We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nasty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Inn South Lake Tahoe
Ranked #53 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nasty”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

this place is old and dated. outside looks ok. i found a dark squiggly hair in my bed. not cool. much better budget hotels in the area. pony up for something a little nicer. there was nothing nice about this place. i can't emphasize this enough. go stay at a casino and enjoy yourself. this place will leave you i a foul mood and ruin your trip.

Room Tip: dont stay here. period
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayD_GM, General Manager at Days Inn South Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thomas,
Thank you for reaching out to us via Trip Advisor. We Sincerely appreciate your feedback and we're very sorry you were unhappy with our guest rooms. We seem to have dropped the ball in a few different areas, and for this I sincerely apologize. I will be using your comments to help us improve in these areas. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we have addressed each of the issues you mentioned. We try to make each guest experience a great one at our hotel and I am so sorry that we failed on this occasion. Please accept our sincere apologies We have shared your experience with our team in an effort to prevent any similar issues in the future and welcome you to stay with us again the next time you are in town so we may show you the complete quality hospitality you expect and deserve.
Sincerely,
Jay D
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    88
    93
    73
    73
See reviews for
124
134
54
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Our room was filthy. When we complained the next morning and showed the owner/manager pictures of our room,he insulted us by acting surprised.. To top it off,he has in a letter as well as 2 phone calls,tried to make this our fault because we did not complain sooner. Let me be clear that we were not looking for a refund or discount..nor did we ask for either. My goal by posting our review and pictures is to keep others from being taken advantage of..and hopes of saving others from the hassle of having to complain,switch rooms..etc...at the end of a long day traveling. The owners/managers are well aware of the rooms in their inventory and they knew exactly what they were doing when they placed us in that room. We used a coupon saver coupon and they placed us in the least desirable room available no doubt!. To make this anything but their fault is shameful. To try and blame a customer for not complaining sooner,rather than offering clean,comfortable rooms..is again..shameful!! I would also like to ask the owner to pls stop calling our home and to pls stop sending us letters, candidly blaming us for this situation. And, no, We are not interested in your 10% off peace offering,...again..insulting! The fact that you think this has anything to do with $$ or discounts says so much about how you are handling this. Beware Tahoe travelers ...this hotel was truly filthy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayD_GM, General Manager at Days Inn South Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Kathleen831,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Days Inn South Lake Tahoe. Please allow me to apologize for the inconsistent service you received from our front desk. As the most important point of contact with the hotel, our front desk usually provides excellent service to our valued guests.
We usually have very clean rooms. Please know this is not the service excellence the Days Inn South Lake Tahoe normally provides our guests. We are under new management and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again.

Warm Regards,
Jay D
General Manager
Days Inn Lake Tahoe Ski Resort / Golf Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Lake Tahoe hotels

Fremont, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2013

It would say it is just ok kind of rooms and it is kind of average hotel. I like location which is convenient for shops/markets etc. Rooms have average interior and poor exterior of hotel. Staff is friendly. Overall it was an average experience

Room Tip: Rooms are OK Exterior of hotel is poor Location is convenient
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ganesh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayD_GM, General Manager at Days Inn South Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Ganesh N

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Yes, like you said, our hotel is in a very good location. We are located near the lake and are only a short walk away from beach, and dining. We are a short drive from gondolas and cruises. We also have different rooms according to preference. We hope that you will consider our hotel for your next stay in our area.

Warmest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We have stayed at other days inns and were very happy, this one was awful we had booked for 3 nights and stayed one. The steps going up to our room were worn wood with nails sticking up. The carpet was so dirty you couldn't make out the pattern. The drapes had holes, the sheets and spread did not look fresh and the sheets were not even tucked in. There were no liners in the waste baskets or the ice bucket, and there was even water in the bottom of the ice bucket. The people next door sounded like they were in the same room with us. all in all we were happy we could book someplace else.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Bill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayD_GM, General Manager at Days Inn South Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your feedback and are sorry to hear you were disappointed in the comfort and appointment of your guestroom. We will take your comments under consideration as we work to improve our guest experience moving forward and hope you will come visit us in the future so we may better demonstrate our commitment to your satisfaction.

Thank You
Jay D
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Lake Tahoe
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe
Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe
#57 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.0 mi away
Budget Inn South Lake Tahoe
Budget Inn South Lake Tahoe
#73 of 119 in Lake Tahoe (California)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Area
Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Are...
#52 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#34 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.9 mi away
No photo provided
National 9 Inn - South Lake Taho...
#46 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn South Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn South Lake Tahoe

Property: Days Inn South Lake Tahoe
Address: 3530 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8900
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn South Lake Tahoe 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn South Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Lake Tahoe Ski Resort / Golf Area Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing