We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor place for the money” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn South Lake Tahoe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Days Inn South Lake Tahoe
Ranked #52 of 72 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Poor place for the money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had a group of families staying at the place. I understand it was a peak time with the long week-end but the close to $200 per night I paid for the saturday night stay was really just too much. The breakfast did not open till 8:00 a.m. it was all over by 9:15 a.m. We asked for some extra blankets/pillows they could not provide either. The hotel is centrally located though and is a cheap alternative on a normal off -peak week-end.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mhparekh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayD_GM, General Manager at Days Inn South Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
mhparekh,

Thank you for your feedback. I am truly sorry that you were not satisfied at our hotel; however, I do hope that you were able to get out and enjoy some of the sights of South Lake Tahoe and that this issue you mentioned did not truly ruin your vacation. We are working to rectify the breakfast provided for the hotel guests to make it more streamlined. Currently we offer our Daybreak Breakfast from 7 AM to 10 AM daily . I am sorry for the inconvenience, this is not the regular guest service offered at our Days Inn . We normally provide guests with extra blankets and pillows upon request. Thank you again for staying with us and hopefully you will give us another chance to make up for your last stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    79
    83
    60
    60
See reviews for
110
112
44
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

There is nothing horrible about the motel and nothing great. Very average. Clean enough. Scuffed up a bit, but maintained alright. Friendly staff. Good wi-fi. Beds were OK -- not great. Rooms a bit on the smallish side. Decent breakfast. No refrigerator or microwave. Centrally located.

Room Tip: Ask for a quieter room away from highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shastabob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayD_GM, General Manager at Days Inn South Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Shastabob,
Thank you for choosing to continue to stay within the Days Inn brand and for staying with us on your trip to South Lake Tahoe. I appreciate your comments and have forwarded them to my staff. I am happy to know that you were satisfied with our breakfast, staff, and Wi-Fi connection. Like you said we have clean and well maintained rooms. We now have pillow top beds. You can upgrade to a bigger room or a room with a fridge and microwave. Even though we are closer to the road the traffic dies down at night and you can have a peaceful good night's sleep at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

stayed here in jan 12 over peak time. Budget motel handy location close to ski lifts. rib, pizza bar next door . safeway up the road you can buy prepared food which is handy. i would stay here again because lake tahoe is such a great place to ski

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mario90120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayD_GM, General Manager at Days Inn South Lake Tahoe, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
dmlandis, We have homemade cake now for breakfast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Lake Tahoe is filled with older motels like the Days Inn. In fact many of these older motels have not changed since the 1970's. We understand that South Lake Tahoe is a tourist destination and that most people are looking for a clean room, a comfortable bed and a hot shower and that anything more is a bonus. If this is what you are looking for, the Days Inn is not your place. It is not a fair deal for $175.00 and it is not a far deal at $150.00. In fact it is not a good deal at $100.00 or $75.00 or $50.00. Our best guess is that it would be fairly priced at $29.00. The room was not clean, the bed was not comfortable and there was NO hot water - maybe a little warm water but not much more. We are not 100% sure if someone had the wrong room or if they were trying to break into the room but either way we had trouble getting back to sleep. The guy at the Front Desk was quite honest and shared some stories about the property and the owners. We were quite amused. I don't think that we would stay here again, even if they had the last available room in South Lake Tahoe.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Lake Tahoe hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Lake Tahoe
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe
Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe
#54 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
3.0 of 5 stars 385 reviews
0.0 mi away
Budget Inn South Lake Tahoe
Budget Inn South Lake Tahoe
#74 of 130 in Lake Tahoe (California)
3.5 of 5 stars 54 reviews
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Area
Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Are...
#56 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
3.0 of 5 stars 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#35 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 stars 229 reviews
0.8 mi away
Americana Village
Americana Village
#5 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 326 reviews
1.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Casino Center Lake Tahoe
Americas Best Value Inn - Casino...
#31 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 stars 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn South Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn South Lake Tahoe

Property: Days Inn South Lake Tahoe
Address: 3530 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8900
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 72 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn South Lake Tahoe 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Days Inn South Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Lake Tahoe Ski Resort / Golf Area Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing