We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good size rooms, meh breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village
Ranked #24 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Rooms large but plain. Showerhead low enough to get my waist down wet, but not my upper body or head. Very small shower space. Continental bkfst was "meh." Hardboiled eggs were the only protein available. Very nice staff, lovely lobby, but the rooms are dated and worn out.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eridley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (781)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

483 - 489 of 781 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

Forest Suites was great for our family! We have 2 small children and to have a kitchen and our room right next to the pool was just perfect! WE were able to sit outside while the children were napping and enjoy a relaxing afternoon.

Room Tip: Room 602 is perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestManager, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear Jill,

It sounds like you and the family had a comfortable and fun time here in Lake Tahoe. I know you were here in September and the weather has just been wonderful. Those poolside rooms are very convenient when you're taking advantage of the pools and hot tubs that we have on property. We hope to see you soon and next time you're looking for a clean, spacious, comfortable resort with good service in South Lake Tahoe please seek us out again.

Thanks again for the posting!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We wanted a comfortable place to rest our heads of an evening, that was clean and provided breakfast and that is exactly what we got! The staff were lovely and very helpful! Breakfast was simple combo of cereals, bread, bagels and juice and of course... variety of teas and coffees! Yea it is a little dated but we all had a fantastic time there... it was central and near to the gondola!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lexingtonzeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestManager, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear Lexingtonzeb,

We appreciate sharing your opinion and perception about our property on Trip Advisor. I appreciate the comment on how the breakfast offerings met your needs but we look to exceed that expectation. We will be introducing a "Hot" breakfast vs. the "cold" offering officially in December and we believe this will enhance our property ten-fold. I can safely saw that by the time you come back (as long as its after December), an array of hot breakfast items will satisfy your pallet.

Best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

lets get real,looking for first class resort.don't brother.. looking for a good value,next to anything you will need,clean and warm roof over your head.then hang your hat here. otherwise look else where.had a wonderful time when we were there,and a great time in Tahoe.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank papafor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I couldn't have imagined a better experience than the one I had at the Forest Suites. I had my wedding at the chapel and it was exactly what I wanted, simple and elegant. Most of our guests stayed here as well and everyone raved about the suites, it was so nice to have a place for families to stay with the two bedroom suites and kitchens and pools for the kids. We had one of the specialty suites with a full sized hot tub in the room and enough space for all of our wedding party to gather! It was perfect. The staff made this occasion truly special, they were warm so incredibly helpful. I have since stayed there several times and love it just as much each time. I highly recommend the Forest Suites!!!

Room Tip: The specialty suites are incredible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestManager, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Dear Jennifer,

Congrats on your special day this last weekend. We were very honored to have you and your husband married at the property. We wish you the best on the next chapter of your life together.

Best wishes and don't be a stranger on your 1st Anniversary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

From the outside, this place looks a little dated and even a little from the inside hallways and the elevator, but the room was much nicer than I had anticipated. We stayed in a two bedroom suite and it was very spacious. The kitchen was small and a little dated, but it was better having one than not. All in all, this place was nice but could use modernizations.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avlnlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestManager, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Dear avlnlady,

Thanks for your recent post. I am proud to announce that beginning this next week we begin the last phase of our room renovation which will be complete by December of this year. The rooms will all be more of a modern look that you are describing. New ovens, end tables, art, mirrors, lamps, night stands, headboards, dressers, to name a few of the items. Next time you are in Lake Tahoe, please consider coming back and I believe you will be pleasantly surprised.

Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I think Forest Suites delivers very well for the money it charges. We stayed there over Christmas, the location is perfect, the suites are large, the breakfast is edible. Yes its a bit dark, yes some of the furniture is a bit old, but works perfectly well, yes the staff are a bit to laid back/scruffy, yes the hot tub is not the most inviting. However you pay your money and take your choice, size and location are key as is price and it delivers on all these in spades!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestManager, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Dear Mike,

Thanks for posting your experience from last December about our resort. I am happy to tell you since you were here we've made some tremendous improvements to the resort such as installing new furniture with much more to come to finalize our room renovation by this December. Also, we installed brand new tile on every bathroom floor and kitchen floor throughout the entire resort. Lastly, our culture of service and attentiveness to our guests has changed from being laid back to being much more proactive. One of the things we haven’t changed is our charm and our location which as you know is unbeatable.

Hope to see you this Winter!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
905 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,118 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#14 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
203 reviews
0.6 mi away
Americana Village
Americana Village
#6 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village

Address: 1 Lake Pkwy, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8834
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#9 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: $110 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, Location! Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village is a South Lake Tahoe resort nestled in intimate alpine environment located less than 100 yards away from Heavenly Ski Gondola and Heavenly Village. All of our over sized South Lake Tahoe resort suites sleep 4 to 6 adults. We are a few minute walk to the casinos, and a few blocks to the crystal clear waters of Lake Tahoe. Guests staying at Forest Suites Resort will experience updated rooms & furnishings, new decor & upgraded amenities. Our guests will experience high-speed wireless internet, hot American-style breakfast buffet, mid-week nightly wine and cheese receptions, weekend child activities including arts & crafts, "Green" exercise classes, movie nights, an XBOX game center & events throughout the entire year for the entire family to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Forest Hotel Lake Tahoe
Forest Resort Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing