We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You have to stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
Ranked #18 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Diamond Springs, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You have to stay here!”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

This is not the newest, biggest or easiest to find, but it is the best place to stay if you want awesome views of the lake and a quiet experience. This was our third visit & we will absolutely be going back. Would not think of staying anywhere else. All of the rooms have lake views so there is no way to lose. The furnishings are great, the rooms are clean, the staff is helpful and friendly. If you need to relax more than the pool, jacuzzi and perfect beach will allow, there is a full service Spa available right at the hotel. It is easy to get to the casinos if that is your pleasure, but the hotel is off of the main highway so traffic noise is not a factor. Sit on your porch or balcony and enjoy the beautiful vista of lake, mountains, sky.... just stay here.

Room Tip: In my 3 visits I have had 3 different rooms and all were great. They have many options so just chec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    164
    60
    21
    17
See reviews for
146
230
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed June 11, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here the second weekend of June, it was amazing. The views from the hotel room can't be beat. There's nothing better then waking up and seeing the big beautiful Lake right from your room. The hotel staff were incredibly friendly and gave us a bottle of wine and chocolates upon checking in. This was probably one of my all-time favorite places I've ever stayed and it made our trip to Tahoe that much more special.

Location: Perfect. The hotel itself is right on the lake. It's in the same parking lot as a CVS which was convenient on more than one occasion. It is also right near all of the great restaurants, bars, casinos and hikes.

Activities: Perfect. The hotel itself has a heated pool and hot tub. I got a 30 minute massage at the spa on the second floor of the lodge. It was great and well worth the $45. There are a ton of cruises that go out on the lake. We did the Catamaran at Zephyr Cove (5 mi away). It was $40/person, depending on what time you go out. They offer morning, afternoon, happy hour and sunset. For hikes, we HIGHLY recommend checking out Emerald Bay. It's a touristy spot, but you would be missing out on one of the prettiest drives, views and hikes in all of Lake Tahoe if you didn't go. We parked our car and hiked down to Vikingsholm which was a nice hike, very moderate, but beautiful.

Food/Drinks: Perfect. We walked to Heidi's for breakfast, voted Best Breakfast 6 years in a row. I highly recommend stopping by the Red Poet winery in the main shop section. The owners there are so friendly and their wine is fabulous. We really liked the 2005 Syrah and Red Fusion. We also stopped by the Brewery, but the service is lacking and the beers aren't all that great. If you are looking for a fun beach bar, head to the Beacon right up the street in Camp Richardson. They have live music and are known for their Rum Runners. For a nice dinner we tried the Fresh Ketch which is in the yacht club in Tahoe Keys (4 mi away). It had pretty views, but my fish tacos weren't nearly as good as ones I've had before. The price is fair, but I'm not sure I'd go back as I wasn't that impressed.

Room Tip: Get the 3rd floor as it has the best views of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessicalynne_703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
354 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

very good lake view from our room, with a balcony and you can exit right onto the beach. the room is clean and small but the noise from above and beside is clearly audible. quiet by 11 pm so sleep quality is good. Wireless internet was available and not a problem to use, and the front desk was really friendly.

Room Tip: if you ask to be on the upper level it may be quieter but then you can't be right on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gitta45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Spectacular view of the lake and mountains right from your bed!!! Stayed in a room with 2 queen bed and kitchen and it was great! We didn't venture out much but were close to plenty of restaurants and a supermarket and pharmacy. Would definitely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GJ91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We were surprised by the true waterfront situe of this modestly priced hotel. The whole weekend we kept the drapes open and watched the water. Sat on the balcony with some wine and cheese and laughed at crazy people and small children jumping into the cold water (it was in the 60's by day, 30's by night when we were there). Canadian geese were hanging out and proved quite entertaining as well.
The hotel room was clean, with a pine lodge theme. The gas stove kept the whole room toasty warm besides being a charming addition to the decor. This is not a luxury spot and though it means not all the updates have been made yet, the price certainly reflects this. The staff was very pleasant. We had the bathroom lightbulb burn out while we were there and it was replaced within minutes of calling the front desk. The spa has very reasonable prices for massages (I really don't have a comparison for anything else) which are further discounted for guests of the hotel!
We are not Tahoe regulars, but I would definitely stay here again if we go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank j c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Salt Lake, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Thank you Groupon! If not, we may have missed this charming gem. Very friendly and helpful staff. Clean, basic rooms but you cannot beat the views of the lake. Our balcony looked directly upon the private beach and shore. We didn't get the opportunity to enjoy the spa, but it was right below our room and smelled heavenly. Very quiet and relaxing. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a lakeside balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheyb1129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

As noted by other reviewers, don't be put off by the exterior of the building. This hidden gem was just right for our skiing vacation. Located right on the beach, the view from the outdoor hot tub was wonderful. The rooms are rustic, comfortable, and clean, although our bath could have used a remodeling. Location couldn't be beat, especially for the price. We could walk to several restaurants, grocery, and were minutes away from Heavenly. Although located right in the middle of town, we felt like we were in a more secluded location. Staff is outstanding--very helpful and friendly. Their restaurant recommendations were spot on, especially for the Blue Angel Cafe. A modest continental breakfast is included--breakfast rolls, fruit, and beverages, which we found adequate. If someone wants something more substantial, good options are within walking distance. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tortuga_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.1 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#12 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
939 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
881 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
459 reviews
1.3 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,072 reviews
0.7 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa

Property: Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
Address: 930 Balbijou Rd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8919
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#8 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#9 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#11 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge & Spa, South Shore’s only all lakefront property, offering hotel and condominium lodging all with an incredible lake view and cozy fireplace. Pamper yourself in our full service day spa or relax by our heated pool and hot tub. Centrally located to area activities, restaurants, casinos and sitting on 500 feet of private beach, you’ll receive a true Tahoe experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tahoe Lakeshore Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Lakeshore Hotel Lake Tahoe
Lakeshore Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing