We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very Disappointed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Days Inn South Lake Tahoe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Days Inn South Lake Tahoe
Ranked #50 of 68 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    84
    89
    66
    65
See reviews for
115
126
48
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Came to Tahoe for a few days and needed a place to stay the first night. We had a room with two queen beds. Here are the issues I had with the hotel:

- Lights between the beds did not work. Had to call front desk. They came by and told me the lights where unplugged. Shouldn't the crew check the rooms out while cleaning to make sure everything is working?
- You know those nasty hotel/motel bed covers? Ours were nasty dirty, with "usage" spots on the underside. These things MUST be replaces as soon as there are visible spotting.
- Blankets that we used to cover ourselves had holes.
- Around 2am we were woken by loud talking and laughter coming from somewhere in the hotel courtyard. I called front desk twice so I could request the staff to remind the loud folks that it was middle of the night. Both times I let the phone ring for at least 1-2 minutes without anyone picking it up.

Overall we were grossed out by the room, blankets and lack of service when it was needed. I had to instruct my child to NOT touch the nasty blanket or anything else in the room. We literally had to use the place as if it was contaminated.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AK652004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayD_GM, General Manager at Days Inn South Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear AK652004,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us here on Trip Advisor. We are disappointed to hear that your experience fell short of your expectations. I have spoken with our Rooms Division. I assure you this is not the type of service we wish to provide our guests, here at Day's Inn. We regret any inconvenience caused by our staff. We strive to make every guest feel cared for, valued and respected and are disappointed we did not achieve this brand promise. We're also very sorry that you were not happy with your guest room. Unclean rooms are certainly not typical of our hotel and we will be sure to work with our housekeeping staff to address these issues. Guest satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. Please know that all comments, feedback, and reviews are shared with department managers and the executive office. We do hope that we will have the opportunity to provide you with a flawless experience in the future should you join us once again.

Warmest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had a group of families staying at the place. I understand it was a peak time with the long week-end but the close to $200 per night I paid for the saturday night stay was really just too much. The breakfast did not open till 8:00 a.m. it was all over by 9:15 a.m. We asked for some extra blankets/pillows they could not provide either. The hotel is centrally located though and is a cheap alternative on a normal off -peak week-end.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mhparekh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayD_GM, General Manager at Days Inn South Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
mhparekh,

Thank you for your feedback. I am truly sorry that you were not satisfied at our hotel; however, I do hope that you were able to get out and enjoy some of the sights of South Lake Tahoe and that this issue you mentioned did not truly ruin your vacation. We are working to rectify the breakfast provided for the hotel guests to make it more streamlined. Currently we offer our Daybreak Breakfast from 7 AM to 10 AM daily . I am sorry for the inconvenience, this is not the regular guest service offered at our Days Inn . We normally provide guests with extra blankets and pillows upon request. Thank you again for staying with us and hopefully you will give us another chance to make up for your last stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Lake Tahoe hotels

Long Beach California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

There is nothing horrible about the motel and nothing great. Very average. Clean enough. Scuffed up a bit, but maintained alright. Friendly staff. Good wi-fi. Beds were OK -- not great. Rooms a bit on the smallish side. Decent breakfast. No refrigerator or microwave. Centrally located.

Room Tip: Ask for a quieter room away from highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shastabob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayD_GM, General Manager at Days Inn South Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Shastabob,
Thank you for choosing to continue to stay within the Days Inn brand and for staying with us on your trip to South Lake Tahoe. I appreciate your comments and have forwarded them to my staff. I am happy to know that you were satisfied with our breakfast, staff, and Wi-Fi connection. Like you said we have clean and well maintained rooms. We now have pillow top beds. You can upgrade to a bigger room or a room with a fridge and microwave. Even though we are closer to the road the traffic dies down at night and you can have a peaceful good night's sleep at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Lake Tahoe
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe
Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe
#57 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.0 mi away
Budget Inn South Lake Tahoe
Budget Inn South Lake Tahoe
#71 of 122 in Lake Tahoe (California)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Area
Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Are...
#53 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#35 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
2.4 mi away
Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe
Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe
#40 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
1.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Casino Center Lake Tahoe
Americas Best Value Inn - Casino...
#33 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn South Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn South Lake Tahoe

Property: Days Inn South Lake Tahoe
Address: 3530 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8900
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 68 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn South Lake Tahoe 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Days Inn South Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Lake Tahoe Ski Resort / Golf Area Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing