We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor place for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn South Lake Tahoe
Ranked #54 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had a group of families staying at the place. I understand it was a peak time with the long week-end but the close to $200 per night I paid for the saturday night stay was really just too much. The breakfast did not open till 8:00 a.m. it was all over by 9:15 a.m. We asked for some extra blankets/pillows they could not provide either. The hotel is centrally located though and is a cheap alternative on a normal off -peak week-end.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mhparekh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayD_GM, General Manager at Days Inn South Lake Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

mhparekh,

Thank you for your feedback. I am truly sorry that you were not satisfied at our hotel; however, I do hope that you were able to get out and enjoy some of the sights of South Lake Tahoe and that this issue you mentioned did not truly ruin your vacation. We are working to rectify the breakfast provided for the hotel guests to make it more streamlined. Currently we offer our Daybreak Breakfast from 7 AM to 10 AM daily . I am sorry for the inconvenience, this is not the regular guest service offered at our Days Inn . We normally provide guests with extra blankets and pillows upon request. Thank you again for staying with us and hopefully you will give us another chance to make up for your last stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (433)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 433 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2013

There is nothing horrible about the motel and nothing great. Very average. Clean enough. Scuffed up a bit, but maintained alright. Friendly staff. Good wi-fi. Beds were OK -- not great. Rooms a bit on the smallish side. Decent breakfast. No refrigerator or microwave. Centrally located.

Room Tip: Ask for a quieter room away from highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shastabob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayD_GM, General Manager at Days Inn South Lake Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Shastabob,
Thank you for choosing to continue to stay within the Days Inn brand and for staying with us on your trip to South Lake Tahoe. I appreciate your comments and have forwarded them to my staff. I am happy to know that you were satisfied with our breakfast, staff, and Wi-Fi connection. Like you said we have clean and well maintained rooms. We now have pillow top beds. You can upgrade to a bigger room or a room with a fridge and microwave. Even though we are closer to the road the traffic dies down at night and you can have a peaceful good night's sleep at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank SALLY M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JayD_GM, General Manager at Days Inn South Lake Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
1  Thank PAUL N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JayD_GM, General Manager at Days Inn South Lake Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

stayed here in jan 12 over peak time. Budget motel handy location close to ski lifts. rib, pizza bar next door . safeway up the road you can buy prepared food which is handy. i would stay here again because lake tahoe is such a great place to ski

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mario90120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayD_GM, General Manager at Days Inn South Lake Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

dmlandis, We have homemade cake now for breakfast

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Ev P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Lake Tahoe is filled with older motels like the Days Inn. In fact many of these older motels have not changed since the 1970's. We understand that South Lake Tahoe is a tourist destination and that most people are looking for a clean room, a comfortable bed and a hot shower and that anything more is a bonus. If this is what you are looking for, the Days Inn is not your place. It is not a fair deal for $175.00 and it is not a far deal at $150.00. In fact it is not a good deal at $100.00 or $75.00 or $50.00. Our best guess is that it would be fairly priced at $29.00. The room was not clean, the bed was not comfortable and there was NO hot water - maybe a little warm water but not much more. We are not 100% sure if someone had the wrong room or if they were trying to break into the room but either way we had trouble getting back to sleep. The guy at the Front Desk was quite honest and shared some stories about the property and the owners. We were quite amused. I don't think that we would stay here again, even if they had the last available room in South Lake Tahoe.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Lake Tahoe
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe
Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe
#60 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
555 reviews
0.9 mi away
National 9 Inn - South Lake Tahoe
National 9 Inn - South Lake Taho...
#41 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
20 reviews
0.7 mi away
Super 8 South Lake Tahoe
Super 8 South Lake Tahoe
#52 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Budget Inn South Lake Tahoe
Budget Inn South Lake Tahoe
#75 of 118 in Lake Tahoe (California)
58 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#31 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
270 reviews
2.4 mi away
Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe
Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe
#51 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn South Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn South Lake Tahoe

Address: 3530 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8900
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: $57 - $392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn South Lake Tahoe 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Days Inn South Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Lake Tahoe Ski Resort / Golf Area Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing