We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel with an amazing location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village
Ranked #22 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great hotel with an amazing location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

This hotel was everything my friends and I wanted and needed it to be. We were in a 2 bedroom suite, which was really clean, a good size and had all the amenities anyone would need on a trip. The front desk staff was super friendly and helpful. The hotel offers these great activities, like wine and cheese night and s'mores night, which is such a fun thing to include. The breakfast was also decent, especially compared to other hotels. Lots of options!

Beyond all of this, the location is awesome. Surrounded by mountains, super close to the cute downtown village (seriously it is right behind the hotel...but don't worry, it's not very noisy!!), close to skiing, right under the gondola, close to restaurants and stores, etc etc!

My ONLY complaint is that the bed wasn't very comfortable, but truly I've never slept well in a hotel bed. For me, it's more about the location, cleanliness, staff etc.

I would 100% recommend staying at this hotel!! My friends and I loved it.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with a family, I would definitely recommend the 2 bedroom suite. It has 2 good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 747Ana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dell D, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear 747ana,

We thank you for recommending our hotel and having a great time with your family/friends. We are fortunate to have a great location with great accommodations and clean guest rooms. It sounds like you took advantage of some of the fun stuff like smore's night at our firepit & our wine and cheese mixer. We also appreciate the kind remarks about our great service and our breakfast menu exceeding your expectations. We're looking forward to your next visit while we provide a great value experience.

Thanks again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    200
    109
    71
    40
See reviews for
324
152
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

It's clean, the beds are not super comfortable but they're ok. Breakfast was fine, decent bagel, cereals etc selection plus some cooked stuff and Starbucks coffee, but the coffee and the cooked breakfast were almost cold.
Having said that, it's directly under the gondola for Heavenly and is pretty good value for this area.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dell D, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Helen,

Thanks for posting a review on Trip Advisor and sharing your comments. We do apologize about receiving colder Starbucks coffee than what would be expected. Please know our goal is to always have hot roast coffee in all of our earns and I'm sorry you didn't experience that. We love our location as you pointed out as well as our clean rooms and we're very confident the next time you visit, hot coffee will be ready for you. See you soon!

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
95 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

I don't want to do this place a disservice - it's a great value place to stay if you're skiing in Heavenly and/or in other resorts around Lake Tahoe (and you can make your flat / apartment your own if you're there for a few days as we did) - but just don't go here expecting 5* luxury (for which there's the Marriott right next to the gondola).

Our two-bed, two-bath flat / apartment was spacious with a perfectly serviceable kitchen and minutes walk from the lift. Breakfast was included, but, whilst you could fill your boots, was pretty average in terms of standard. The hotel is also close to a shopping centre which has a good supermarket in it.

Depending on the type of trip I was looking for, I'd stay here again, but I might be tempted just to throw money at the problem and go for the Marriott.

Oh - and there's a dubious outdoor hot-tub. Probably best avoided.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdingley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dell D, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear jdingley

We appreciate your time to post a review about our resort this last week. We are 100% a great ski resort and we certainly do not pretend to be 5 star but we do promise to provide great service, clean guestrooms, with spacious accommodations and great additional value for our guests. When you do get ready to come back to Lake Tahoe, don't forget about us. We hope to see you again?

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

I've been here twice this year as I feel it is the best value and comfort for a stay in Heavenly Village. Everything is within walking distance and parking and breakfast is included in the very reasonable prices. A full kitchen, clean rooms and accommodations make this the perfect place to stay for a family getaway. Also, I must mention the staff. They are super nice and helpful and really went out of their way to make us feel at home. I can't say enough about how great the customer service is at Forest Suites. The only thing they need to do is upgrade those elevators, but otherwise, a perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leeann43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dell D, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear leeann43,

Thanks for traveling up from Sonoma County and taking a short trip at our resort. We are delighted our property exceeded your expectations with the great service, clean guest rooms and the best location. We do understand the elevator is older and smaller than others at hotels but perfectly usable. We are looking forward to your families next vacation.

Thanks again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Johns, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

We arrived in SLT as a family of four that have NEVER been skiing. Three days alter, we're all hooked on it, and we can't wait to go back to Heavenly! The Forest Suites absolutely delivered on the accommodations and along with the fantastic experience skiing made the trip memorable. Every staff member we encountered was friendly and enthusiastic. The ONLY reason I'm giving it 4 instead of 5 is the units could use a little updating - the age is really starting to show in particular areas. But you shouldn't be spending much time in your suite anyway!
Our kids had a great time "renting" (they call it renting at the desk, but there's no charge) - XBox games and met some new friends in the gaming area. To take advantage of the kitchen in your suite, you can walk to the grocery store across the street and stock up - it's full service and has everything. As many others have noted, the wine and cheese in the afternoon is a nice wind down coasting into evening. The breakfast is solid, with plenty to choose from and the staff there works hard at making that go smoothly. During the breakfast hours we noticed it can be quite the scene as people are trying to grab something quick on their way out - all geared up and ready to go skiing - there was a lot of rapid table turnover - and the staff was on it. We didn't use the hot tub but we could see folks relaxing in it every afternoon - it looked nice and well maintained. The carports are nice as well - we didn't get snowed on while there, but covered parking is a total plus for when it does.
To sum up our experience in SLT : with such friendly staff, the natural beauty of the area, the hotel's location to the village/gondola and the overall vibe going on - if you're not having a blast at Heavenly, the problem is most likely you!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sd_fan92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dell D, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear sdfans92,

We know you traveled far to come us during your winter/ski getaway and we thank you for that. We love to hear our guests comment on a "Memorable Experience" which is always what our team and staff strive for. It sounds like many of the addl. value adds we offer was perfect for your family and we love that. We certainly hope you come back and stay with us when you are thinking of another Lake Tahoe experience.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite. Here with 2 teenagers for week skiing at Heavenly. Biggest ever rooms/condo we've stayed in for skiing, great location very close to heavenly village and gondola. Decor and furnishings a bit old and tired but clean and comfortable with plenty storage, undercover parking and free breakfast. Great value for money.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank kimborob30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dell D, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear kimborob30,

We thank you for staying at the resort for the first time during your ski vacation. We thank you for commenting on the size of our over-sized suites as they are very big and a huge advantage that we have. Thanks also for commenting on our clean hotel even though our property is older. We hope our value fits you and your family perfectly next winter for another ski vacation otherwise, the Lake is a whole lot of fun to come up for a spring/summer getaway.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

We found a gem in the heart of South Lake Tahoe within walking distance to Heavenly's gondola. Our room was perfect for 2 adults (king size bed) and our twins (pull out sofa bed). Full kitchen and large dining table. The breakfast buffet included hot food as well as cold items, and the seating was adequate for all of the guests. The kids enjoyed 'movie night' and popcorn, as well as the hot chocolate bar one afternoon after skiing. We missed making s'mores by the firepit, but I'm sure we'll get a second chance when we return in the future. I would definitely recommend this family friendly resort to anyone who enjoys the extra little things that make our kids smile.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EchoInLafayette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dell D, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear EchoInLafayette,

We strive to do exactly what your review stated. "I would definitely recommend this family friendly resort to anyone who enjoys the extra little things that make our kids smile." byEcholnLafayette
We are always attempting to make this experience and lasting memory with our guests. We know how important additional value is for families and making kids smile is priceless. We really hope to see you and your family very soon. Until then, we wish you a great rest of the year.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe
Holiday Inn Express South Lake T...
#21 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#14 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village

Property: Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village
Address: 1 Lake Pkwy, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8834
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#9 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, Location! Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village is a South Lake Tahoe resort nestled in intimate alpine environment located less than 100 yards away from Heavenly Ski Gondola and Heavenly Village. All of our over sized South Lake Tahoe resort suites sleep 4 to 6 adults. We are a few minute walk to the casinos, and a few blocks to the crystal clear waters of Lake Tahoe. Guests staying at Forest Suites Resort will experience updated rooms & furnishings, new decor & upgraded amenities. Our guests will experience high-speed wireless internet, hot American-style breakfast buffet, mid-week nightly wine and cheese receptions, weekend child activities including arts & crafts, "Green" exercise classes, movie nights, an XBOX game center & events throughout the entire year for the entire family to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Forest Hotel Lake Tahoe
Forest Resort Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing