We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“8 Days Ski-ing in Heavenly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village
Ranked #22 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Manchester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“8 Days Ski-ing in Heavenly”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Comfortable accommodation within a stones throw of the Ski lift (which runs over the roof of the resort) and easy access to the rest of the Village if going out in the evening.
One of the best Ski-ing Holidays in the States I've had for a few years which might have been because of good snow and weather but the complimentary breakfast each morning also had something to do with it as a long day on the slopes needs energy to keep you going.
Not as good a Vail but would come back to Heavenly just for the views of the Lake and small town feel of the place. Good low cost budget suites in a great location with casinos, shops plenty of places to eat nearby just don't expect 5 star rooms at this price and have a great time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevie2ticks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestManager, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Stevie2Ticks,

I love the name by the way-very creative! Wow- you spent 8 days skiing at Heavenly. I can only imagine the memories on a dream vacation all the way from Manchester, England Your depiction of Lake Tahoe is so correct. We pride ourselves on one of the most magical places on earth and not the HIGH - HIGH costs of some mountain towns. We are that perfect property with being conscience of our guests budget but having tremendous value and still having the BEST location. We certainly hope you visit us again so you can take advantage of our breakfast buffet before you hit the slopes.

Thanks again Stevie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    205
    110
    72
    42
See reviews for
333
155
12
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Pros:
7 people, everyone got a bed
full kitchen: fridge, oven, stove, sink, dinner table
nice big windows
breakfast
friendly PM staff

Cons:
outdated rooms
uncomfortable beds
smelly
felt unsafe: bears, and coyotes wandering
just felt dirty

***On Sunday morning, I woke up and went down to get breakfast, I asked the front desk lady... and she like freaked out, nearly had a heart attack because I guess i looked horrible. LOL!!! that was mean lady! HAHAHAHA
***Got the deal from Travelzoo for 129.00 a night, so, overall, the room was worth the deal.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beahbay823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestManager, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Beahbay,

I read your review and wanted to reach out to you as a concerned General Manager. We pride ourselves in the ability to serve and I don't know if we scared you but the morning interaction you're speaking of I couldn't quit understand? In any case, it would never be our intention to shock or act abruptly. With the property in the middle of the High Sierras, bears, squirrels, racoons, and coyotes will roam everywhere even though were downtown. I apologize this scared you. I am delighted 7 adults were able to sleep comfortably on our rooms and we always hope you come back during other periods of the year as well.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This was our third stay at the Hotel. We came up for a Law Convention but didn't want to stay in a tiny casino hotel room. We wanted a suite with a kitchen and living room. Since it is a short walk to the casiono and the village, it was perfect for us. The hot breakfast in the mornings were conienient and complimentary wine and cheese in the bar with the fireplace was inviting. The staff is welcoming and friendly. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebraKSebastopol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestManager, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear DebraK,

I want to say thank you for taking the time to come onto this website and sharing your experience. I am so happy you received great service and enjoyed many of the great amenities we offer. We definitely pride ourselves on our location and you hit the nail on the head. We do have large rooms with kitchens which is perfect for anyone who would like to save a little money and prepare meal themselves. We look forward to another visit by you and your family.

Best-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This was my wife and I's third stay at the Hotel. We are becoming accustom to the welcoming staff and the comfortable accommodations. Complimentary breakfasts every morning, the convenience of a ski and snowboard rental shop on site, as well as the proximity to Heavenly Village, casinos, and the gondola, are some of the reasons why we will certainly visit this hotel again. Other reasons are the aforementioned friendly staff, the comfortable, accommodating and spacious rooms, and the affordability of it all!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johahall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestManager, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Johall,

We cant thank you enough for your loyalty to our resort while in Lake Tahoe. That is truly invaluable and we appreciate your business so much. You sound like another important family that is making our resort part of yours and our yearly experiences. We hope you visit this summer.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Forest suites was absolutely perfect for our family ski trip to Heavenly. The staff were very helpful and dealt with all our queries promptly and pleasantly. We had a one bedroom suite which was spacious, clean, quiet and very comfortable. The ski lift is a short walk away and Raleys supermarket is just across the road. Raleys was so handy to buy provisions for a simple evening meal e.g rotisserie chicken and we saved a fortune!
Breakfast in forest suites is basic but you get all you need.
We were very pleased with the hotel and would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mervlynG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestManager, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Mervlyn,

Thanks for spending time with us over your ski vacation in the states. We know you are a long way from home and I can only assume from your experience and response that you were very comfortable and enjoyed the resort. Having a grocery store across the street is so very convenient for our kitchen suites and for the resort in general. Come back and see us again for another great ski and snow adventure.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is the I-don't-know-how-many-ith time I have come to Lake Tahoe and stayed at the Forest Suites Resort. My family keeps coming back here because the staff here is helpful (even more so than usual this trip), the rooms are, uh... roomy, and it is a seven-minute walk to the back door of Harrah's casino. The building we were in has not yet been reached by their current renovation efforts, so it was a little beat, but still clean, well-stocked and well looked after. Come stay here; you'll like it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestManager, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Tony,

You're title (They took such great care of us) is exactly what we strive for. I thank you for sharing other elements of your experience with everyone to read but the fact that we took perfect care of you is fantastic. We wont disappoint when you come back and see us again. I can promise that.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentwood, Louisiana
Level Contributor
102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for one night on our CA road trip. We checked in to the first room and were not happy with the room or the setup. We were in the back and the area was a bit sketchy. We considered checking out to find another hotel, but after speaking with the young man at the front desk he kindly upgraded us to a suite in a more comfortable setting. The room was spacious with a living area and seperate bedroom. The continental breakfast was ok. For a one night stay it was more than adequate. Tahoe is beautiful, enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TangiTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestManager, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Tangi,

I am delighted you stopped by the resort on your trip. We're happy you were able to get upgraded to suite by our front office staff. Thanks again for the note and seek us out again when you're traveling through beautiful Lake Tahoe.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,059 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
870 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,069 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe
Holiday Inn Express South Lake T...
#21 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
439 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village

Property: Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village
Address: 1 Lake Pkwy, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8834
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#9 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, Location! Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village is a South Lake Tahoe resort nestled in intimate alpine environment located less than 100 yards away from Heavenly Ski Gondola and Heavenly Village. All of our over sized South Lake Tahoe resort suites sleep 4 to 6 adults. We are a few minute walk to the casinos, and a few blocks to the crystal clear waters of Lake Tahoe. Guests staying at Forest Suites Resort will experience updated rooms & furnishings, new decor & upgraded amenities. Our guests will experience high-speed wireless internet, hot American-style breakfast buffet, mid-week nightly wine and cheese receptions, weekend child activities including arts & crafts, "Green" exercise classes, movie nights, an XBOX game center & events throughout the entire year for the entire family to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Vacatia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Forest Hotel Lake Tahoe
Forest Resort Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing