We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic view and great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
Ranked #19 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Fantastic view and great hotel”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I have read so many reviews about needing a facelift, but I found the hotel to be extremely clean and the rooms were large and comfortable. The kitchen had a new floor and counter top, plus was stocked with all items you would need. We were on the 3rd floor. If they remodel everything, the cost of the rooms would double. I loved it just as it is.
As stated by most, the view from the large balcony was fantastic. The beach was larger than all the surrounding properties ( all charge higher rates) and was very well kept. A huge plus was the pool and hot tub on the beach. Everyone at the desk was friendly and helpful. They even found my lost sun glasses. I will definitely return and bring my entire family.
The one problem was the entrance behind a strip mall. The mall was also the view from our kitchen. We just closed the blinds. Once you enter the property, however, it is beautiful. Just concentrate on the lake side of the property and you will experience the beauty of Lake Tahoe.

Room Tip: The kitchen was a great addition. We enjoyed the upper floors with balcony. Better view and more p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janiebird62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TahoeLakeshore, Manager at Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
We couldn’t have said it any better. Thank you for your comments and please do come back and stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    159
    58
    21
    17
See reviews for
145
223
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We were originally going to stay for a the week in Aug & get married at another beach location when we decided to check out the Lakeshore Lodge. Stacy helped us from the first visit and she was AWESOME! we switched and it was a better beach, each room had a lake view, it was less expensive & the Wedding was amazing with the beach & hills in back ground. Everyone in the group wants to return next year! Thank you for making our special day the BEST! Kevin & Barbara Aug 24th

Room Tip: The Condos are awesome and so are the rooms, you cant miss! This is the perfect spot for multi-fami...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We were fairly happy with the lodge and stayed in one of the hotel rooms. But our rating was high primarily because of the view....which was magnificent as well as the great staff. The private beach was fantastic too, clean, and very convenient. The lodge itself though is in definite need of a facelift. There was just one too many "if only"s to make it a five star experience. The Hugh wooden beds were comfortable but were way too large for the size of the room; we could barely walk freely. The door locks were old and flimsy, the outdoor seating cushions were too flat, the office was not open 24/7 as most hotels, there was no continental breakfast, and our bathroom was so small a 6 footer would have a tough time maneuvering in there. Also, the bathroom light stopped working after just one day.

However, given the above nuisances, the experience was all about location, location, location...and this place had it. Having a private balcony overlooking the lake was heaven.
There were also wonderful restaurants within walking distance, as well as the Ferry, and the CVS was a real convenience. We plan to visit again but book one of the condos instead.

Room Tip: if you are more than two people, get a condo unit, on the second floor......you wont feel cramped an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vic B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TahoeLakeshore, Manager at Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Believe me, we have many “what if we could do this” items too! We do however; continually have a few projects each year to improve our product and guest experience. Some things unfortunately we cannot change such as the size of the bathrooms. Most folks really enjoy the rustic log furnishings as they add to the mountain lodge feel that you don’t get at most hotels. We do have a wonderful variety of accommodation with something to suite everyone from a Singe Queen Kitchen or Queen/Corner Suite up to a 2 Bedroom Condominium. All have a fabulous lake view to boot! Thank you for your comments and we look forward to assisting you with your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Our first visit to the area. Booked based on TA reviews and were not disappointed. Even though we had looked at the hotel website we were still amazed at just how near the lake we were.
We opted for a corner panoramic view room (215) and WOW what a view it was. The website says that all room types are not listed. Seeing that I called and the kind lady suggested this setup . We were totally satisfied.
Pool and hot tub are outdoor and right off the beach. We spent part of an afternoon there. Just great. We were lucky to have super weather.
The hotel is not new. It is , however, well maintained and very clean. Our room was large by any standards and even had a full kitchen.
Staff all kind and helpful. We asked the lady when we checked in about a little mexican restaurant ( La Promesa ) in the strip mall in front. Acting on her recommendation we got carryout and ate on our balcony. Great food and atmosphere.
If we ever return to the area we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Call to get a full rundown of room types.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank macndave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TahoeLakeshore, Owner at Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
We really appreciate your feedback and we're so glad you enjoyed your stay here at Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I stayed in a corner room, but it was so beautiful and clean. The front desk staff were very helpful and friendly. I loved my view- it was breathtaking, and every room has an amazing view. I really enjoyed the pool/hot tub area too- I think it was a salt water pool, as it did not smell like chlorine at all! I loved my room and the lounge area was also very nice. I will totally recommend Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa to anyone coming to Tahoe and plan to come back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melody I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TahoeLakeshore, Manager at Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. We do not have a saline pool but do pride ourselves on haveing a pristine and well balanced pool. Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

First (but not last) stay at the Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge. Reviewers are correct with the initial "curb appeal" of the property behind the CVS (which was handy by the way), and made the property pretty easy to find on the Blvd. But once you check in with the helpful front desk staff and arrive in your room, you will be very pleased! The rooms have awesome views of the lake and surrounding mountains, are large and clean and have nice, big patios.
All withing walking distance are Heidi's (for a great breakfast) and Tep's across the street for great Italian fare.
We really enjoyed our stay and will return.

Room Tip: If you have room 205, ask if they have fixed the front door lock. It's a challenge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AtDogBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TahoeLakeshore, Manager at Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We take our reviews seriously and want to let you know we have replaced the lock on that room along with several others. We look forward to your next stay as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed in the one bedroom condominium which is located on the ground floor. Did have a lakeview. The rooms are very dated and could use some upgrading. It is not what we expected for the price we paid. The kitchen had basic items. We walked around in our socks and they were quite dirty. The size of the bedroom was more suited for a Queen bed as opposed to the King bed which it contained. You had to be careful when you moved around that you did not bang your knees into the footboard as the space was tight.
Would recommend doing a cruise on Lake Tahoe if you have the time. If you are in to casinos there are a few across the border in Nevada which is a few minutes away.
There is a Safeway grocery store about 2 blocks away. Recommend you obtain a Safeway card at the store to get the discounted items in the store. It is worth the 2 minutes it takes to complete the application.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jandahender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TahoeLakeshore, Manager at Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
We are sorry to hear that your experience was less than expected. I was surprised to hear that the room was dated as the condo you were in was just recently renovated about a year ago. We hope you did still enjoy your stay in Tahoe and will come back again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.1 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
883 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
831 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
454 reviews
0.7 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
394 reviews
1.3 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa

Property: Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
Address: 930 Balbijou Rd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8919
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#8 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#9 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#11 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge & Spa, South Shore’s only all lakefront property, offering hotel and condominium lodging all with an incredible lake view and cozy fireplace. Pamper yourself in our full service day spa or relax by our heated pool and hot tub. Centrally located to area activities, restaurants, casinos and sitting on 500 feet of private beach, you’ll receive a true Tahoe experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tahoe Lakeshore Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Lakeshore Hotel Lake Tahoe
Lakeshore Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing