We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Nearby Hotels
Americana Village(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
$139
Americana Tahoe
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Azure(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
$177
$157
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
$199
$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
$156
$104
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
$151
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Landing Resort & Spa(South Lake Tahoe)
$459
Official Website
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (242)
Filter reviews
242 results
Traveler rating
45
101
61
22
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
45
101
61
22
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationoatmealheavenly gondoladog areaexcellent ratewithin walking distancean overnight stayheavenly villagefree breakfastthe main dragpool spahot tubfresh fruitprivate beachcan't beat the locationlarge roomcasino hotels
Filter
Updating list...
129 - 134 of 242 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Clean rooms very close to ski lift in town, walking distance to casinos, great value, includes contintental breakfast. Would recommend to friends and I would stay there again.
J Floyd - Ontario, Canada

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jef F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

We are skiers (40-100 folks) from a Portland, Oregon (Bergfreunde.org). 600 member activities club, with variety beyond skiing. I have stayed at the Blue Lake Inn for about 7 years (Sunday thru Friday) at Tahoe South Shore because B.L.Inn is a decent motel, well-located, and great “bang-for-the-buck”.
We carpool from Portland and travel to many DH/XC ski areas around the lake.
They are PROMPT, COURTEOUS, and work to please and keep us returning. Sure, Blue Lake Inn isn’t a swanky condo, but the rooms are safe, spacious, with a tub/shower and nice, firm beds. The complex is well lit, house keeping is great and the front desk EASILY fulfills our after-hour needs.
As a big group we use a suite room with one of the beds removed for our daily happy hours, plan dinner spots, and next day carpools. (Our loudest snorer sleeps in the adjoining room.) When it REALLY snows, the lots and sidewalks are plowed/shoveled fast and frequently! A BIG plus is when the roads or ski areas are closed from blizzards, there are shops/movie theater across the street at Heavenly… You’ll look hard to find a better deal with the same service, location, and good attitude.

Room Tip: 2nd floor has no one stomping above you.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kinman762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolnov, Public Relations Manager at Bluelake Inn at Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2012

We are always so happy to have your group back at Blue Lake Inn. We are devoted to serving our guests and we always do our best to accommodate their needs. We hope that you can also visit us sometime in summer. We are pretty sure water skiing would be an activity for your ski club' members ;-) Thank you so much for staing with us and thank you for taking your time for writing this generous review. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

I am a group leader for a ski and activities club in Portland, Oregon. For the last 22 years I have been leading a downhill and cross country ski trip to South Lake Tahoe. We’ve either stayed at a lot of motels on the California side over the years, or have checked them out for future use. For about the last 14 years we have found the Blue Lake Inn to be the best motel to fit our needs.

Here’s a list of why (not in order):

Location. It’s the closest value motel to the Heavenly Gondola. It’s also only a 7 minute walk to the casinos.
Clean rooms.
Good, firm mattresses.
There’s a microwave, coffee pot and refrigerator in each room. This is unique.
Good service from the staff.

An example of the service - Don, the manager, brought in his staff an hour early every day to open the breakfast room, allowing us to get an earlier start.

The property itself was probably built in the ‘60s, like almost all of the motels on the California side. It is a little tired. But, so are all the other properties. I would say that the Bluelake is in better shape than most of the others. They do periodically remodel the rooms.

Room Tip: I stay on the 2nd floor. You don't hear anybody walking above you.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inkjetman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

the hotel was a very clean place to stay. the management people were very helpful on telling us how to get around and the best places to eat.the location of this hotel could not be any better you wont have drive once you get there.again this place was a great place to stay and the price was wright

Room Tip: 1 st floor
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shirley c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolnov, Public Relations Manager at Bluelake Inn at Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2012

Thank you so much for you nice review. We are always here to help our customers to plan their vacations so they are simply fun. We know where to go, eat and shop and we are happy to share Tahoe's secrets with you! We make sure that your stay with us is comortable and you do not miss a thing from great Tahoe adventure! Come visit us again soon! We welcome our returning customers with special offers - just because we are so happy to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Stayed at the Blue Lake Inn March 1, 2012 to ski Heavenly. The location is terrific. You are literally closer to the gondola lift than if you drive there and park. Also only about 3 blocks from the casinos.
The rooms are very basic. The furniture/tv is old and not the most attractive, but we just wanted a good value, clean room which is what we received. Shower was clean with plenty of hot water. Beds clean and comfortable.
The guy at the front desk was very helpful and friendly. He was able to switch us to a room different from what we reserved, which suited our needs better.
I recommend the Blue Lake Inn to anyone who wants a cheap, clean room. If you are looking for something beyond basic lodging, you should check out other options.

Room Tip: they have a room available which has 2 king beds and 2 baths, in seperate rooms (door divides). It was not that much more and was really nice to have separate rooms.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoneyBrookMhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolnov, Public Relations Manager at Bluelake Inn at Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2012

Thank you very much for your review. We are very happy that your stay at Blue Lake was pleasant. We are indeed inexpensive hotel with great locations catering for all travelers looking for a great value. Our rooms are basic but clean. We provide free continental breakfast and free wi-fi. We believe that Tahoe is all about activities, sport and Nature! We make sure that your sleep is comfortable so you have the energy to experience great outdoor adventurure South Lake Tahoe offers! We are looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews