We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best wedding venue ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village
Ranked #22 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Santa Rosa, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best wedding venue ever!”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I couldn't have imagined a better experience than the one I had at the Forest Suites. I had my wedding at the chapel and it was exactly what I wanted, simple and elegant. Most of our guests stayed here as well and everyone raved about the suites, it was so nice to have a place for families to stay with the two bedroom suites and kitchens and pools for the kids. We had one of the specialty suites with a full sized hot tub in the room and enough space for all of our wedding party to gather! It was perfect. The staff made this occasion truly special, they were warm so incredibly helpful. I have since stayed there several times and love it just as much each time. I highly recommend the Forest Suites!!!

Room Tip: The specialty suites are incredible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestManager, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Jennifer,

Congrats on your special day this last weekend. We were very honored to have you and your husband married at the property. We wish you the best on the next chapter of your life together.

Best wishes and don't be a stranger on your 1st Anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    201
    109
    72
    40
See reviews for
326
153
12
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2012

From the outside, this place looks a little dated and even a little from the inside hallways and the elevator, but the room was much nicer than I had anticipated. We stayed in a two bedroom suite and it was very spacious. The kitchen was small and a little dated, but it was better having one than not. All in all, this place was nice but could use modernizations.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avlnlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestManager, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear avlnlady,

Thanks for your recent post. I am proud to announce that beginning this next week we begin the last phase of our room renovation which will be complete by December of this year. The rooms will all be more of a modern look that you are describing. New ovens, end tables, art, mirrors, lamps, night stands, headboards, dressers, to name a few of the items. Next time you are in Lake Tahoe, please consider coming back and I believe you will be pleasantly surprised.

Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Mary Bourne
Level Contributor
262 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I think Forest Suites delivers very well for the money it charges. We stayed there over Christmas, the location is perfect, the suites are large, the breakfast is edible. Yes its a bit dark, yes some of the furniture is a bit old, but works perfectly well, yes the staff are a bit to laid back/scruffy, yes the hot tub is not the most inviting. However you pay your money and take your choice, size and location are key as is price and it delivers on all these in spades!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestManager, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Mike,

Thanks for posting your experience from last December about our resort. I am happy to tell you since you were here we've made some tremendous improvements to the resort such as installing new furniture with much more to come to finalize our room renovation by this December. Also, we installed brand new tile on every bathroom floor and kitchen floor throughout the entire resort. Lastly, our culture of service and attentiveness to our guests has changed from being laid back to being much more proactive. One of the things we haven’t changed is our charm and our location which as you know is unbeatable.

Hope to see you this Winter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

My daughter & I and two friends celebrated my daughter's birthday in Tahoe at the Forest Suites Resort. It is perfectly located to walk to the casinos and the shops at StateLine. She is hoping to spend a couple of weeks up there as it's only a few yards from the Heavenly gondola and she plans to ski everyday.

Room Tip: Two bedroom suites are large and roomy, but get one away from the heavily traveled Lake Parkway - it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claudia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestManager, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear Claudia,

Thanks for the kind review and we look forward to your family staying with us for a couple of weeks during the ski season. We are hoping for early snow this winter to make an EPIC ski season for all.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We were in town for a wedding and several of us chose to stay here instead of at the Casinos. We were upgraded to suites for free, which included a large seating area and a full kitchen. Our friends who stayed at suites in the casinos paid twice as much and had less seating room and no kitchen. We were able to post get togethers, save leftovers, cook dinner to save money, etc. The outdoor pool and spa are nice as well. It's a great location, right behind Heavenly, and within walking distance of everything. My only complaints, which are small, would be the breakfast and the elevator. I would have preferred a hot breakfast to a continental one. Also, the elevator was very old and a bit scary. It worked fine but most of the time we opted to take the stairs. The place is a little older but for the price and location, I will continue to go back here when I'm in Tahoe in the future.

Room Tip: We booked a normal, king room, but were able to get upgraded to a one bedroom suite for free. Even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Took a gamble on hotwire and pleasantly surprised with the outcome.

Great location and resort is well laid out (parking convenient, low rise, 2 pools).

Didn't realise breakfast was included which was an extra bonus.

Staff very helpful and they have a good green incentive program (decline daily cleaning for wine!).

It's an older style property so don't expect flat screen tvs etc but for price we paid, I was very happy.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestManager, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear Mike,

I am delighted you took a gamble and won a good experience at our beautiful resort in downtown South Lake. Our green clean program is a very popular and unique program that we are very proud of. Next time you are in the area take a look at our website as we run many promotions throughout the week. We are getting ready to receive the last of our new furniture throughout tis fall to complete our 2012 room renovation/remodel.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The room was spacious and clean, the resort common areas were newly renovated, and the service was spectacular! We even got a free bottle of wine from the front desk when we signed up for their new program for water/resource conservation. I would definitely come back for another visit. Loved it...

Room Tip: Get a mountain view, if possible. Quiet room with a beautiful view of Heavenly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MS_1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestManager, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear MS 1981,

It was a pleasure to meet you and your finace' last week. I know the concert must have been a blast and hopefully the casinos were in your favor? Let us know when you can sneak away to Tahoe for another getaway to the Lake.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe
Holiday Inn Express South Lake T...
#20 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village

Property: Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village
Address: 1 Lake Pkwy, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8834
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#9 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, Location! Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village is a South Lake Tahoe resort nestled in intimate alpine environment located less than 100 yards away from Heavenly Ski Gondola and Heavenly Village. All of our over sized South Lake Tahoe resort suites sleep 4 to 6 adults. We are a few minute walk to the casinos, and a few blocks to the crystal clear waters of Lake Tahoe. Guests staying at Forest Suites Resort will experience updated rooms & furnishings, new decor & upgraded amenities. Our guests will experience high-speed wireless internet, hot American-style breakfast buffet, mid-week nightly wine and cheese receptions, weekend child activities including arts & crafts, "Green" exercise classes, movie nights, an XBOX game center & events throughout the entire year for the entire family to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Vacatia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Forest Hotel Lake Tahoe
Forest Resort Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing