We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, comfortable accomodations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village
Ranked #24 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had a great time in South Lake Tahoe and thoroughly enjoyed our time at Forest Suites. The two-bedroom suite was roomy and comfortable for our 4 adults, with a king bed in one room and a full and separate twin in the other. Each room had its own bath which was very convenient for getting ready to hit the slopes in the morning. Room renovations appear to have resulted in new comfortable furnishings for the LR and BRs, but the kitchens and baths don't appear to have been redone. They are older (think 80s-90s) and not particularly stylish, but very functional and had everything we needed. Breakfast was great with coffee, juices, cereals, scrambled eggs, sausage and bacon, bagels, yogurt. There's a Powderhouse ski rental right off of the lobby, but we just used the rental right next to the Gondola. The location of the hotel couldn't be more perfect. Right across the street from the Gondola and all of the shops/restaurants of Heavenly Village and just down the block from the casinos. We walked to everything. As has been noted in previous reviews, the heater system is very loud. Didn't bother us at all because we like some white noise while we sleep.

This place is not a Ritz or Four Seasons. It is a nice, clean place to sleep in a great location which we got at a great price and we'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Midlandcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestManager, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear Midlandcat,

We wanted to thank you for posting a review about our resort. I'm glad the accommodations met and exceeded your expectations in some areas. Please make sure to see us again for your next big ski vacation and take advantage of one of the best locations in downtown South Lake.

Thanks again,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (777)
There are newer reviews for Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

426 - 432 of 777 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Great location near the gondola and Heavenly Village. Great package - stay 3 nights get the fourth free. Great breakfast everyday. Great happy hour - complimentary wine and cheese. Great gift if you forego housekeeping service. Great amenities - fitness center, massage, wedding chapel, ski shop, 2 pools, 2 hot tubs. Great vacation!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paige T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Just moved in into the deluxe 1 bedroom suite room 218. Room is very dated. Bathtub is horrible. There are 4 (four ) holes(!) in the middle of it. There are holes in the ceiling. At the same time they charged my credit card for potential damage. I complained. We'll see how it will be resolved.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank nvsmskru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I and three friends stayed @ FS in March 2013. We paid $450 each for four nights AND three days lift tickets per person through a Ski Free and Stay Free deal (1 night lodging and 1 day lift ticket free with 3 nights and 2 days lift tickets paid), so a pretty good deal. If you break it down, lift tickets were $67/pp per day (3 days), and lodging was $250 for 4 nights pp ($62/night). Not bad.

Upsides: Location was superb. Walking distance to the gondola and the village. Hot tub was hot and just outside our room. Price was great. Service was respectable and quick overall. Good, firm mattress.

Downsides: Unkept, tired property. The lobby is quite nice (that's about it), but our room was very tired with dirty showers, older furniture, few kitchen supplies, dirty carpet, and tired/thin towels. No fireplace in the room. One small hottub for the entire place - often crowded. Basic breakfast that did not change (eggs, tired potatoes, sausage, cereals, toast, yogurt) - not horrible but not fabulous. Often out of forks, napkins, etc, and had to ask for a restock.

Overall, I wouldn't stay here again unless I could get the same deal with a guaranteed renovated room. Otherwise, I would opt for the Embassy or another place at a slightly higher price. I rated it Average on TA given the location and price, but it is close to a Poor in my book overall.

It met our needs, but barely. My advice would be to make sure you ask for renovated rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank devin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed in a suite that we had bought at a discount through Travelzoo, but our treatment by staff was superb. They took an interest in our needs and concerns over and above those that involved the hotel, and were unfailingly helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dianne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is for the 2 bedroom suites. They were very roomy but cozy, newly remodeled, super comfy beds, and literally seconds from heavenly village. Staff was awesome, happy hour, game room, hot tubs, free hot chocolate, yummy variety breakfast. Should I keep going?! :)

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paula85p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

The place has come along ways with all the upgrades in the rooms and the staff was very helpful want to personally thank Warren for taking care of me and my fanily . Also in great location close to everything as we are return customers , Look foward to seeing you guys again in July.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
900 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,092 reviews
0.6 mi away
Americana Village
Americana Village
#7 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
396 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village

Address: 1 Lake Pkwy, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8834
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#9 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: $125 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, Location! Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village is a South Lake Tahoe resort nestled in intimate alpine environment located less than 100 yards away from Heavenly Ski Gondola and Heavenly Village. All of our over sized South Lake Tahoe resort suites sleep 4 to 6 adults. We are a few minute walk to the casinos, and a few blocks to the crystal clear waters of Lake Tahoe. Guests staying at Forest Suites Resort will experience updated rooms & furnishings, new decor & upgraded amenities. Our guests will experience high-speed wireless internet, hot American-style breakfast buffet, mid-week nightly wine and cheese receptions, weekend child activities including arts & crafts, "Green" exercise classes, movie nights, an XBOX game center & events throughout the entire year for the entire family to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Forest Hotel Lake Tahoe
Forest Resort Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing