We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A week at Tahoe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tahoe Seasons Resort
Ranked #31 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Reviewed October 28, 2012

After reviewing this facility we were surprised to see that it had been painted a dismal dark grey. Seems to be the trend in south Tahoe now.
However the interior is beautiful and show signs of a good renovation. Very impressive for almost 30 years.
The staff were all excellent especially the guest manager and concierge. Bellman and valet conduct themselves in an exemplary manner. Very friendly and helpful. Initially was unhappy that we couldn't park our car ourselves. Every time we wanted to go somewhere or get something out of the car had to call valet. But it turned out OK in the long run and vehicle safe in the below ground garage.
Most of the rooms have a large spa in the room and the shower is in the spa and very difficult for seniors to climb in and out of. Also have to step up over raised floor in bath to get from front room to bedroom. After a couple of days we were able to change room to "handicap" room; much better! After we moved, we had a hard time getting hot water. We were on the end of the run and I guess they have no circ pump. Rooms have a couch, but no comfortable chairs to lounge in. The handicap rooms are at the end of the hallways farthest from the lobby so that's not too good for those having trouble walking. Of course the place is designed for the younger folks, but is still enjoyable place to stay.
We weren't impressed by the dinning room (only breakfast when were were there) but will do if you dont want to go out.
Eating in Tahoe can be very expensive, but there are some good places that meet a budget.
The beach bear is great food at a reasonable price. Likewise Italian and Mexican. Was especially surprised how great "Chevys" was.
The best of all was "Red's 395" in Carson City. Best steaks and ribs ever! Check it out on line.
Most of the attractions were closing for the season, but we did take the ride on the Tahoe Queen to Emerald Bay which was a lot of fun and learned a lot about the area and it's history.
Lots of neat places to explore around the lake.

Room Tip: If you are over 65, get a handicap room. Remember this is a"Time Share" place.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RichardRedlands_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
There are newer reviews for Tahoe Seasons Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

161 - 167 of 275 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

This resort has a perfect location for activities winter or summer. The staff treated us like we were the only ones there, very friendly, trying to make everything perfect. Terrific valet service, bell hop..treated so well. Room was great. Wild layout with the tub in the middle...we loved the room. Clean. Windows can be opened to the fresh pine air. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Corrie934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The resort is very old and smelly. It is in desperate need for renovations. Our room was smelly and very stuffy. RUN AWAY from this resprt if you have allergies. We had to take benadryls nightly to be able to sleep. The resort is out dated. The floors, furniture, ceiling, walls, ...... everything needs to be renovated.
This resort was a very big disappointment. It is in a great location but the building needs a complete renovation. This is not even a 3 star resort.

Room Tip: Do not stay at this resort.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank RACHEL R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

This hotel is perfect for skiing. I am not sure I would come here in the summer time, but for skiing it does not get better. Heavenly snow is legendary, slopes are sunny and varied. Our group consisted of different level skiiers and we all found trails to enjoy every day.

Tahoe Seasons offers super convenience for the skiiers. You just walk across the parking lot to the California Base of Heavenly to catch a lift or a tram up the mountain. When you are done skiing, you can ski down or take the tram down. We even took a lift down a few times - that's a very unique thrill. When you walk into the hotel, a valet(free) takes your skis and locks them in the ski check, no need to shlep them up to the room.

Hotel services also include free valet parking, bell service, concierge, one cleaning per week free of charge, unlimited pool towels. Ski shop on the premises had good quality skis for rentals. We found the staff to be super friendly, especially the bell hops.

Apre skiing amenities include heated outdoor pool and a large hot tub, a game room, and a bar with a pretty decent Happy Hour.

Shuttle to casinos and shopping. Several excellent restaurants near by. We liked the Brewery at Lake Tahoe, and kept going back there for several dinners. Their sweet potatoe fries are out of this world.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the upper floors with the mountain view. There is no extra charge, they go...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anna_Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We just stayed there one night and was pleasantly suprised. Took a chance and drove up from Sacramento on Labor day weekend, and they had a room. The staff and valet were extremely friendly and helpful. I knew about the weird layout from the reviews, and sure enough there's a big ol hot tub in the middle of the room. Only good if you stay with people you know really well as the shutters can be opened rather easily...and it's not easy to take a shower in. But other than that the room was nice and clean. It says it was remodeled in 2008, which the carpets seem pretty new and also the furniture, even though it's decorated a bit in the 80's. Overall I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jr W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Spent a week with friends at TSR. No lake views, just at the bottom of Hevenly Ski parking lot. It would be perfect for ski season. They only had Valet parking unless you wanted to park on the street (very little traffic). The room plan was not great--LR, bathroom/large tub with jets, then microwave/fridge-table in bedroom. There is a step up into the bathroom area from both the LR and BR (as it is in the middle of the suite). I'm not sure why there were so many mirrors. Thank goodness TSR kept with the posted pool/hot tub hours--voices and noise carried very loudly to our room and we were on the 8th floor! What made the week staying at this facility was the people. From the front desk to the Bell persons (Steven, a fav), the Concierge (Dany a fav), Valet (John, Alberto and the guys), to the Security person Wayne, Sandra who came x2 for chair massages and Norma--the housekeeper; all were very friendly and willing to share their knowledge/stories. The hot tub outside was very hot and the pool was very refreshing. The breakfast was enough for 2. The little gift shop/market had reasonable prices.

Room Tip: Ask for the side away from the pool
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tucson_AZAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We've just returned from staying at the Tahoe Seasons. There are good and bad things about the place, and, for us anyway, the bad outweighed the good. First, the good:
1. Location is nice, away from the main part of town. Close to the Heavenly lift , which you'll appreciate if you come to ski. You will need a car to get around, however.
2. The staff is generally friendly and helpful, especially the concierge and the valet people. The front desk staff is a little grumpy, but since they're the ones who get the complaints about the issues this place has, it's understandable.
3. Our unit was clean and the midweek housekeeping service was good. Yes, the furniture is dated and not the most attractive, but that didn't bother us at all.

The bad:
1. Valet parking only. I do not like to use valet parking and, had I been aware that that's all that's allowed here, would have booked elsewhere. There is limited parking on the side street, which I did use occasionally. That having been said, the valet staff was exceptionally good. I just want the option of not having to use valet.
2. No laundry facilities. Not en suite, nor anywhere on the property. BIG drawback. There's plenty of wasted space on every floor of this property which could be turned into a laundry room. Why not do it? Ended up having to spend precious vacation time in the laundromat.
3. No cooking facilities in the room. If you're traveling with family, this is a major issue. Yes, they have microwaves, but that's it (and they're not large). No stove, no cutlery, plates, cups, pots, etc. When we asked to borrow silverware we were given plastic ware, which was insufficient for dealing with our restaurant leftovers, and told the property had no permit to allow cooking. Huh? They have BBQs and a breakfast restaurant!
3. Many of the rooms are below ground level. Ours was, and it was extremely dark, even in the middle of the day.
4. A lot has been said by other reviewers about the weird layout of the rooms. The huge spa tub which bisects the units is a classic example of bad architectural design. Anyone who has mobility issues would be unable to bathe, since the shower unit is located in the tub and you have to awkwardly step down into the tub to use it. It also sprays all over, even if you close the really strange shutters which surround it. The only thing the tub is useful for would be an orgy, since it probably seats more than four, but regulations say you can't use it after 10:00 pm. Where's the fun in that???
5. The pool. Well, it's miniscule. If even one child is in it don't even attempt to get in, because it's so small you won't be able to maneuver. There's also a hot tub, but it's pretty small as well. Another big disappointment, since I really look forward to being able to swim comfortably.
6. The bar. It's only open four days a week and is pretty poorly stocked in terms of beverages. We decided not to even try the breakfast restaurant, so can't comment on that.

We had great hopes for this place, but for us it was a significant disappointment. There are major issues here, important to consider before deciding to stay.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room above lobby level.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Chrispy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
1.3 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,121 reviews
1.0 mi away
Americana Village
Americana Village
#6 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
396 reviews
1.7 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
485 reviews
1.2 mi away
Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village
Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly...
#24 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
776 reviews
1.4 mi away
3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club
3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club
#20 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tahoe Seasons Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahoe Seasons Resort

Address: 3901 Saddle Rd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8707
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: $70 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tahoe Seasons Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tahoe Seasons Resort is a magical alpine location perfect for family quests, mountain sports enthusiasts and secluded retreat devotees. We are located 150 yards from the ski lifts at Heavenly’s® famous mogul run, Gunbarrel. A mile down the mountain is Ski Run Marina on Lake Tahoe. In season, we open our on-site snow ski & board rental shop. We are a 183 suite-style hotel. Our rooms have three basic areas; bedroom, sitting room and bathroom. Each room includes a soaking tub/shower combo, 2 TVs & DVD player, 2 telephones, free premium cable, free WiFi, 4 person dining table, mini fridge, microwave, wet bar and coffee maker. On-site activities include year round heated outdoor pool and hot tub, fitness center, game room and guest library. In season you can also enjoy rooftop tennis, weekly yoga, shuffleboard, sundeck and gas grills complete with tables, chairs and umbrellas. Parking is valet only and complimentary. Because of our location there is no street parking. We have a 4 level below ground parking facility. For your safety all parking is done by our paid employee valet. Tips are welcome, never expected. Valet offers chain service for a fee. We opened on September 8, 1983 as a premier owners ski resort. Our owners come from all over the globe for world class snow skiing and mountain sports. Annual family reunions have been facilitated here for over 3 decades. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tahoe Seasons Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tahoe Seasons Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Tahoe Seasons Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing