TV's hanging above the fireplace (in bedroom and living room), remote controlled fireplace, two separate bathrooms, huge kitchen, dining room w/ huge dining room table, huge wonderful bed, and the main bathroom had a jacuzzi, double sink, toilet, and an unbelievable walk in shower with two heads. I think it was the nicest room they have. The room number is 101, and I highly recommend asking for it. Staff was super friendly, manager was nicest guy ever, and breakfast was delightful. We ordered a few complimentary razors and they were at our door 3 minutes later. THAT IS SERVICE!!! This place rocks!!!!! I left my fiance and myself with everlasting memories!!! Don't forget to eat at the Naked Fish sushi restaurant it is the best in South Lake-Tell them Cameron sent ya!

  • Liked — ROOM WAS AMAZING
  • Disliked — NOTHING
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cameronbirdwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2008

We came up to stay for a weekend wedding. The hotel was clean, check-in was simple, and there was nothing unexpected. The location of the hotel is probably it's best asset. Our room was located directly underneath the Heavenly Gondola, and a simple walk across the street puts in you into the center of the Heavenly Village; crossing a different street puts you at a grocery store; and a 5-minute walk takes you to the Nevada casinos.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank oh2beacub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2008

It's obvious this hotel was converted from a low budget apartment complex to a suites hotel with as minimal effort and cost as possible. The building exteriors were sheathed in aluminum siding (think double wide trailer); the doors in our room were hollow and didn't fit the jambs anymore; the sub-floor under our room and our neighbor above squeaked horrendously; the room wreaked of mildew (or mold?). I can go on and on. It's amazing that out of nearly 100 reviews so far, only a half dozen of us have noticed how cheesy the facilities were.

And whoever decided to call the breakfast (honey-nut cherrios and white bread toast) a "European Breakfast" has never been to Europe.

But the service was friendly and the rooms were clean. It's the developer that deserve the low marks.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — facilities
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kudsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2008

Just got back from spending four nights at the Forest Suites. Do not accept a room in the buildings by the pool area, that area is party central. Friday night we were awakened by a group doing cannon balls at 3:00 am. This was just a continuation of an earlier party that took a break at 1:00 am. The management could not be found to complain.

  • Disliked — Pool Noise
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SDTrailblaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,108 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,006 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Americana Village
Americana Village
#7 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
395 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,084 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe
Holiday Inn Express South Lake T...
#21 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village

Property: Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village
Address: 1 Lake Pkwy, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8834
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#9 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, Location! Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village is a South Lake Tahoe resort nestled in intimate alpine environment located less than 100 yards away from Heavenly Ski Gondola and Heavenly Village. All of our over sized South Lake Tahoe resort suites sleep 4 to 6 adults. We are a few minute walk to the casinos, and a few blocks to the crystal clear waters of Lake Tahoe. Guests staying at Forest Suites Resort will experience updated rooms & furnishings, new decor & upgraded amenities. Our guests will experience high-speed wireless internet, hot American-style breakfast buffet, mid-week nightly wine and cheese receptions, weekend child activities including arts & crafts, "Green" exercise classes, movie nights, an XBOX game center & events throughout the entire year for the entire family to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Forest Hotel Lake Tahoe
Forest Resort Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing