We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for the money.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bluelake Inn at Tahoe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Ranked #31 of 72 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Sunol, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice place for the money.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

My husband and I chose Tahoe for our destination for our anniversary and his birthday trip. We booked at The Blue Lake Inn based on the location and reviews. We used to go to tahoe all the time and know that, with the exception of some of the new, highly priced resort type hotels, all of the older motels are "slighly" outdated and have the motel 6 feel to them. This hotel is no different. When we arrived we were asked if we wanted to upgrade to the suite with the jaccuzzi tub and fireplace. We were so glas we did! That was perfect. It was pretty empty because of the time we went(late September) The rooms all have small fridge and microwave. We brought our ice chest with food and saved a lot on money. The rooms are within walking distance of EVERYTHING! We could walk to Raley's(supermarket), the gondola, the beach and the casino with no issues! Even a child could make it! Don't expect much for the coninental breakfast. Donuts, oatmeal apples and Coffee. Would definately go back!

Room Tip: Book online and if you go during off season see if you can upgrade to a jacuzzi room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shewinders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolnov, Guest Relations Manager at Bluelake Inn at Tahoe, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We are located in the center of all things fun in Tahoe, which makes it very convienient for our guests. It is especially important now with skiing season approaching. Heavenly ski resort is just a block away and you can walk there in your skiing boots in 3 minutes. No hassle with parking and no fees for parking at the ski resort! We are economy hotel but we really focus on providing value for your money. Our breakfast is very simple but we thought it would just a nice start of your day. Thank you so much for staying with us. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    76
    51
    17
    11
See reviews for
57
63
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

me and my wife arrived at tahoe and didnt have a place to sleep because of the marathon, when we pulled up to blue lake inn, and spoke to Don, Mgr. we knew we were in good hands, he took his time off late at nite to show us the room, the rooms have inside bath tubs which work great, fire place, king bed 2 tvs big spacies room and all in affordable price. guys always come here you will be taken care off. we loved it , it was a delightfull experience and all thanks to Don. thank you Don!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank krowka88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolnov, Guest Relations Manager at Bluelake Inn at Tahoe, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. Indeed you can always count on super deals with us.We want to be affordable so that everybody can experience the beauty of Lake Tahoe. Our rooms are simple but comfortable, we are in center of Tahoe activities and we always offer warm welcome to our guests. We hope to see you again soon. Check with us for the latest bargain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We randomly chose this motel from several in the area. We were delighted with the price, and the location. The free access to the private beach was great, the rooms were fine (nothing special) and the staff were friendly.

The breakfast consisted of coffee and donuts. Again, these were fine but nothing special.

The best thing is really the price, it really was a bargain.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjy365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I have stayed here 3 times (June 2011, Sept 2011 and Sept 2012) all 3 visits have been very nice. The rooms are on the plain side, but comfortable. They offer a continental breakfast every morning but there isn't much to choose from. If you don't want to hang at the pool, they have access to a private beach about 3 blocks away. They are also within walking distance of the casinos and Heavenly Village Gondola & shopping. Staff is friendly and helpful. Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherT2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

I've stayed here about 5 times in both summer and winter and think it is outstanding value. In winter you are one block from the gondola and in summer three blocks from the beach (they give you a free pass as it is a private beach) People are super-nice. The rooms are pretty basic, but clean and spacious. It's not 4-stars like a Westin but rated high for value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JWW660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Stayed here early August

This place has a good location
Close to Stateline and free access to a private beach

Issues: This place is very dated, Continental breakfast was very limited with coffee, oatmeal, and year old donuts

Trash dumpsters overflowing, hot tub not working.

Like said before you will not stay long in your room and about 70 % clean.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed at Blue Lake Inn for 2 nights at the end of July while on a two week road trip out west. When we checked in, the older man at the desk was very friendly and helpful, and gave us a pass to get on the beach for free. At breakfast in the morning, the female staff was just tolerant of us, not friendly at all. The rooms seemed clean and the beds were comfortable, but the rooms were in need of some updating. I loved that the hotel is so close to shopping at the Heavenly Village.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank scheidtra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#35 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 stars 217 reviews
1.2 mi away
Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe
Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe
#42 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 stars 348 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Trailhead
The Trailhead
#48 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 stars 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe
Big Pines Mountain House of Taho...
#26 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 stars 387 reviews
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Casino Center Lake Tahoe
Americas Best Value Inn - Casino...
#29 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 stars 273 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alpine Inn & Spa
Alpine Inn & Spa
#40 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 stars 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluelake Inn at Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluelake Inn at Tahoe

Property: Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Address: 944 Friday Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bluelake Inn at Tahoe 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Bluelake Inn at Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue Lake Inn @ Heavenly Village Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Blue Lake Tahoe
South Lake Tahoe Blue Lake Inn
Lake Tahoe Blue Lake Inn
Blue Lake Inn Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing