We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You'll love Tahoe!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tahoe Seasons Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tahoe Seasons Resort
Ranked #32 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Wokingham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“You'll love Tahoe!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2006

We have just returned from 8 days in Lake Tahoe and we had a fantastic time!

We stayed at the Tahoe Seasons Resort, which is just at the bottom of the tram (cable car) on the California side of Heavenly (NB: Not the Heavenly gondola as some brochures state!)so as other reviewers have commented it is just 150 yds to the slopes. A perfect location for keen skiers/boarders!!

The Resort itself was OK for us. Our room was large and spacious with a lounge (pull out bed) and main double bedroom with the bathroom and hot tub in between, which sounds weird but was actually fine for just the 2 of us! Breakfast is an all you can eat buffet for $12, which is OK but there are no other meal facilities within the hotel - I don't count the 'pub grub' - microwaved pizza and chicken nuggets as real food! If you do want to stay in and eat, then just call Domino's pizza - they are very quick and will deliver straight to the room!

Heavenly itself was abit disappointing as the main road runs straight through the village and there is a 10 min gondola ride before you can hit the slopes and no way to ski back down to the main village. Its good though if you want some nightlife as the casino hotels have loads of bars, restaurants and entertainment but for us, access to the lifts at the Tahoe Seasons was perfect and at night a free (well $1 per person each way!) shuttle took us straight to the centre of town in 5 minutes!

Now onto the main point, the snow! We had 6ft of snow whilst we were there and it was just awesome! For those who have never skied in the States before, the experience of skiing between the trees is just amazing and gives you a much greater freedom than skiing on piste, even for a mere intermediate like me! At times, the snow was well over our knees which takes abit of getting used to but was fantastic!

Ski's and all the gear are available to hire in the hotel and the prices seemed to be OK, there is also a little shop if you want to buy it instead.

Definitely hire a car and see the other resorts around Lake Tahoe! In the winter, you must have a 4x4 or car with snow chains, so reserve a full size SUV and you should be OK. Smaller SUV models are not 4 wheel drive so be careful when you book. Snow chains are required on 4x4's in really bad conditions but these are readily available all over lake tahoe and there are fitters on the roadside who will put them on for you. Check with the hire car company whether there is a charge for snow chain damage though!!

The local TV station is really informative and explains the conditions at each of the 14 resorts, which roads are open/closed etc.., so it is really easy to pick and choose where to go. We skied Heavenly for a few days and found some lovely long cruises particularly down to the Nevada side but also managed to explore the smaller resorts of Kirkwood (1hr) and Sierra-at-Tahoe (40 mins) which are definitely worth a visit if you want the slopes to yourselves! We also visited Squaw Valley, (1hr 10 anti-clockwise around the lake) which has vast terrain and we really liked the main village with its restaurants and shops!

Lake Tahoe has so much to offer that we'll definitely be back next year!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank SamBWokingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    91
    61
    35
    25
See reviews for
94
95
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2006

How fussy are you and are you expecting 5 star quality and three star prices.
Overall we had a great experience staying here, and it was over 50 degrees with bluebird skies everyday whilst skiing.

Word of warning be aware at weekends it is very noisy into the early hours with the beer cooler brigade and the loudest most annoying people you could wish to have in your hotel.

This is a fine place to stay, location wise it could not be better, we were on the lifts up the mountain within 5 minutes of leaving the door each day and it was graet to know your room was only a hundred yards away at the end of a long day skiing, no 20 minute drive to and from the slopes or long walk to the gondola.

Rooms were big enough, with a separate area to sit and relax, this ensured that you at least could relax for a couple of hours either side of your evening meal. The units are a little tired but they must get a battering with the equipment people use and sling around their rooms.

The Spa took over 40 minutes to fill but was well worth the wait, have a shower first and then relax. Bed was one of the best I have slept on in hotels. Breakfast was all you could eat for $11 but set you up for the day especially as the food on the slopes is not the best and really expensive. Breakfast staff though eccentric were really a joy first thing in the morning.The food though in the bar was quite awful so once bitten was never eaten again. Warmed up in the microwave and in front of you as well is not that good.

Ski Shop was great, brilliant deals even if equipment a little worn, well worth the money. no need to pay inflated prices of downtown. Heavenly itself is great to go to, with the mountain as its prize asset, not the cheapest but the quality of skiing makes up for the purpose made resort.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Posh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2006

As a frequest reader/user of Tripadvisor, I did my research before booking a room at the Tahoe Seasons Resort, and I was still a little skeptical after reading the other reviews, but I gave it a try and I'm glad I did!

Bad News First: The other reviewers were right about the valet parking. While it's kind of nice to have your car arrive door-to-door, it's a little incovenient when there is a line (especially in freezing weather), or when you need to get something from your car. But this is my ONLY qualm about the Tahoe Seasons!

Good/GREAT news: We checked in and were told that we were given the remodeled unit. Service at check in was great, very friendly and fast, much needed after a 5-hour drive from San Francisco. We walked into our room after checking in our snowboards (NOT allowed in the remodeled unit), to a beautifully appointed suite. The 'living room' had a sofa and arm chair facing a plasma tv mounted to the wall. sliding doors revealed the bathroom area, with marble sink and shower. The two-person whirlpool tub was complete with European showerhead, as well as an additional removable showerhead, great for rinsing out the tub after bubbles, or would be good for children.

I am a tub lover, and thus the two-person tub was GREAT! Filled up in less than 10 minutes, and had dual arm-rests!

After the bathroom, another set of sliding doors revealed the bedroom, complete with ANOTHER plasma tv (even bigger than the living room), banquette for dining, a wet bar with freezer, mini fridge and microwave. The walnut furniture was a nice touch with the foresty-decor. The double bed (a little smaller than my liking) was VERY soft and cushy, a very nice surprise after sleeping on my fare share of lumpy, hard beds while traveling. A mountain of throw pillows welcome you to hop right in!

The room was fabulous for a 3-day weekend away from the city. We didn't get to check out the other amenities that the hotel offered, but it looks like it would be a good place to bring kids and have them entertained. There is a decent size pool and hot tub (but who needs a hot tub when you have one in your room!), and a 24-hour arcade. The $10.95/person breakfast buffet in the hotel lobby is perfect if you want to hit the slopes without driving into town.

Probably the best thing about the Tahoe Seasons Resort is the location. As the web-site promises, it is literally a hop, skip, and jump from the California side of the Heavenly Resort. Walking from the hotel to the base of the hill is a shorter distance than most parking lots to the base of the resort!!! We literally put on our gear and walked out and got on a lift. You can purchase lift tickets inside the hotel ski shop to save time and avoid the long lines. If skiing/snowboarding isn't your thing, all that South Lake Tahoe has to offer is just a short drive away, or you can hop on the Blue Go! shuttle that comes to the hotel to the casinos.

I would recommend this hotel for anyone looking for comfortable accomodations with easy access to Heavenly. I can't comment on the other rooms, but if you can, ask for room 317 (the only remodeled suite on the premises) and you WON'T be disappointed!

Stayed February 2006
Helpful?
18 Thank Ironstephs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2006

We are members of RCI and stayed here as part of an RCI Exchange. Our room included a queen size bed, sofabed, 2 TVs, fireplace, VCR/DVD Player, small refrigerator, microwave, kitchen table and huge spa/jacuzzi tub. The resort amenities included free valet parking, outside swimming pool/jacuzzi, game room, lobby with big screen tv (popular among sports fans), videos ($9 for unlimited rentals during a 3 day period), breakfast buffet ($11), wine/cheese reception, and food available in the afternoon/evening at the Pub Grub ($6-$12). The room is a comfortable size for 2 adults with 1-2 kids. The room highlight was the spa/jacuzzi tub that could hold 2 adults with 1-2 kids comfortably. Our preschool son used the spa/jacuzzi tub as an "indoor swimming pool". We enjoyed the great location next to Heavenly Ski Resort. All the attractions of South Lake Tahoe are within 15 minute driving distance. There is a shuttle ($3) from the hotel to casinos and South Lake Tahoe attractions. The staff was friendly and helpful. We look forward to staying at this resort again!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank International2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2005

I usually don't take the time to write or look for ways to tell others about my travel's, but in the case I wanted to do so. My wife and I started a 9 day well deserved vacation in Lake Tahoe. We went from there to Northern Ca, the Oregon coast and interior, Washington and Canada. I started booking and researching places to stay 2 months in advance. Because of the Air Races in Reno and it being a weekend....I found it hard to find what I was looking for in Lake Tahoe. Every b&b we wanted was booked as were most of the other accommodations. We wanted to stay at a place that was rated a 4 star without staying at one of the big casino hotels. I was very unhappy because my wife had never been to Tahoe. I almost booked us in Carson City or Truckee, but didn't give up hope of finding somewhere decent at the lake.

As a final and fourth choice, I took a chance and booked a room a the Tahoe Seasons Resort. I am certainly glad I did. As others have mentioned, this is an older timeshare place. There is no view of the Lake and the worst thing I could find was that you cannot park your own car. A valet has to do it and in order to go to your car, you have to find a valet and have him escort you to the underground parking. Now, I find myself always going back and forth to my car when I travel, especially with my family. But let me be clear. This was my only complaint.

The staff was gracious, wonderful and generous. They upgraded? our room when we checked in for no reason. Our 1 bedroom suite was clean, spacious and for a couple that has been married a few seasons, romantic. (although taking a shower in the huge spa, instead of a jacuzzi, could be a bit dangerous for very older folks. It could be hard to get into and out of... for them.) And it gets pretty humid, thank goodness you can open the windows which we found is not the case in many places that have spas.

The room had internet, two tv's and the two or three person spa is encircled with panels that you can leave open or close. The fireplace is in the bedroom which you can see from the living room or the spa, unless the panels and door is closed.

The bathroom and spa is between the living room and the bedroom. Again, you can shut off the bathroom and the living room with panels and doors. Outside at night, the pines were swaying in the wind and it was quiet in our room. Yes this place has some wear and tear, most ski hotels, motels or condos do. Winter, ski boots, etc, take a toil and perhaps there needs to be some parts of the resort that might need to be renovated in the years to come, but for us, it was a wonderful place to start our vacation.

Thank you Tahoe Seasons, for a great stopover during out trip. We will return.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benicia, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2005

My wife and our two teen age boys (13 and 15) stayed in late July for one week (longest one week of our life), this is an OK place and certainly not a resort as the name implies, it's a great location if it is winter, right accross the street from the ski lifts, but during summer, there is nothing within walking distance (it is not far but coming back up is a very strenous up hill walk) you need to drive to get and do anything, not even a restaurant near by. I have seen bigger pools at peoples homes and the deck area is so small you cant fit more than 10 people. The rooms are in need of upgrading and new furniture, seems everythign is falling apart, including linens, towels and furniture. The staff was very nice but even they complained about the hotel and how it needs to be renovated. They did their best to accomodate our needs, We were moved to a larger room after we compalined after the second night. The pull out beds are so old that it was impossible for our kids to sleep confortably, we had to put 2 huge foam mattreses and even after that it was still horrible. The only good thing about the room was the jacuzzi (it actually did work in our room some other guests complained that theirs did not work) the only probelm with that is that the Jacuzzi is in the middle of the room. Ask to have a room overlooking the lake side ( you cant see the lake, but it is much quiter. if you want a huge deck ask to be on the 6th floor where there is a huge deck that is only shared by 6 rooms, very nice if you like to lay in the sun or read a book, the deck is huge and no one uses it (very quite). There is very few activities for kids, a pool table and a few video games, so bring your own entertaintment or DVD player. The place is dead at night, they have a piano but no one plays it. If you are looking for a resort, dont look here, this is not it. Good luck

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank socalalan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Lake Tahoe hotels

TN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2005

Older timeshare resort, but has been very well maintained and is super clean. The amount of full wall mirrors are a bit crazy, but something you get used to. The Jacuzzi is huge - nice to have one that actually fits two people. Mini-fridge and microwave came in handy. The site also has 4 gas grills for guest use.

Location is great, just a mile from the Heavenly Village area and Casinos.

Breakfast buffet is available and a bar at night. Simple dinner options would have been nice, but delivery is readily available. Ask the staff about Fat City Food. ----

Overall, this was a great value, but if you're looking for top notch amenities, look into the Marriott and Embassy resorts in South Lake Tahoe.

We thank the staff, the service gets an A+++. We felt very welcome and really enjoyed our stay.

BR - Mundelein, IL

Stayed August 2005
Helpful?
7 Thank B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
1.3 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
1.3 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
1.2 mi away
Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village
Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly...
#22 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tahoe Beach and Ski Club
Tahoe Beach and Ski Club
#8 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tahoe Seasons Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahoe Seasons Resort

Property: Tahoe Seasons Resort
Address: 3901 Saddle Rd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8707
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tahoe Seasons Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tahoe Seasons Resort is a magical alpine location perfect for family quests, mountain sports enthusiasts and secluded retreat devotees. We are located 150 yards from the ski lifts at Heavenly’s® famous mogul run, Gunbarrel. A mile down the mountain is Ski Run Marina on Lake Tahoe. In season, we open our on-site snow ski & board rental and retail shop. We are a 183 suite-style hotel. Our rooms have three basic areas; bedroom, sitting room and bathroom. Each room includes a large tub/shower combo, 2 TVs & DVD player, 2 telephones, free premium cable, free WiFi, clock radio/MP3 dock, 4 person dining table, mini fridge, microwave, wet bar and coffee maker. On-site activities include year round heated outdoor pool and hot tub, game room and guest library. In season you can also enjoy rooftop tennis, shuffleboard, sundeck and gas grills complete with tables, chairs and umbrellas. Parking is valet only and complimentary. Because of our location there is no street parking. We have a 4 level below ground parking facility. For your safety all parking is done by our paid employee valet. Tips are welcome, never expected. Valet offers chain service for a fee. We opened on September 8, 1983 as a premier owners ski resort. Our room layouts reflect the fact that there was endless snow, abundant water and large tubs were all the rage. Our owners come from all over the globe for world class snow skiing and mountain sports. Annual family reunions have been facilitated here for over 3 decades. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Tahoe Seasons Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tahoe Seasons Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Tahoe Seasons Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing