We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great location - Bizarre place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tahoe Seasons Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tahoe Seasons Resort
Ranked #33 of 72 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great location - Bizarre place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

There have been some mixed reviews of this place and rightly so. It's just odd!
Let's start with the positives, it's in a fantastic location at the top of the hill, it looks great from outside and even in the lobby area there is a feeling of grandeur and the prospect of a thoroughly enjoyable stay.
OK, now to the rest. Our room was on the 4th floor. The lounge was small and dark but the bedroom was a good size with a decent view.......sadly it was over next door's swimming pool. The unit was dominated by the hot tub in the middle of it, which was interesting to say the least. Navigating around the hot tub one find the kitchen area, kitted out with microwave, fridge and sink. And no cutlery, dishes, cups or any kitchen utensils. Why have a kitchen with no utensils? What could you wash up in the sink? Certainly not any knives, forks or spoons. There weren't any.
So to the General Store. They stock kits of bowls, plates and utensils, yours for 2 Dollars 16, including tax. A prepacked bag surfaced from beneath the counter, prepared in a way that made you think every paying guest dropped by to get one. The poor shop attendant confessed that it was slightly mad not to stock any cutlery etc in the room. Apparently they've brought it to the attention of the management - not often or loudly enough I'd say.
Valet parking seemed entirely pointless, nice attendants though.
Swimming pool was delightfully small for a place of its size, being marginally bigger than the room hot tub!
The pub is another peculiarity, only open from Friday to Monday. Why? Do tourists not drink or eat mid week?
My abiding memory of what appears to be a top class resort is entering a potentially 5* resort with Bell Hops, Security Guards, Concierges, Valet Parking and then having to eat my breakfast in our room from a plastic bowl with a plastic spoon. It's all just a bit weird.
But if you like a different experience, try the Tahoe Seasons. It's wacky.

Room Tip: Don't miss the roof. Loads of space up there, good tennis court and some grills. Useful on a Tue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    82
    56
    31
    21
See reviews for
83
82
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This has to be the worst hotel I have ever stayed in.

First of all the parking situation is very inconvenient. You have to park your car a block away from the hotel. Or feel obligated to pay a Valet service man a $2.00 tip every time he parks your car. Awkward!

Second there is not adequate cooking or refrigerator appliances in the room. Your refrigerator will not keep your food fresh, and you wont be able to cook your own meals.

Third the outside pool and hot tub are filthy, there are not clean.

The hotel staff isn't friendly.

Avoid The Tahoe Seasons Resort!

Room Tip: Don't stay at the Tahoe Seasons Resort!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Neal J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Lake Tahoe hotels

Orinda
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Room was OK. Carpets dirty.

Staff was rude, especially the management and the front desk. They were completely unable to assist with "out of the ordinary" requests.

Location is terrific - but I'll never stay here again because management was snarky and demeaning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jsksOrinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Nice Hotel with free valet parking. Friendly staff especialy bellhops. Roomy suites with 2 TV's and separate seating area. Mini fridge and microwave + dinning table. Our room had a beautiful view. Nice stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We spent the Memorial Day weekend, and upon arrival we found the location to be beautiful ,and placed away from all of the traffic further in the city. The staff was very friendly, and the room resembled the photos on tripadvisor. There where a few small spiders in the room, but it's in the mountain woods so what else would you expect. Later that night we discovered how thin the walls where, and how rude one of their time share owners (next room from ours) could be. We called security only to have these "so called" grown ups get loader, start banging on walls, and slamming doors! We had to be moved to another room on the other side of the hotel. The staff where very nice, but management really needs better evaluation of these "Owners" with social/mental health and substance (alcohol) issues. We loved the place, but will check out several other South Lake locations before trying the Tahoe Seasons again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pjayjackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

The one good thing I can say is the in room hot tub was divine & great shower water pressure!!! The bed was a bit to firm, the sheets could have been a better quality, same w/bath towels. The in room coffee was terrible & pot was cheap, plus no mugs just cheap styrofoam cups!!! The lights in bedroom barely worked. Our first night the ac in living room was blasting and no heat they did come & fix it but it was our anniversary and we we had to wait around for them to fix it!! If you ski perfect location,we don't!!
No extra anything, no silverware for your snacks, no ceramic mugs, it's like a nice room & very spacious but they went cheap on quite a few things. There is no view except of the apts below!! The wi-fi was great & it is free!! The flat screen TV'S were great but the DVD player was in the living area w/the most uncomfortable couch ever!!! The dvd player should be in the bedroom!!
You have to valet park every time, no self parking except way down the hill, so carry lots of dollar bills for tipping, they jacked up our alarm in car and said they were not responsible for any damages!! Well it was not broken before we got there!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daughteroftheking-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We went to South Lake Tahoe for our Honeymoon, for our stay we decided on the Seasons Resort.... what a lovely stay!!! Perfect for a honeymoon, we were very lucky with the weather, since we are not much into skiing or the "winter scene" of Tahoe... we had an awesome time hiking, spending time outdoors, driving around the lake, visiting some beaches around the lake... this hotel is in the perfect location, the staff is friendly... GREAT SERVICE!! They really go the extra mile for their guests... the concierge are more than willing to recommend great things to do, awesome local restaurants...the pool and spa area is wonderful, with a BBQ if you'd like to cook your own meal, a MINI kitchenette in the room... not even to mention an awesome spa bath in the middle of the room.... NOTHING to complain about! Even the breakfast at the hotel is very reasonable! We had a GREAT Honeymoon, and would recommend it to anyone!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sunelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Lake Tahoe
1.2 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#6 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 292 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#15 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 603 reviews
1.3 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Americana Village
Americana Village
#7 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
1.2 mi away
Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village
Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly...
#22 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 653 reviews
1.4 mi away
3 Peaks Resort and Beach Club
3 Peaks Resort and Beach Club
#18 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tahoe Seasons Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahoe Seasons Resort

Property: Tahoe Seasons Resort
Address: 3901 Saddle Rd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96151
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tahoe Seasons Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tahoe Seasons Resort is a magical alpine location perfect for family quests, mountain sports enthusiasts and secluded retreat devotees. We are located 150 yards from the ski lifts at Heavenly’s® famous mogul run, Gunbarrel. A mile down the mountain is Ski Run Marina on Lake Tahoe. In season, we open our on-site snow ski & board rental and retail shop. We are a 183 suite-style hotel. Our rooms have three basic areas; bedroom, sitting room and bathroom. Each room includes a large tub/shower combo, 2 TVs & DVD player, 2 telephones, free premium cable, free WiFi, clock radio/MP3 dock, 4 person dining table, mini fridge, microwave, wet bar and coffee maker. On-site activities include year round heated outdoor pool and hot tub, game room and guest library. In season you can also enjoy rooftop tennis, shuffleboard, sundeck and gas grills complete with tables, chairs and umbrellas. Parking is valet only and complimentary. Because of our location there is no street parking. We have a 4 level below ground parking facility. For your safety all parking is done by our paid employee valet. Tips are welcome, never expected. Valet offers chain service for a fee. We opened on September 8, 1983 as a premier owners ski resort. Our room layouts reflect the fact that there was endless snow, abundant water and large tubs were all the rage. Our owners come from all over the globe for world class snow skiing and mountain sports. Annual family reunions have been facilitated here for over 3 decades. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Tahoe Seasons Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tahoe Seasons Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Tahoe Seasons Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing