We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village
Ranked #22 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A great stay”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

I just spent a week at this resort and skied. I arrived and the hotel was busy receiving all the new guests plus having to deal with two weddings. I must say the staff where polite and professional through out the time it took to get my room. As I enjoyed a complementary beverage I was impressed with how friendly the staff was in dealing with one request after another never missing a beat. My room was spacious, clean and well maintained each day by the house staff. The bed was very comfortable, hot tub kept very cleaned each morning. This resort is a very short walk to the Gondola, I nice well appointed kitchen to keep a few beverages and some snacks in. The buffet breakfast was very nice with lots to choose from each morning. a great stay, will defiantly return.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjtrask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dell D, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear rjtrask,

We appreciate your patience during your check in. It was also a pleasure to personally meet you that Saturday afternoon as we were attempting to rush a few rooms from a delayed ski group. We wish you and your sister a great spring and hope to have you back very soon.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    198
    109
    71
    40
See reviews for
321
151
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

I have just returned from California, skiing in Lake Tahoe. During this stay I had a short stay at the Forest Inn and Suites. The hotel is based right at the bottom of the main gondola up to Heavenly ski resort. It’s a short walk from shops, cafes and bars. The rooms are very spacious with good facilities and very clean. I enjoyed the heated hot tub in the evenings. From the hotel you can also walk to the main strip with Hard Rock Café, Casinos etc. I really enjoyed my stay and look forward to returning as soon as possible.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler1664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dell D, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Traveler1664,

Short but sweet! We certainly wish it could have been longer as your timing was impeccable right after a nice snow storm. Thanks for commenting on our spacious and clean rooms and our fantastic location. We hope you come and visit soon!

Best-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Having stayed at the Forest Suites over the New Year's holidays we enjoyed our stay so much that we returned for another week during President's day.
As we have two young boys, having an extra room for them is a great luxury and much appreciated. Their two bed two bath rooms are spacious, functional, and perfect for recovering after a long day on the Heavenly slopes.
Across the street from the charming Village, and from a commercial center with an excellent supermarket, sporting good store, restaurants, and any amenity imaginable, the location is golden.
Others have talked about the condition of the rooms, and yes, it is an older building... but the value, location, and service make this hotel a rare find. Especially for a family looking for some elbow room, the size of the two bedroom unit makes it very pleasant for longer stays, and is very functional. We made good use of the kitchen.
Laundry facilities on site were very helpful.
Convenient covered parking is appreciated as well. We did not take advantage of all the cool activities... there's even a video game room for the kids... because we were too tired after a full day of skiing. On the other hand, the DVD players in the units were great for the kids to relax with their movies rather than plain TV.
The staff was always courteous and helpful. The only wish we have is to live closer so we could come more often!

Room Tip: We liked the higher floor in the front building. The back building may be quieter, as sometimes musi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suiteseek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dell D, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Suiteseek,

It was nice to be able to speak with you last week. We're delighted you have found a home away from home when you are in Lake Tahoe. Thanks for giving a great honest survey on our property. We know we are an older property but we will always remain clean, with great guest services, have tremendous value and unique-fun amenities for families. We absolutely appreciate the return business and look forward to seeing you very soon.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We had stayed at the Forest Inn Suites years ago on a ski club trip and really enjoyed our stay. Not much has changed in the guest suites since our previous stay. And we enjoyed our stay again! The staff is EXTREMELY helpful and nice. The rooms neat and clean. Though our kitchen was missing essentials that would be needed to cook a meal. I'm sure if we had asked we would have been given what we needed, but we did no cooking on our vacation! The morning breakfast was wonderful, eggs, bacon, sausage, waffles, and a variety of other breakfast foods. The Gondola was only few steps away, as were the casinos and restaurants. We would absolutely stay there again!

Room Tip: Ask for a Suite. Worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neely B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Location is great! This is less than 100 yards from the Gondola to Heavenly. It's very small but it's all you need since you shouldn't be spending any time in the hotel. There is so much to do around heavenly village and the mountain is so close that you will not need any cabins or large rooms.

The service is great, very helpful folks. The pool and hot tub are small but worth it after a long day of riding. They provide breakfast and some times cheese/wine in the afternoons. The rooms are clean but minimal. If you are looking to spend money or impress someone, this isn't the place for you. If you are looking for a friendly clean place to crash, this is a great spot. I will be returning next season (as long as there is some snow!).

Room Tip: All seem pretty close to everything. You can walk to the Heavenly village and there are two hot tub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We checked in on 2/15/14. My only expectation was to have a clean place to stay. After check in we went to our room. The room was filthy carpet stains with crusted food spots, wall stains, dirty towels with visible stuff on them hanging in the bathroom, the refrigerator was not cleaned, splatters on the toilet, some substance crusted and running down the door jam of master bed room. A staff member ran to the room to pick up the towels and insisted the room was clean. They wouldn't send someone to clean the room, they wouldn't give me another room. When my son and his friend pulled out the sofa bed and pulled back the sheet there was a women's false finger nail in the bed. Because I made such a stink they called me 4 hours after checking in that we could leave and not be charged for the night. Well by that time my husband was already asleep. My son and his friend slept sitting up on the couch not too comfortable two 14 year olds. My daughter and her friend slept on the double bed luckily we brought our own sleeping bags. This literally ruined our ski weekend and we left for home Sunday instead of Monday because we didn't want to stay there and tahoe was sold out. The night in a filthy room cost $357 no discount or comp for the inconvenience. I have pictures of the condition of he room.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JAMATorres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cordova, California
1 review
Reviewed February 19, 2014

My family stayed at Forest Suites Resort over the busy President's Day Weekend. The service exceeded my expectations as the check-in staff and dining staff were friendly and efficient. Because the staff was well organized, we never had to stand in any long lines during check-in/check-out or for breakfast even though the hotel was sold out. In addition to the great service, we absolutely loved our room. We stayed in the two bedroom suite and were pleasantly surprised to have a second bathroom. With two small children, the second bedroom and second bathroom were life savers. The suite itself was decorated in a rustic mountain motif which we loved. The room totally complimented our mountain vacation stay. To make our stay even better, we didn’t have to move our car. The resort is within walking distance to Heavenly Village so we were able to dine, shop and ride the gondola with no worry at all. Like I said, we couldn’t have asked for more. We will definitely stay here again when we vacation in South Lake Tahoe.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Heen1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
855 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,041 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
798 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
853 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe
Holiday Inn Express South Lake T...
#21 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village

Property: Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village
Address: 1 Lake Pkwy, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8834
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#9 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, Location! Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village is a South Lake Tahoe resort nestled in intimate alpine environment located less than 100 yards away from Heavenly Ski Gondola and Heavenly Village. All of our over sized South Lake Tahoe resort suites sleep 4 to 6 adults. We are a few minute walk to the casinos, and a few blocks to the crystal clear waters of Lake Tahoe. Guests staying at Forest Suites Resort will experience updated rooms & furnishings, new decor & upgraded amenities. Our guests will experience high-speed wireless internet, hot American-style breakfast buffet, mid-week nightly wine and cheese receptions, weekend child activities including arts & crafts, "Green" exercise classes, movie nights, an XBOX game center & events throughout the entire year for the entire family to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Forest Hotel Lake Tahoe
Forest Resort Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing