We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village
Ranked #23 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Sunnyvale Ca
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I stayed here in September 2012. We had booked a hotel room but were upgraded to a suite. The hotel is still in the process of a remodel. The suite we stayed in had been partially remodeled. It had new furnishings in the living room and new TV's; it looked like new tile on the bathroom floor. The bathroom was missing a towel bar but only had the brackets that a towel bar would hang on...it was adequate to hang our towels on. Front desk personnel were polite and efficient. I applaud the Forest Suites for offering a "green package"....agree to not have your sheets and towels changed and you can select a bottle of wine. We stayed 3 nights and got to select a "movie package" for the second night...ours included a Hershey's chocolate bar and a pack of Skittles, 2 sodas and microwave popcorn. A nice perk! The continental breakfast was adequate although I had hoped they had the "make your own" belgian waffles that some other hotels offer. The "fresh" flowers on the dining tables were all half dead the day we arrived and 3 days later the same flowers were still on the table. Personally I would rather see silk flowers than dead flowers on the table.

Room Tip: So close to the state line and casinos and directly behind the Marriott complex. Easy walking distan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestManager, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Marilyn,

I truly appreciate the time it took to sit down and write this review. We apologize about the delay in getting our flowers on our breakfast tables out as they should have been changed properly. I am delighted you took advantage of the "Green Clean Program" during your stay. It is a great program and very popular. We hope to see you again very soon!

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    207
    110
    74
    47
See reviews for
340
157
12
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Petaluma, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This is still one of the nicest south shore locations and now they have new furniture! The rooms are really nice and updated. You can always have meals in your own kitchen or walk across the street to shopping center or the gondola for ride up the hill or you can also walk across the street to the new Van Sickle park.

Room Tip: Check out the website
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestManager, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Cindy R,

We are thrilled you enjoyed our new furniture. We are equally excited. You are correct in that our location is the best spot in South Lake and so close to everything. Also, all of our oversized rooms and suites are perfect for cooking if you so desire to avoid a night at one of the many restaurants within walking distance. We look forward to your next visit and hope to see you on the slopes!

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiclana de la Frontera, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Polite at check in-- dried vomit outside front door--great start!
Unit large but up a steep set of steps--we had a lot of luggage due to 5 week trip.Unit dated and tired as were most things at this resort. Swimming Pool grubby and tiles missing from Jacuzzi.
Room clean and cleaning staff very helpful--more so than sullen girl at desk when our key would not work (they had only programmed it for one night and we were there 3)
Breakfast ok--first time I have ever seen bananas cut in half!
On the 1st of October everything stopped. The Jacuzzi went off and the pool looked even sadder. The Gondola ride that went over the resort also stopped--not that that was the resorts fault.
Sunbathed one afternoon , but no peace as an employee pushed a dirty linen cart in the gate around the pool and let the gate slam--he then repeated this at least 20 times--the cart was empty. Perhaps if they employed less people and invested in the place it would improve.
There was a safe and coffee making machine. Also a laundry --coin op--that I found very useful.

Room Tip: Don´t have the room over the laundry!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maxandrosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestManager, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Maxandrosie,

I want to first off apologize that you had some unfortunate things happen during your stay. Our staff never intends to be disruptive and I apologize that them entering the gate was too noisy by the pool. We should have been much more conscience and I can assure you it’s been addressed. Unfortunately, our heater to our spa which was immediately back up after a part was ordered went out. Fortunately, we do have a 2nd spa/hot tub. I hope you were able to take advantage of our other spa on property. As for the gondola shutting down, we unfortunately have no control as Heavenly Mountain dictates when it is open based upon many factors such as wind, time of year, etc... I hope you come back and stay with us some time? I know you are far from South Lake living in Espana but we would like to see you again.

Hasta Luego and warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorCal
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Headed to Tahoe for less than 24 hrs for a Family Wedding. We always stay in hotels that provide a Family Suite since we have a child - so, saving $100/night vs. our normal Embassy Suites was perfect! Our room was very large & provide plenty of room to be comfortable! We were right in the middle of town & Breakfast was adequate, as well! Be sure to ask for a room on the Top floor...was woken up a few times during the night with people moving about + running down the hallway! Beautiful lobby, room was cozy & we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank facosmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestManager, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Facosmo,

You hit the nail on the head with your review and my opinion of our resort. I appreciate your comments very much! We can assure you from this last time you were here and some of the changes we just made, you will be very impressed.

Best-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

A mix of really good and not-so-good:

We stayed in a 2-bedroom suite this past weekend; it was one of those TravelZoo deals. Check-in went smoothly and the people working at the front desk are very friendly. The suite was absolutely enormous...850 square feet I believe. It has a full kitchen, dining area, and living room (with a sofa bed); the first bedroom has queen and twin beds, and the master bedroom has a king bed. The bathroom in the master bedroom has a tub and shower; in the second bathroom it's a shower only. Everything was very clean. So if you have a big group (4 people ideally, but you could squeeze 6) this is a terrific option. The location is great, all kinds of food/shopping options are nearby, and the ski lift is practically right outside. Also they serve a free continental breakfast...an unexpected bonus!

OK now the downside...

I really wanted to give this place a 5 star rating, but the truth is the suite just felt REALLY old and tired. I'd guess it was last renovated in the 80s. The carpet is dingy and stained in many places. The living room furniture was OK if dated, but the beds were just subpar. The king bed in particular was not comfortable at all (they didn't even lay down a mattress protector!), too stiff, with obviously cheap pillows and sheets. The towels in the bathroom were crazy thin and non-aborbent. At this price I wasn't expecting the St. Regis, but still.

Having said that, the "bones" of this place are so good that it wouldn't take much to make this a truly outstanding place to stay. It just needs a little updating.

So...I'd recommend this place especially if you have a large group and you are coming to Tahoe during the off season. In ski season I'm sure it's crazy expensive like all the other hotels, so I'm not sure what the value would be that time of year, but it's definitely worth checking out.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sasquatchsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

The staff is responsive and the rooms are clean. Great location!! But the hotel is weary. Outlets that no longer work, single pane windows no relief from the heat or cold (but, the windows do open !), missing draw pulls. Kitchen barely stocked. Towels thin (they are weary, too). Keep your expectations low and you will be ok.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms off the pool area ... the noise at night can be a problem. However, just call the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shinazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
2 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I got married at Forest Suites on 11/7/2009. We are approaching our 3rd anniversary and decided what better way to spend it than where we got married. We stayed in the Presidential Suite which as FABULOUS! The following year we stayed in the Honeymoon Suite which was just as nice. My family members stayed in the spacious 1 and two bedroom suites and no one had a problem. We'll be there again this year to celebrate our Anniversary again! The service was great and so was the cake for our wedding!!! If you are looking for an AFFORDABLE, clean place to stay. Look no further!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawnette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,070 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#12 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
935 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe
Holiday Inn Express South Lake T...
#21 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
447 reviews
0.6 mi away
Americana Village
Americana Village
#7 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
387 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village

Property: Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village
Address: 1 Lake Pkwy, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8834
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#9 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, Location! Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village is a South Lake Tahoe resort nestled in intimate alpine environment located less than 100 yards away from Heavenly Ski Gondola and Heavenly Village. All of our over sized South Lake Tahoe resort suites sleep 4 to 6 adults. We are a few minute walk to the casinos, and a few blocks to the crystal clear waters of Lake Tahoe. Guests staying at Forest Suites Resort will experience updated rooms & furnishings, new decor & upgraded amenities. Our guests will experience high-speed wireless internet, hot American-style breakfast buffet, mid-week nightly wine and cheese receptions, weekend child activities including arts & crafts, "Green" exercise classes, movie nights, an XBOX game center & events throughout the entire year for the entire family to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Forest Hotel Lake Tahoe
Forest Resort Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing