We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great View From A Very Poor Facility!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
Ranked #19 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Chino Hills, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Great View From A Very Poor Facility!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

This lodge is HIGHLY overpriced for the accommodations. While they are on a wonderful site, directly lakefront, the rooms have NO air conditioning. Our room had old dirty windows that did not open easily, and some had no screens on them, allowing bugs to come in the room. We could not enjoy the view of the lake as our balcony was infested with bees. While the rooms have had minor improvements with paint and carpet - the sinks are old, stained and cracked. The exterior hallways have wood rot and uneven surfaces to walk on. If you stay on a Sunday night, be prepared to get woke up by the trash trucks at 5:30 a.m. due to the facility being in the back of a strip mall. Highly overpriced for what you get. We canceled our stay after one night and moved over to the beautiful "truly" rennovated large rooms all with two seperate bathrooms at Harrah's for 1/4 the cost!!!!! The lodge did give us a partial credit when requested and they were apologetic and receptive to our complaints.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ConnorsGrandma1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TahoeLakeshore, Manager at Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
We realize that hotel properties do take maintenance and care and we try to work on 2 or 3 projects a year. Due to Tahoe weather and busy seasons we only have a short window each year to work on major projects. We are in the process of addressing some of the items that you have mentioned. We have done about $400,000 in improvements over the past 2 years and will continue doing projects as we can. We pride ourselves in helping our guests achieve a true Tahoe experience but realize we do not always appeal to everyone. We hope you enjoyed your time in Tahoe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    155
    58
    20
    17
See reviews for
144
215
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

We found this place on Tripadvisor and tried to book two rooms. No luck. Tried two other sites. No luck. Emailed the Lodge and they had rooms that were perfect for us! So was the experience. Yes, we stepped out of both rooms onto the sand and could wake in the morning to views of Lake Tahoe. Honestly, what else could you ask for? Ok, so a Downside. Goose poo. Had to watch where you walk on the sand and wonder about the sand the grandkids are burying themselves in. still wondering. Okay, get beyond that wrinkle. The pool was great, hot tub very helpful as temps start cooling off. Staff the best ever. Really. Josh and Robert actually interested in specific needs and situations. Flexible above and beyond. rooms were way beyond our needs! Full kitchens! Spacious. Well furnished. I can see them in the winter and in the warm weather.

I love Tahoe. It is the most beautiful place ever winter or summer. South is more commercial but there are other options. We--two grandgirls and their dad and we the grandparents--had a ball and this lodge and the staff made it all work. Loved it!


Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Passportalwaysready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutter Creek, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

Booking online without actually being there is always scary! But, at first arrival to the Lodge, we quickly realized it was amazing and it only got more amazing as we entered the main desk area(excellent service), opened the door to our room(super clean and adorable) and then finally stepping outside our porch area.....absolutely breathtaking! You will not be disappointed:)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sabravacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, CA
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

PROS: Location, Location, Location - this place has it. A bit off the busy 50 and Directly on the beach - unobstructed views - really great way to start and end the day. Very comfy bed and pillows - but nothing posh about the sheets or bed cover. Easy 5 min drive to NV or to great Lakes Basin trail heads. Walking distance to Safeway and a couple restaurants, Heidi's just outside the front door - a breakfast must. Did I mention the views? We stayed in a queen/kitchen room in the main lodge - good sized room and kitchen had the necessary pots/dishes etc. to make meals to be enjoyed on our private patio (small patio, but big enough for two). The pool area was nice - didn't try out the hot tub, smelled a bit over chlorinated, but that's expected I suppose. The condos looked like they'd be sweet... Also did not try out the sauna or spa options but they are available. The staff was friendly and helpful - liked Jason a lot - he gave us great trail info.

CONS: A bit dated - old appliances, fixtures, carpet, etc...gives the place an almost run-down feeling -but everything was clean, no funky smell, so no complaints. Really, really small, dark bathroom - there will be no luxurious bathing here, but the towels were fluffy : ) They provide shampoo/conditioner/moisturizer - but they are low quality. Geese and road construction disturbed our sleep - naturally the lodge can't be held accountable, but you may want to inquire about the construction...they start work around 4 a.m. : ( I recommend a room on the top floor / ours was / and we laughed about how loud the floor boards were - tho I'm sure the downstairs neighbors found it far less humorous.

Overall: No frills but the basic comforts are provided. We'd return for the location and value for the $.

Room Tip: Ask for something on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hindsight_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahoghill northern ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

We booked a condo for six nights at the beginning of August. The views were stunning and the condo excellent. It was all we could possibly have wished for. It was also serviced daily and staff were friendly. We would definitely return and stay here again some time. A truly beautiful location enjoyed in comfort.

Room Tip: Condos give space and flexibility
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Hi- this was my first time staying here- it had been referred to me by my secretary and I wanted to take my younger sister who is a 3x survivor from cancer somewhere special that would make lasting memories. I was so happy with the room looking out over the lake and the friendliness of the staff and housekeepers. The music on the shore by Martin and Vargus was the frosting on the cake- what a beautiful way to end the evening. Thank you for the memories.... Jonette Newmeyer

Room Tip: I liked all the rooms since they all have a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonette n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

A giant thank you to Shanna at the front desk, and managers Stacy and Laura, for being so helpful during our stay. They kindly "moved a mountain" to accommodate our room request, even though their policy is that room requests are never guaranteed. This was our second stay at this hotel, and we certainly plan to return again and again. Our room was nicely renovated, but I do agree with other reviewers that the building/facilities could use some maintenance. The location and friendly staff can't be beat!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank budee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.2 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#14 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
0.5 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Landing Resort & Spa
The Landing Resort & Spa
#2 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa

Property: Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
Address: 930 Balbijou Rd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8919
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#8 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#9 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#11 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge & Spa, South Shore’s only all lakefront property, offering hotel and condominium lodging all with an incredible lake view and cozy fireplace. Pamper yourself in our full service day spa or relax by our heated pool and hot tub. Centrally located to area activities, restaurants, casinos and sitting on 500 feet of private beach, you’ll receive a true Tahoe experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tahoe Lakeshore Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Lakeshore Hotel Lake Tahoe
Lakeshore Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing