We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For hotels under $50 in South Lake Tahoe - This takes the CAKE!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn South Lake Tahoe
Ranked #54 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Service:
To start, the customer assistants were very accommodating. We were not going to get there until 2 am and they said it was no problem and they would hold our room. They were expecting us when we arrived and promptly checked us in. They then gave us a 30 minute late check out when requested.

Rooms:
We got the 1 Queen suite with a Jacuzzi tub for only $69 on a Saturday night!!!! I believe the other rooms were about $49 for 2 queen beds. The room was very basic, but pretty spacious. There was a vanity alcove that adds much needed space if your traveling with a group or family. Nothing was updated, but that was to be expected. However, everything was clean and in good working order.

Summary:
I'm giving this hotel a 4 of 5 because for hotels under $50 in Lake Tahoe, this is one of the best your going to get. With that in mind: If you are just passing through and you are only wanting to spend $50 or so then this IS A GREAT place for you. If you are on a budget and want to stay on the California side of Tahoe and not the Nevada side, then this IS A GREAT PLACE FOR YOU. If you are willing to pay twice as much, want something more modern/updated, are willing to stay in a Nevada casino (like Harrahs), then this IS NOT the place for you.

Tip: Know what you want/need in a hotel room and then get an unbiased view of what you are booking. A great hotel for me may not mean a great hotel for you and vice versa.

Room Tip: Tip: A room towards the back will be less noisy as people get up in the morning to leave. If you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zeke h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (433)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

352 - 358 of 433 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

The Days Inn in South Lake Tahoe was a great value and super location. The rooms were clean if some what in an older motel. The staff was super too. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank CAROLE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

We were passing through Tahoe from SF and were unfamiliar with town. Needed a bed for the night and $50 for two queens in a quiet location was ideal. Out of season other hotels still charge peak prices. Days inn is simple honest and clean.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FTUK2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and would not stay here again. It's an older hotel/motel and the rooms and furnishing are very tired. Old bedspreads (most likely not clean as noted by another reviewer), stained chair covers (yuck), broken furniture, just not particularly nice. The bathroom was big enough and there was plenty of hot water, but the towels were super thin and mismatched. The beds were not very comfortable, probably because of the rubber like mattress pad cover under the sheets. The walls are paper thin and we could hear the giggles of teenage girls through the wall well into the night, as well as some folks in the parking lot who returned at 2am. This is not the hotel's fault but there is major construction on the street so getting in and out of the hotel was challenging.

This was my first time to the area and I will look for something a little less seedy for my next visit.

Room Tip: I guess if you did stay here, I'd advise to stay towards the back end where is is less busy, awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneAndrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We arrived at Lake Tahoe late and made this reservation by cell phone. Check-in was fine. When we walked into the room, even though the room was supposedly a non-smoking room, the smoky/musty smell overwhelmed us. The carpet was filthy. Very dated decor. Judging from the smell, the bed coverings had not been cleaned in a long time. Because the sheets were not fitted, they fell off the beds to reveal filthy, torn mattresses. Fortunately, the bathroom/shower appeared clean. We left as early as possible the following morning; the construction noise made sleeping impossible. Of course, Days Inn could do nothing about the construction. We would not recommend this Days Inn.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms as far as possible away from road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slsvend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights. Rooms are pretty small. Had never stayed at a days inn. Would like to think this isnt the norm for the days inn chain For several reasons my expectations were not met. Man walking back x forth smoking weed at pool during day in direct view from Office x some rooms.Pool has dim to no lighting at night, with people having sex and sneaking around. No microwave No fridge No iron x board No coffeemaker. Possibly my fault for not doing my research. Could have got a discount chain hotel for much less, with about an equal level of Clients x accomodations. They do have the location going for them, so i guess the franchise lets them lower there standards x policys regarding quality, room size x amenities. One plus is that the beach is just a short walk away. Safeway close by.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SCLOUGH01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I must say that this is my second stay here in a year

First off check-in was great

Front desk person show me a few room choices

Room was clean and average for the price I had to pay for the night

Pool was cold but the jacuzzi worked

Breakfast did not start till 7:30 am (average normal time is 6 am)

Very basic continental breakfast

Its an older property that should not charge more than 55.00 per any day of the year

OK stay

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Lake Tahoe
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe
Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe
#60 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
555 reviews
0.9 mi away
National 9 Inn - South Lake Tahoe
National 9 Inn - South Lake Taho...
#41 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
20 reviews
0.7 mi away
Super 8 South Lake Tahoe
Super 8 South Lake Tahoe
#52 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Budget Inn South Lake Tahoe
Budget Inn South Lake Tahoe
#75 of 118 in Lake Tahoe (California)
58 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#30 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
270 reviews
2.4 mi away
Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe
Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe
#51 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn South Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn South Lake Tahoe

Address: 3530 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8900
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: $57 - $392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn South Lake Tahoe 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Days Inn South Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Lake Tahoe Ski Resort / Golf Area Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing