We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get a top floor room!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
Ranked #17 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed here Jan. 3-5 with my husband, 43 and son, 21. We stayed in room 106 which has 2 queen size beds. We would stay here again only if room was on top floor and with a newer mattress.

Pros:
Location...location...location...(right on the lake/beach with amazing views just a few blocks from South Lake Tahoe attractions, Heavenly, casino, shops, and restaurants)
Staff was extremely helpful and nice
in room gas fireplace
free internet
free coffee and cocoa

Cons:
room was a bit small for 2 queen size beds with pine-log furnishing
room was on first floor (when people walk to beach they would walk right pass room and look in) old spring mattress (springs stuck up out of mattress making body sore next day for skiing)
continental breakfast (it was more like day old breads-dry mini-muffins and danishes)
parking was right in front of rooms (heard every car parking and starting)
heard every creak and thump from people in room above us

Room Tip: Ask for a room on top floor with a newer mattress.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gonzowuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TahoeLakeshore, Manager at Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We have a few of each Lodge room type on all floors so unfortunately the top floor is not always available. We get a lot of requests for bottom floor as well as top floor based on individual needs. Walking right out on to the beach can have its advantages. We are looking into addressing the mattress issue and have repaired the one in that room. All of our 2 bedroom condos and one-bedroom loft condos are always on the top floor! Thank you again and we do hope you will come stay with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (525)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

281 - 287 of 525 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2012

Stayed here for the first time on the recommenfation of a friend who has had a great experience here in the past. We were very pleased with everything! Staff was very pleasant and attentive to whatever requests we had. The resort is a perfect place to bring the family. We went up for a long weekend get-a-way with the kids. The pool and hot tub are great activities for all of us.......fun and relaxing! The accommodations are Tahoe casual......perfect for us and the kids. Didn't want the formality of the big casino's......felt very relaxed in what we felt like was a home away from home! Perfect! But the best thing about the resort is the location....location....location! Literally right on the beach! And the views from our condo and in the hot tub are breathtaking....gorgeous snow capped mountains......WOW! Will definitely be back again! Will probably come back up this winter to so some skiing at Heavenly

Room Tip: The location of the resort makes it all peaceful and secluded feeling....with the family, we loved t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TahoeLakeshore, Manager at Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Glad you enjoyed your getaway with the kids! Lakeshore Lodge is a great place for year round fun. We've recieved great snow so far this winter so do come up to go skiing soon. Thanks for your comments and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We've stayed here in the past and have had good experiences but our last stay felt like a fleece job.

The place is on Lake Tahoe and has wonderful views and a private beach. The rooms have great wood burning fireplaces which are great on cold winter nights.Those are the pluses. Unfortunately, they don't appear to have updated the rooms in many years. That's years of snow, sand and water being tracked through the rooms which have caused significant issues with floors and walls. Our room had a plugged shower, broken towel rack and a fire alarm wrapped in plastic to name a few problems. At $270 a night they could have at least inspected the rooms. The beds have to be at least 5 years old, my side was indented by all the bodies having slept there before me.

They did give us a discount but looked at me like I was asking for sell their child or something. After so many stays with them they shouldn't have made me ask for discount. They should have insisted on it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TahoeLakeshore, Manager at Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We are so sorry to hear your last stay did not meet your expectations. We have been updating and renovating the condos and the hotel rooms in the past 2 years but they are by no means brand new. I apologize that our staff missed some issue in the unit before you checked in. We have since addressed the issues in the condo and hope that you will come back and give us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

This hotel is a budget pick with the balcony facing the beach. Picturesque view of the lake with the backdrop of blue sky and snow cladded mountains give the shot of your life. A walk on the beach with the birds around looking at the clear water is an experience... I just loved the location. The hotel looks like a worn out wooden building from outside. But they have maintained good inside, liked the heater and the furniture.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myashu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TahoeLakeshore, Manager at Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Thank you for sharing your comments. We always say here “don’t let the outside fool you” It is an older property but we work hard to maintain the inside which we feel is the most important factor along with the view! Hope you enjoyed your time in Tahoe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

This is my new favorite place to stay in SLT and I've been coming here since I was born. The location (lake views) are unparalleled!!! I like the decor in the lodge rooms and the 2 bedroom condo I recently stayed in was fabulous too. If you like the idea of feeling like your hotel room is actually a houseboat because of the proximity to LT, this place is for you.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had an unexpected extended stay here the staff ensured we kept the same good rate we have from Expedia. The tea and coffee facilities in the common room were lovely, the fire blazing was wonderful. The room was charming, basic but clean with a great shower and decent towels. The only complaints was that the floorboards are creeky so the noise from the people above was evident. The glass balcony front enhanced the lakeside view.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahBat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The place is a bit dated but with the recent renovations the rooms are a little more modern. The rooms and furniture are clean. After skiing we always enjoy hitting the hot tub. The best part is the views. Stunning. Overall for the rates are very affordable considering that you are sitting right on the beach with the most amazing sunsets. I have been coming to this place for years. When I come to ski at Heavenly, I'm staying here.....

Room Tip: All the rooms are pretty good. Ask for a room on the top floor so you get the best views and no noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James10XYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.1 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,128 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
912 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
508 reviews
1.4 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#9 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,100 reviews
1.3 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa

Address: 930 Balbijou Rd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8919
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#8 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#9 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#11 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: $120 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge & Spa, South Shore’s only all lakefront property, offering hotel and condominium lodging all with an incredible lake view and cozy fireplace. Pamper yourself in our full service day spa or relax by our heated pool and hot tub. Centrally located to area activities, restaurants, casinos and sitting on 500 feet of private beach, you’ll receive a true Tahoe experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tahoe Lakeshore Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Lakeshore Hotel Lake Tahoe
Lakeshore Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing