We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Blue Lake Inn Reveiw”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Ranked #28 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Blue Lake Inn Reveiw”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Stayed here early August

This place has a good location
Close to Stateline and free access to a private beach

Issues: This place is very dated, Continental breakfast was very limited with coffee, oatmeal, and year old donuts

Trash dumpsters overflowing, hot tub not working.

Like said before you will not stay long in your room and about 70 % clean.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    84
    57
    20
    12
See reviews for
62
74
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed at Blue Lake Inn for 2 nights at the end of July while on a two week road trip out west. When we checked in, the older man at the desk was very friendly and helpful, and gave us a pass to get on the beach for free. At breakfast in the morning, the female staff was just tolerant of us, not friendly at all. The rooms seemed clean and the beds were comfortable, but the rooms were in need of some updating. I loved that the hotel is so close to shopping at the Heavenly Village.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank scheidtra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here earlier this year. I guess you can say the best thing about the Blue Lake Inn is it's location- a lot of the attractions are within walking distance. Otherwise, the rooms are pretty basic, nothing special- very dated and I would say 75% clean. I liked that there was a mini-fridge. Also, there was a vanity and sink outside of the bathroom (as opposed to inside the bathroom).

Over all, we had a great time in SLT, but basically, you get what you pay for at the Blue Lake Inn. We stayed on the second floor in the back of the hotel. The shower was if-y... It was clogged, so when I took a shower I was scared that the water was going to overflow onto the bathroom floor...

I would say, book here if you want to be close to everything, but don't expect to be spending most of your time in the room.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

This was our first stay in the South Lake Tahoe area, as we had a number of social events 4 days in a row. The main reason for the choice was location, 2nd was value. As Tahoe has been a destination for decades, many of the facilities around the lake are run down. There a number of exceptions, but the lake is surrounded by facilities way beyond their prime. South Lake has the highest concentration of crusty old motels, all stacked up on the California border. On the Nevada side, you have older casinos with their own issues, least of which is older rooms and, well the casino atmosphere.

That being said, the Blue Lake Inn, though in need of serious updating (worn out carpet, worn out sinks, etc), it was an interesting first experience. Consider as close to camping without having to pitch a tent. The staff was nice, the location was perfect, including free passes to a fee-based beach area with an excellent little lakeside restaurant, plenty of parking, walking distance to the concert facilities, numerous eating choices, supermarket, Edgewood (the celebrity ProAm was this weekend), and for skiers, a short walk to the gondola at Heavenly, and of course, a short walk to the beach...Lake Tahoe and spectacular views!

The value is here if you can look past the cheesy motel feel (you know, the kind you see on TV where if you're seen there, you must be doing something wrong?!!). Have a sense of humor and enjoy a vintage stay!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the far side of the inn, away from the main parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We were 2 adults and stayed here for 2 nights.The hotel is clean and has a very good location.
Staff was courteous,however breakfast was ok,not upto the mark.If they improve on that,the best place to stay at lake tahoe

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nandoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Great price, quiet, dog friendly even has dog treats at front desk. Needs updating but for the price it was clean and worked just great for us. Would definitely stay there again. Staff very nice and surprisingly good coffee in morning.

Room Tip: We were on the back side bottom floor - very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#31 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,038 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Becket
Hotel Becket
#27 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe
Big Pines Mountain House of Taho...
#24 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
446 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mark Twain Lodge
Mark Twain Lodge
#33 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paradice Motel
Paradice Motel
#26 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluelake Inn at Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluelake Inn at Tahoe

Property: Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Address: 944 Friday Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6925
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bluelake Inn at Tahoe 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bluelake Inn at Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue Lake Inn @ Heavenly Village Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Blue Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Blue Lake Inn
South Lake Tahoe Blue Lake Inn
Blue Lake Inn Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing