We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Ranked #23 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Reviewed March 8, 2012

the hotel was a very clean place to stay. the management people were very helpful on telling us how to get around and the best places to eat.the location of this hotel could not be any better you wont have drive once you get there.again this place was a great place to stay and the price was wright

Room Tip: 1 st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shirley c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolnov, Public Relations Manager at Bluelake Inn at Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2012

Thank you so much for you nice review. We are always here to help our customers to plan their vacations so they are simply fun. We know where to go, eat and shop and we are happy to share Tahoe's secrets with you! We make sure that your stay with us is comortable and you do not miss a thing from great Tahoe adventure! Come visit us again soon! We welcome our returning customers with special offers - just because we are so happy to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (234)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 234 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2012

Stayed at the Blue Lake Inn March 1, 2012 to ski Heavenly. The location is terrific. You are literally closer to the gondola lift than if you drive there and park. Also only about 3 blocks from the casinos.
The rooms are very basic. The furniture/tv is old and not the most attractive, but we just wanted a good value, clean room which is what we received. Shower was clean with plenty of hot water. Beds clean and comfortable.
The guy at the front desk was very helpful and friendly. He was able to switch us to a room different from what we reserved, which suited our needs better.
I recommend the Blue Lake Inn to anyone who wants a cheap, clean room. If you are looking for something beyond basic lodging, you should check out other options.

Room Tip: they have a room available which has 2 king beds and 2 baths, in seperate rooms (door divides). It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoneyBrookMhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolnov, Public Relations Manager at Bluelake Inn at Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2012

Thank you very much for your review. We are very happy that your stay at Blue Lake was pleasant. We are indeed inexpensive hotel with great locations catering for all travelers looking for a great value. Our rooms are basic but clean. We provide free continental breakfast and free wi-fi. We believe that Tahoe is all about activities, sport and Nature! We make sure that your sleep is comfortable so you have the energy to experience great outdoor adventurure South Lake Tahoe offers! We are looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

We decided to make a last minute trip to Tahoe last weekend and to bring the dogs with us. I found Blue Lake Inn via yelp as being dog friendly. So we decided to give it a try. They charged us $20/night extra for the 2 dogs. So approx $90/night total.

Overall the motel is in good shape. They just started taking pets a few months ago and there are pet only rooms at the rear of the motel. The room was clean and simple. The beds are hard as a rock! There is a lot of lighting to the exterior so it does come through the drapes. The heater worked well and was not obnoxiously loud. The carpets were clean and I was told by the desk they deep clean them after each stay.

Overall decent stay, especially for the price. I would have rated higher if the mattresses were more comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stewart040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolnov, Public Relations Manager at Bluelake Inn at Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2012

Thank you very much for your review. Yes, we have just started taking pets and we hope that it will encourage pet owners to visit us. Afterall it is so much fun to explore the beauty of Tahoe together with our furry friends. We have only limited pet friendly rooms so there should be no concerns for those who might be allergic to pet hair. We assigned a pet relief area on the back property, where you can actually walk your dog. That cannot be said about a lot of Tahoe pet friendly motels. Economically challenging times have limited our resources but we have always tried to improve our amenities. We have already changed some of our matresses and we are working on completing the project. I hope that you will visit us soon again. We always offer the best value for your money.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

The rooms aren't anything spectacular, but I love the sitting area outside where you can BBQ and just lounge around. Its a very relaxing place to stay. An easy walk to the Lake, the shops and restaurants of the Ca side, and the casinos of the NV side of Tahoe. You couldn't ask for anything better location wise, unless you want to be right on the beach. For a low budget vacation, I really like staying Blue Lake Inn.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nifferlynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolnov, Guest Relations Manager at Bluelake Inn at Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2012

Thank you very much for the review and for staying with us. Simple and relaxing - this is what we believe your Tahoe getaway should be. We hope to see you again soon since Lake Tahoe is such a fun place to visit. For latest updates about our property as well as our new promotions I encourage you to check our facebook page. Please remember about loyalty program for our repeat customers. Thank You!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Can't beat the location here - 3 minutes walking to Heavenly gondola. My friend and I just walked out with our ski boots on and didn't have to even rent a locker. So easy. The amenities are few but the basics are there - hot shower, firm bed, basic toiletries, very simple breakfast (instant oatmeal, donus, apples, coffee.) Steps to restuarants, bars, Harrah's. This is for you if you value ski in/ski out, not for you if you are going to be in the hotel all day or you need luxury.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nc1701d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolnov, Guest Relations Manager at Bluelake Inn at Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2012

Thank you very much for your review. Our location is indeed unbeatable, just a short walking distance to major attractions. We are two-star hotel but we make sure that your stay with us is comfortable and enjoyable. We provide continental breakfast, free wi-fi, compact fridges, microwaves in all rooms. And after a busy day on the slope, you can relax in our hot tub. We hope you will come back soon since it seems that winter is just beginning in Lake Tahoe and skiing will only get better

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

I went with my team just a little while ago and completely hated it, their site said free tv got there and the thing was missing the power button, free continental breakfast consited of coffee and donuts(about the quality you'd get at a 7-11), when i got in the shower there after a 4 hour hike ready to relax brown water came out of the spout!!!! and just over all the same typical rude service i get every year on my teams retreat to Tahoe

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cody_m_v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Great room for the price. A/C worked good, clean room, little coffee maker in room, super cold refrig., hot shower, hair dryer in room. Walking distance to Stateline activities, and gondolas. We made a reservation the day before travel for 2 rooms, and then for another room. They made accomadations for all 3 to be very close together after finding out we were together.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jscotthuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.1 mi away
Avalon Lodge
Avalon Lodge
#47 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
186 reviews
1.4 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#10 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,131 reviews
0.5 mi away
Americana Village
Americana Village
#6 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,167 reviews
0.8 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
517 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#32 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluelake Inn at Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluelake Inn at Tahoe

Address: 944 Friday Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6925
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: $54 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bluelake Inn at Tahoe 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Bluelake Inn at Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue Lake Inn @ Heavenly Village Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Blue Lake Tahoe
South Lake Tahoe Blue Lake Inn
Lake Tahoe Blue Lake Inn
Blue Lake Inn Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing