We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good sized rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village
Ranked #23 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Bakersfield, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, good sized rooms”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed here in June and it was very nice. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. They have fully equipped kitchen & living room. The resort itself is in a perfect location in Heavenly village. Great stay for families with kids as cinema, shopping, grocery store & restaurants are a short walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GloDuranBani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    206
    110
    74
    47
See reviews for
338
157
12
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My parents are coming to visit, so I bought two two-bedroom suites (friday and saturday) voucher in living social. Yes, "saturday" is even wrote in the voucher name. The voucher page says the only blackout dates is Nov 28-Nov30,2013. Then guess what, when I called them to make an reservation, they said all the Saturdays are blackout, they just add it after all of us bought the voucher...and what they can do is putting us 4 people to a one beds suites instead of the two beds suites.... so what's the point for me to buy a two-beds suites voucher for Friday and "Saturday"? totally waste my time and money!

Room Tip: next time, be very careful for all the deal about this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cici C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestManager, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Cici,

I apologize rooms were sold out on your requested dates when you tried to book with us. The campaign exceeded all of our expectations on how many were sold and many days were sold out immediately. Most guests who purchased the vouchers immediately booked rooms over a month ago. We sold out of inventory on many dates throughout the 90 days it was available. There are always black out dates stated but Living Social does not have the capability to add more once rooms simply sell out. We only have so many of the 2 bedroom suites on property. If you read the terms and conditions on the Living Social platform it clearly states "Reservations required and subject to availability". We never want to hear something like this. We would have certainly wished you did not have to cancel because we were sold out.

I hope this helps?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Great value for family trip. Took the family to South Lake Tahoe in early September. Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in a 2 bedroom. Three kids and three adults. Tons of activities for the kids, arts and crafts, movie night, pony’s to pet, marshmallow campfire at night, both TV’s in our rooms had DVD players and very easy to walk over to the Heavenly Village. Also came with a hot breakfast! Great deal, we will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jorge R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestManager, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Jorge,

We really appreciate your review and the fact that you will be coming back next time you are in South Lake. We always love to hear when the entire family enjoyed their stay and took advantage of many of the great amenities we have on property. We wish you a great fall season!

Best-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We had such a good time here and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Staff was extremely attentive and friendly. Location is ideal, walking distance to the casinos and shopping center, 5 blocks from lake. Amenities were great as well.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missbrit2284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestManager, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Missbrit,

We want to thank you for staying with us last week. We always love to hear when our guests enjoyed their stay and received fantastic service. It sounds like our proximity to the casinos and lake fit your families needs perfectly? We look forward to your next stay!

Best-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We took advantage of a LivingSocial promotion where we received a 2 room suite at a discount. The suite consisted of 2 queen beds, with one of the rooms also having a twin bed. There was also a sofa bed in the living room. The suite comfortable housed us and the kids. The bathrooms were a bit dated. The service in the hotel was great as were the activities for the kids (roasting marshmallows, crafts in the morning, etc.). We happened to check in at the time of the wine/cheese party, so that was a nice greeting. Breakfast consisted of coffee, juices, cereals, bagels, eggs (powdered?), bacon and potatoes. While a bit busy, there were plenty of places to sit for our family of 5. They have a "green" program which lets you receive a bottle of wine or snack package in lieu of housekeeping. I'm not sure how this is green as opposed to labor cost savings, but we did not mind as we don't swap out linens/towels during our stays. The hotel is located right behind Heavenly Village, so its in walking distance to the bars/restaurants in the village as well as the casinos. The hotel staff recommended visits to local beaches and the Taylor Creek Visitor Center, both of which were hits the kids. We enjoyed our stay and will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank capturedplanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestManager, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Capturedplanet,

Thanks so much for finding us through our fall promo that took place in September. Its always great to show our property to new guests. It sounds like you and your family absolutely took advantage of all the great amenities we have on property like the free bottle of wine option, arts/crafts, roasting marshmallows, wine and cheese mixers, etc.... We certainly hope you make our resort your home away from home while in South Lake Tahoe. We hope to see you this Winter!

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Half Moon Bay
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The retreat is just enough off the traffic path to be quiet and serene. There is a doorway in the lobby to the stairs of the Gondolas for Heavenly Valley Ski area. (runs summer and winter).
Our experience was good from the telephone call to check on availability prior to buying a fabulous Travel Zoo package through our checkout following our 2 night stay.

2 Bedroom suites are huge. King in one, full plus twin or queen in the other, plus queen pullout in living room. Two baths, both large. Full kitchen, equipped with dishes, silverware, pots/pans and utensils. Bring your food (Raleys just down the street) and make a full meal if you are so inclined. Dining table seats 6. Two TVs, good internet reception(free). Four could stay here for months and not be crowded. Leather chairs/sofa, plenty of lamps so you don't need to feel your way around the unit. And, re Onepinoy's review - yes, the decor is older, but primarily it is "lodge type" not high tech new plastic -- the dining table is actually wood). This is a summer in the woods/mountains and ski resort area, you know.

Full breakfast, quite good with scrambled eggs, bacon/sausage, juices, cereals, toast/bagles, etc.

It was too chilly to use the pool or hot tub but they looked nice, clean and well cared for.

We'd come back in an NY minute.

Room Tip: Suites are probably the best deal. We asked for mountain view for the quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patiD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We got a package deal car/hotel/flight which comes with the hotel style room (not a suite) even though the name is Forest Suites Resort. Great location, good breakfast. Separate from the main resort, the basic hotel rooms are along an alley which faces the mountain looking up, and an alley with the maintenance garage & laundry room looking down. The basic room was cramped, a table and lamp on one side of the bed, and a loveseat on my wife's side which made it almost impossible for her to get in & out of the bed. The door wouldn't close without putting your whole body into it until it clicked, and it squeeked so bad I'm sure we woke up the neighbors. No central air but a little window a/c unit below the sink that was too small for the hole in the wall, so there was a 1 1/2 x 14 inch of space around the whole unit open for any & all critters to come in to the room. The common balcony was so old we were tripping on floor boards that were literally warped & sticking up a good 3 inches with paint peeling off everywhere. Not worth the money. If you go here, make sure you get a suite.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foxlake50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,069 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#12 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
933 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe
Holiday Inn Express South Lake T...
#21 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
446 reviews
0.6 mi away
Americana Village
Americana Village
#6 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
386 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village

Property: Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village
Address: 1 Lake Pkwy, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8834
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#9 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, Location! Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village is a South Lake Tahoe resort nestled in intimate alpine environment located less than 100 yards away from Heavenly Ski Gondola and Heavenly Village. All of our over sized South Lake Tahoe resort suites sleep 4 to 6 adults. We are a few minute walk to the casinos, and a few blocks to the crystal clear waters of Lake Tahoe. Guests staying at Forest Suites Resort will experience updated rooms & furnishings, new decor & upgraded amenities. Our guests will experience high-speed wireless internet, hot American-style breakfast buffet, mid-week nightly wine and cheese receptions, weekend child activities including arts & crafts, "Green" exercise classes, movie nights, an XBOX game center & events throughout the entire year for the entire family to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Forest Hotel Lake Tahoe
Forest Resort Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing