We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village
Ranked #23 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Over the last 15 days my family and I have had the chance to stay at the Forest Suites Resort in two separate stays. We were traveling through while going to a family wedding and then traveling through to come home. We set up 2 separate reservations. Both we executed flawlessly. This trip we did not take advantage of the area or the other amenities other than the buffet breakfast. The breakfast was piping hot and fresh. When checking in the first night the front desk recommended a time for breakfast when it would be less crowded. He determined this by the events going on in town and the time they started. We walked right up got plates of steaming delicious breakfast. He was correct. The lobby was pack upon check out about 30 minutes later. This was a nice thoughtful gesture.
The first night we were on the road and had checked in late. The room was not the temperature we would have liked for sleeping, though the AC cooled it down before too long. On the way back through to come home we were going to be checking in late again. I called ahead and asked that the temperature for the room was set to accommodate our preferences. We were delighted to walk into our room at the perfect temperature. It is these types of thoughtful gestures that will keep us coming back to the Forest Suites time and time again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kylandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestManager, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Kylandra,

We cant't thank you enough for picking our resort every time you are in South Lake. That is very invaluable to us. This last trip of yours resulted in 2 different nights in which you selected our property and we love that. We know you were traveling with a large party which sets up perfect for our property. It sound like the hot breakfast and the additional service you received on adjusting the temperature in the room beforehand exceeded your expectations & were delighted we were able to do execute that for you. Come back to see us again before next summer!

Best-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (776)
There are newer reviews for Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

369 - 375 of 776 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

Great location, wonderful staff and good facilities. Stayed at this property for 4 nights at the end of the summer holidays. The rooms was spacious, for myself, my wife and 3 kids. Location in the centre of Heavenly made everything easy to walk to. The kids lovely the swimming pools and the hotel had lots of activities each day for them. The breakfast room was busy, but always everything available. Overall an excellent place to stay in South Lake Tahoe.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jburke14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We usually stay at casinos (rooms comp'd) in south lake Tahoe but decided to book a room to stay with a group celebrating our friends' wedding. Although I started getting nervous about what the room was going to look like after using the elevator & walking down the hallway, I was pleasantly surprised with the size of the 2 bedroom room. The decor looked a little "tired" but the second bedroom had a queen bed & a twin bed which was nice so my 2 girls didn't fight with having to share a bed (altho one of them could have slept on the pull out couch in the front room). The location was fabulous (right behind the very nice Marriott timberlodge), so dining & shopping was very close by, as were the casinos (all walking distance). Altho we drove to the public beach (in wedding attire), it is definitely within walking distance. The continental breakfast was ok. But given this wasn't a timeshare, we were also pleasantly surprised to see they had free wine/cheese hour, family movie nights & campfire/s'mores (tho we didn't have time to check all if this out). Our kids enjoyed the pool/spa too!
Don't know that we will necessarily return but we were definitely satisfied with our stay!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank Imchiuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Well I booked this room on Travelocity and was guaranteed 2 beds as I was going up with a buddy. When we got there to check in, they said we were in an upgraded king room with a pull out sofa. Since most pull out sofas have little padding and are terrible to sleep on we declined the upgrade and we got 2 beds in Room 3XX.

So I am not sure how nice the main lodge rooms are but the strip of Rooms that are 301-317 are a remnant of some old motel and is cobbled together with the rest of the resort. Don't stay in one of these rooms as they are dated and in bad need of maintenance and upgrades. The fan in our bathroom sounded like it was going to die. The walls are paper thin and sice there are carports underneath, a lot people ulling in at all hours and then talking very loudly as they walk to their rooms. The beds are really soft and I had a backache my second day.

The breakfast buffet is OK but the crowds are the worst I have ever seen for a buffet and I almost didn't want to go there.

Positives: The location is great.

Room Tip: Don't stay in Room 301-317.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ATLAS313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We had a girls weekend get together here. Hotel wasnt perfect ,our shower leaked in the suite hall bathroom. But So what, it is older but but not delapatated like some have mentioned< i would say that comment is going overboard.
It was a large suite , it met our needs, supplied kitchen if you wanted to cook & eat, full fridge . We had plenty of room for 5 women. It had just snowed early in the season / Nov. 2012 . All that mattered was we had a great time together!
The hotel is very close to EVERYTHING! The casinos , the stores , the gondola
You cant beat that!
I wouldnt give it 5 stars but for a large family or get together ...the prices are fair , the suites are Large ...you are only there to sleep anyways... GET UP GO OUT AND DO SOMETHING!

Room Tip: Our suite was in the back and quite...........it was nice to have a parking spot under car port
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KIMZBTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestManager, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear Kimzbtl,

We want to thank you for posting a review on your girls getaway weekend even though it was last year. We're delighted the suite was over-sized and perfect for your group. It sounds like you guys were here to have a fun time and I'm assuming the Casinos were in the plans as you mentioned to get up and get out? We hope you come back and visit us again for another weekend getaway. Wishing you the best!

Thanks again,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Never in my wildest dreams expected to be so disappointed in a room. Old, smelled, dirty, could not get out of reservation once there. Ruined our first couple days on a much needed special vacation. May have been top notch thirty years ago. Do not waste your time with this one. At least it did come with a breakfast. For the price we could find something MUCH better Need to update your reviews. Complained about first room and did move to a different one that did not smell as bad. No way to take luggage up to room, except by laundry cart. Will never return here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cork20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestManager, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear Cork,

We certainly want to apologize for any inconvenience you might have faced while here. When I first read your heading I was frightened as I thought a major injury occurred or much much worse? It sounds like the first room did not meet your expectations but we moved you & the second room met your expectations? Just as a heads up, we do not hand out bell carts to guests rather we always offer personal service by our staff members. We have always felt that guests pushing bell carts is not the (Service Oriented) approach we wanted. We utilize laundry carts because they can hold more luggage and guests belongings than traditional bronze bell carts & they fit in tighter spots. I know this does not change your experience but I hope you understand that we heard your concerns. Enjoy the rest of the hot summer!

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

My wife and I have 4 kids, so finding a suitable place to stay can be tough. Forest Suites Resort was better than we could've expected! The suite felt like a spacious cabin. With one room having one queen, a twin, and enough room for a playpen for our littlest one, and another room just for mommy and daddy, it was fantastic! Another very pleasant surprise was the first-rate service the staff provided. When I went to get checked in there was someone ahead of me, and another employee came out of the back to help me. This happened again when I had a question the next day. Very cool!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank remsil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestManager, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Remsil,

We cannot agree with you more about being perfect for a family of 6. We truly understand that bigger families means more expenses and added value is what we strive to give to our guests. Whether that be more attentive service from our staff, additional room amenities like a room with 3 beds and a pull-out couch, or the array of family type activities on property, we strive to deliver that everyday. We certainly always want Forest Suites to be your home away from home while in South Lake Tahoe.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
900 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,092 reviews
0.6 mi away
Americana Village
Americana Village
#6 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
396 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village

Address: 1 Lake Pkwy, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8834
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#9 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: $125 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, Location! Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village is a South Lake Tahoe resort nestled in intimate alpine environment located less than 100 yards away from Heavenly Ski Gondola and Heavenly Village. All of our over sized South Lake Tahoe resort suites sleep 4 to 6 adults. We are a few minute walk to the casinos, and a few blocks to the crystal clear waters of Lake Tahoe. Guests staying at Forest Suites Resort will experience updated rooms & furnishings, new decor & upgraded amenities. Our guests will experience high-speed wireless internet, hot American-style breakfast buffet, mid-week nightly wine and cheese receptions, weekend child activities including arts & crafts, "Green" exercise classes, movie nights, an XBOX game center & events throughout the entire year for the entire family to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Forest Hotel Lake Tahoe
Forest Resort Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing