We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Retro Rooms-Great Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tahoe Seasons Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tahoe Seasons Resort
Ranked #34 of 72 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Wakefield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Retro Rooms-Great Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

Let me start by stating that I stayed here on a ski trip with a ski buddy. I have a time share and traded for a week here. This place is in an excellent location; about 150m from the california base lodge gondola and the staff is very friendly. However, the rooms are quite small for a time share, have only a "dorm size" fridge and a microwave. The layout in our 1 bedroom unit is extremely impractical and very outdated. The "dining area" is in the bedroom, and the "living room" is big enough for just the pull out sofa. There is a hot tub/shower in-between the 2 rooms and you have to close shutters around the shower to have privacy. The room would be comfortable for couples or for those traveling individually.

As far as resort amenities...There is a bar; but it is only open on the weekend. The restaurant only serves breakfast...very expensive breakfast. There are no laundry facilities on site, so either pack enough ski cloths for your entire stay, or drive down the road and sit in a laundromat. If you drive, you are forced to use valet service. There is a small heated outdoor pool and hot tub; but be careful in the hot tub, it is paved with rocks, i ended up cutting my foot while stepping in.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank daxg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    86
    58
    32
    22
See reviews for
85
89
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Islamorada, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

I enjoyed our stay here. The bed was a bit small, but it did the job. Huge hot tub bath tub that I got a lot of use out of. The in room fire place was a bit screwy, but luckily we didn't need it any way. The bar was nice and made a mean bloody mary. My only complaint is the mandatory valet parking. Seems nice at first, but it get annoying when all you want to do is get to your car with out having to tip someone for the 15th time. I had a good experience while staying there.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaceyMarie443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

Our stay at the Tahoe Seasons had a very poor start. We had forgotten to bring the printed confirmation letter, but figured, we have ID, and we know it's confirmed so there should be no problem.....right? WRONG.

When we approached the desk we were informed they had no record of our reservation. "XXXXXX" (our timeshare) are only 25% owners," we were told. "They do things different then us. We need your confirmation or there's nothing we can do.". OK, how about we call them? "Sure," she says, "but cell phones only work near the window." My partner patiently walks 20 feet over to the window, gets our timeshare on the line, and gets the confirmation number. He tries to walk back to the desk with them on the phone, but the call is dropped. Anyway, we have the confirmation number so we're good....right? WRONG. "We need it printed out," the clerk said. The only computer around was already in use. "That's o.k., " the clerk said. "We limit them to 15 minutes, so it won't be long." Then she glanced at the number we had written down, and says, "Besides, that's the WRONG confirmation number. I need the FIVE DIGIT confirmation number." Can we call them back, using your land line so we can hand them off to you? "No, I can't do that."

Sigh.

Now, bear in mind that none of this was our problem. We made a reservation through our timeshare, got a confirmation, which the timeshare said was valid, but somehow Tahoe Seasons didn't get the information.

And even though after 30 minutes, and three phone calls later the thing was sorted out it left a bad taste. So --- all's well....right? WRONG.

Our room on the 2nd floor (even though the elevator called it the 6th floor) was pleasant enough, looked clean, and we knew there was no kitchen so we weren't expecting that. However, we were directly above where the valets pick up and drop off cars. This resort has no self-parking, so there is always activity and noise.

There were other minor annoyances - the DVD player wasn't hooked up, there was inadequate hot water, the AC/fan went on and off all night, LOUDLY, and last but not least, the room was oddly proportioned. Huge jacuzzi bath tub that you had to climb in to turn on and be treated to freezing cold water on your tootsies, and the "water closet" (where the toilet was) was smaller than the W.C. in a airplane. Really.

On the plus side, the bell desk and valet staff were very pleasant and helpful and the weather was perfect which helped us salvage our stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank teniralc1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Lake Tahoe hotels

Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

Our Labor Day 5 night stay at the Tahoe Seasons Hotel/Timeshare was not quite the trip from hell, but certainly was the trip to purgatory.

1) We received zero housekeeping services during the entire stay. I even had to empty the room trash twice myself. At check-out we were accessed a $66 “housekeeping” fee. When I complained about receiving zero housekeeping services, they admitted that THAT IS their policy for a 5 night stay, AND, amazingly, it is also their policy to access a $66 “housekeeping” fee for zero services.
2) The in-room fireplace did not work. We called for maintenance. They came. It still did not work.
3) They don’t even try to have an in-house restaurant. It’s only open for breakfast. No other meals; no room service.
4) The hotel is about 1.5 miles from the nearest restaurant. They have zero self-parking and insist you use their valets, who are trained to hold the door open for you until you produce a tip. Thus, assuming you eat 3 meals per day, require you to continually use their valet/tipping service 3x per day.
5) The hotel is at least 35 years old. Sometime in there they should have replaced their beds and bedsprings. If they did replace them, then they must have gotten the cheapest bedsprings on the market because the bed dipped so deeply in the middle when I laid on it, I initially thought that it was “folding up” in the middle, but that was the way it was. Sleeping was nearly impossible it was so uncomfortable.
6) The shower/bath was oddly placed in the middle between the bedroom and the living room. It was designed so that shower privacy was obtained by shutting the shutters which were fixed in 45 degree downward slant. Note to Tahoe Seasons: Shower shutters do NOT function like shower curtains! Thus water spray from the weirdly placed shower was unimpeded, spraying right through the shutters, thus saturating the living room, the dining table and bench seats (where my open computer was located) and the carpets. It was impossible to minimize the spray because of how weirdly the shower head was mounted.
7) They have two elevators for guest use, but, oddly, only one elevator is capable of going to floors 2, 3, and 4. The elevator buttons don’t light up, so when that elevator doesn’t function (about 1/3 the time we were there), and they don’t put signs up (which they didn’t), so you basically wait 5 mins for no elevator, then take the stairs.
8) The in-room Jacuzzi is huge, nearly the size of a small pool and could easily fit 4 or 5 people at the same time. It takes 30 mins to fill (which the porter warns you when he shows you to your room). Sadly, the hotel hot water supply is always running out so you must choose between a COLD bath or a hot 3-4 inches in the tub. Your only Jacuzzi use option is with COLD water, because at 3-4 inches water goes everywhere (the shutters don’t stop it; see #6, above). AND you feel guilty at wasting all that water if you start to fill tub to use the Jacuzzi.
9) There is never anyone at the front desk. They are continually assigned some kind of back room office responsibilities so you need to shout out to get them to come up to talk to you.
10) The hotel is so far out of Tahoe that there is poor cellular service, anywhere. There is WiFi, but it was always extremely slow because it was overburdened and shared among so many users. Strangely, WiFi didn’t work in the lobby or any of the common areas.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LosAngelesLakerFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed a full week at this resort. The room was bigger than we needed but we enjoyed it all. The hot tub in the room was amazing. The fire place in the room made it cozy as it was snowing while we were there. Everyone from the front desk to the valet team were very friendly and respectful. There was never a shortage of anyone asking if they could help me find anything or do anything for me. Also, the massage available in the lobby was a nice touch. I really enjoyed that. The food in the restaurant was good although we ate out most of the time. Overall it was a good time. I would go back and even take my kids, I think they would enjoy it also.

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ChristiGarza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

this is the place to stay if you are looking for great rooms and a great staff at the best location in south lake tahoe.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank newjerseyski007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

Hated the "mandatory" valet parking, quite a hassle but the valet staff was very friendly; the pool was so small that if you didn't get there first you weren't going swimming; the rooms were set up very weird with a huge tub/shower in the middle of the room. I don't know how older or handicapped people could ever get in and out of the shower. My biggest complaint was the fact that they actually had their maintenance workers painting, hammering, and working right outside of the window next to our bed at 7:00am. When I checked out two days early and they asked me if my stay was okay I told them about the work going on and their response was "Oh" followed by a smirk/smile. What a joke...I will NEVER stay here again and I suggest you don't either.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kdoyle1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
1.2 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#6 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 330 reviews
1.0 mi away
Americana Village
Americana Village
#5 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 339 reviews
1.3 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#7 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 stars 217 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#15 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 713 reviews
1.2 mi away
Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village
Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly...
#23 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tahoe Seasons Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahoe Seasons Resort

Property: Tahoe Seasons Resort
Address: 3901 Saddle Rd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8707
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tahoe Seasons Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tahoe Seasons Resort is a magical alpine location perfect for family quests, mountain sports enthusiasts and secluded retreat devotees. We are located 150 yards from the ski lifts at Heavenly’s® famous mogul run, Gunbarrel. A mile down the mountain is Ski Run Marina on Lake Tahoe. In season, we open our on-site snow ski & board rental and retail shop. We are a 183 suite-style hotel. Our rooms have three basic areas; bedroom, sitting room and bathroom. Each room includes a large tub/shower combo, 2 TVs & DVD player, 2 telephones, free premium cable, free WiFi, clock radio/MP3 dock, 4 person dining table, mini fridge, microwave, wet bar and coffee maker. On-site activities include year round heated outdoor pool and hot tub, game room and guest library. In season you can also enjoy rooftop tennis, shuffleboard, sundeck and gas grills complete with tables, chairs and umbrellas. Parking is valet only and complimentary. Because of our location there is no street parking. We have a 4 level below ground parking facility. For your safety all parking is done by our paid employee valet. Tips are welcome, never expected. Valet offers chain service for a fee. We opened on September 8, 1983 as a premier owners ski resort. Our room layouts reflect the fact that there was endless snow, abundant water and large tubs were all the rage. Our owners come from all over the globe for world class snow skiing and mountain sports. Annual family reunions have been facilitated here for over 3 decades. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Tahoe Seasons Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tahoe Seasons Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Tahoe Seasons Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing