We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't judge a book by its cover...!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
Ranked #19 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
minnesota
1 review
“Don't judge a book by its cover...!!”
Reviewed June 10, 2009

My wife booked us here at the lodge, and with no prior knowledge of Tahoe at all, this couldn't have been a better pick. When you drive up to the front office, you wonder what you got yourself into, but as soon as you open the door to your room, all your worries melt away. Yes...if you plan on spending all day in your bathroom, then you will be unhappy, but if you want to drink wine on your patio/balcony mere feet from the sand and lake then you are in the right place. The staff is super attentive, and the pool area and hot tub are nice too. This place is located near everything you would need, and you can start your drive around the lake right from here. Definitely recommend this place!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank badgermilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    158
    58
    20
    17
See reviews for
145
220
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2009

Yes what everyone says about the hotel being old and unhip is true. But it was clean with good service and the location can't be beat. All the rooms are right on the beach, which is very hard to find in Lake Tahoe (yes, many hotels have a view, but a balcony/patio right on the beach you won't find). We could see both water and mountains from our room and could step right onto the beach and into the water. Nice walk along the beach or the main drag to get to the Heavenly shops/lift. There was a nice pool, volleyball court, and grills. Also had a good and affordable massage. A great summertime hotel for singles, couples, or families.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yolandael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2009

Don't let the words "lodge and spa" give you the wrong idea--this is anything but. This hotel has neither a lodge nor a spa feel to it. Yes, the views are fabulous, and you are right on the lake. However, the hotel (really, it's more of a motel) is in desperate need of some updating.

Prior to our stay, I had read some reviews of the hotel on this website and really had some serious reservations about staying there. I knew not to expect The Ritz and therefore knew it was not going to have a luxurious spa feel to it. Some people described the place as rustic, and I can see why. The furniture definitely has that Adirondack mountain feel to it. Rustic, however, implies a certain charm, which I felt this place was lacking.

Although others described their rooms as dirty, ours was actually very clean, and I think the hotel staff did a great job each day of cleaning the room, providing us with fresh linens, etc. That being said, the hotel is OLD. The bedding is extremely outdated--no high thread count sheets here! The bathroom fixtures date back a couple of decades, and the wallpaper and drapes are somewhat dreary. Finally, there was that smell in the carpets which I had read about. They didn't smell dirty, but definitely musty. The corner unit we stayed in provided us with wonderful sunlight, which I was glad for because otherwise I think the rooms would be rather dreary and depressing.

We stayed on the third floor, and out unit included a kitchenette which we enjoyed having so we didn't have to go out to breakfast each morning. We didn't have problems with noise, but again, we were on the third floor. Having the stove in our room was a bonus, and the room was definitely large, which we appreciated. Regarding the building's "amenities", the pool was never open and was small. Additionally, the hot tub was also quite small, and it was FILTHY when we were there. We were in for about five minutes, noticed the ring of filth on the tile surround, and hot-stepped it out of there

Overall, we were disappointed and wouldn't go back. There were too many minuses for us to want to return. There are literally TONS of placed to stay in Tahoe at various price points, so next time we go back to Tahoe to ski, we will definitely check out another hotel.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Szegway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2009

I always wanted to stay on the lake and place is the perfect place for this. Even in the winter the beach is fantastic. We would walk out with our coffee and muffins each morning in aw of the extreme beauty of the lake. The views from the room were equally perfect. We stayed in one of the condos and our friends we in the hotel part. The condo was really nice with a screen TV and leather couch. The hotel had a nice wood feel to it and made you feel like you were in... well Tahoe. Breakfast a Hiedi's each morning was perfect, just a 50 yard walk away. And Longs was next door for other things. Casinos less than a mile away and all sorts of food places. The staff was extremely nice and the hotel was safe and clean.
With views and location as well as a more than fair price, I would recommend this place to anyone who enjoys life and doesn't want to spend a bunch.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toddSFBAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antelope, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2009

I just want to say that I booked my stay not really knowing anything about the lodge, but I was throughly please with my stay at Lakeshore! I have only been home/back to work one day and have already recommended the lodge to several of my clients. The people that work at the lodge were extremely kind and helpful. I was given great recommendations of local places to go. Great rooms, great view, great service, great staff! Can't wait to go back!

  • Liked — The comfort, the view, and the staff!
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Cali-Giggles79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2008

We arrived at the Lakeshore Lodge on a beautiful Saturday on Sept. 13, 2008. There were no problems and were able to check in early. The room was on the top floor, 403 and the only thing I would want anyone to know is the walls are pretty thin. We had no complaints as it was very quiet but were advised through this site to pick a top floor room. The hotel is located within walking distance of a Longs Drug Store and across the street is a Safeway Grocery Store. What more could you ask for? There are plenty of things to do and the front desk can fill you in on that. We are not skiers so this was the perfect time to go for us. The view from our room was amazing and were able to leave the curtains open to see the mountains from morning to night. We will definitely come back. Thanks to Blanca for making our stay the best! Guy and Julie Johnson, Michigan

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — Walls were thin
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank johnmcalski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2008

Very nice location on the beach. The young woman at the front desk was very nice and helpful. Every room has a lake view, although because the hotel is L-shaped, it appears the views are better from some rooms than others. As the photo shows, the building has a wing that goes toward the beach, so a couple of rooms have an view looking more down the beach than at the lake. Our room was on the third floor just before that wing so we had a nice view of the lake but the wing cut off our view of the September sunset. So, we went down to the beach, where the hotel provided chairs. The hotel has an elevator, so getting the luggage up to the room wasn't bad. The room was furnished with sort of a national park lodge decor, which their website shows well. Nice semi-private balcony with a couple chairs. The beds are queen only and were reasonably comfortable, but the pillows were old and quite thin. There is a gas stove in the room for heat (not needed during our stay). There is no A/C, and it was rather warm our first night, but we found an electric fan in the closet. Between the fan and the slightly open balcony door, we were fine. It gets quite cool at night (near freezing in early September) so the room cooled off nicely. The bathroom was functional--nothing special. My wife and I were both happy with our choice. It's hard to beat the view!

  • Liked — Balcony and view
  • Disliked — Pillows
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcd016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.1 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.5 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
1.4 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa

Property: Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
Address: 930 Balbijou Rd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8919
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#8 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#9 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#11 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge & Spa, South Shore’s only all lakefront property, offering hotel and condominium lodging all with an incredible lake view and cozy fireplace. Pamper yourself in our full service day spa or relax by our heated pool and hot tub. Centrally located to area activities, restaurants, casinos and sitting on 500 feet of private beach, you’ll receive a true Tahoe experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tahoe Lakeshore Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Lakeshore Hotel Lake Tahoe
Lakeshore Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing