We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large Room for the Price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aston Lakeland Village Beach & Mountain Resort
Ranked #19 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Reviewed August 26, 2007

I stayed here with my girlfriends in the one-room suite with loft. It had a kitchenette with table, 2 bedrooms, 1 1/2 bathrooms, living room, and small balcony overlooking the busy road. Through Expedia we found a great rate for the space. The beach is so-so, my local friend took us to beautiful beaches around the lake. The pool and hot tub are located right next to the busy road, so it was kind of hard to chill out without listening to the constant whir of traffic. The shuttle service was excellent, and the driver was great. My only complaint was the beds are really hard. I read it in another review and thought maybe the person didn't like firm mattresses, but they were really really hard. I actually slept on the floor my first night because the bed was so awful. There is also a sign hidden down in the garage near the steps that says something along the lines of "The State of California says there are chemicals here that cause birth defects in children and alter reproductive activity." We found that quite odd. Other than that, the place was fine for us. Nothing fancy, just a lot of space to hang out and go see the sights.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Smangelala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (610)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

510 - 516 of 610 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2007

Went to Lakeland Village for a wedding. Had never been to Tahoe and was expecting extraordinary. Especially for the price. The room was a good size. Outside of that, I have nothing else positive to say. Each guest in our party complained of a urine like smell in the rooms. The building is older and not all of the rooms are updated. It is difficult to sleep-in here. The noise from the highway permeates the walls, and if you have a vacationer above you the floors creak with each and every step. The staff was difficult to deal with, and we never once saw housekeeping. If you can get past that and don't mind the price it will al work out. There is not much reason to stay in your room in a city like Tahoe.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jde8379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2007

Very clean, very well manicured grounds, not a speck of litter anywhere. Nice beach and pool, friendly staff, convenient to most anything. They have a shuttle that you can call on demand to take you to the center of town, we never had to wait more than a few minutes, very courteous driver with good sense of humor. Room was large and clean, bed was comfortable. A bit pricey, but so is all of Tahoe. You get what you pay for. I would definitely stay there again, no question. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ms2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2007

Extremely disappointed with the lack of service and the rooms. Our room was furnished with 70's style furniture, carpet was stained and dirty, rm 418. Housekeeping woul not arrive until 3pm each day. Local residents were able to walk onto the property and use the beach, pool and kids camp facilities, free of charge! Great convenient location, but needs to be updated. Not with the money, would not recommend anyone to stay here. Stay next door, walk through the hole in the fence at the parking lot and use their facilities! Toilet was broken, kitchen utensils old and cheap.

Stayed: July 2007
2  Thank fahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2007

After a long drive from Yosemite to Lake Tahoe, got into Lakeland Village at 12:30 AM and hotel clerk was friendly and got me set up quickly. We booked a Pinegrove Town house which was larger than I expected, and was clean and pleasant. We were a family of 5 and my wife and I and youngest stayed on the first floor which had two nice sized bedrooms, and my two older sons stayed on the 3rd floor loft which had 2 beds. Everybody had more than enough space. The second floor was a large room with kitchen and dining area adjoining. Had fireplace and outdoor porch.

I ended up spending a lot less on this than renting a local home or townhome, and had the nice amenities the hotel offered, like a well maintained beach and pool, maid service, and a kids program which my 3 year old enjoyed. Friendly staff were everywhere.

Only downsides were that both bathrooms were on the first floor; should have had powder room on second floor. Also, wireless internet service was not free and was frustratingly sporadic in providing service.

OVerall, a positive experience and i would definitely go again.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank EHS3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2007

We stayed at Lakeland Village last night, June 5 2007. Though it was more expensive than I hoped to pay the high ratings on TripAdvisor swayed me to give it a go. What can I say. Road noise, noxious fumes from the gas fireplace, Jacuzzi down for "maintenance", both shuttle vans down for "maintenance", I travel a lot but the bed was really uncomfortable, shower didn't drain well. Many 2-star hotels in southeast Asia are much nicer.

It looks like a nice place but I won't go back. I wonder if some of the previous posters are actually owners trying to boost bookings?? I paid $105 but is was worth about $60.

Tahoe was beautiful. We were treated with a heavy dusting of snow which made it really magical.

Stayed: June 2007
4  Thank Gardenman1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2007

we stayed april 13 for 2 nights in a studio unit. It was wonderful. It had a gas fire, king bed, lovely kitchen, nice furnishings. Very clean.We went to relax and it was just the ticket. Rm 213. Hotel was Centrally located, helpful staff. Breakfast was actually very nice. Bathroom was quite small but good enough. We ate at the mexican restuarant across the road. Big meal, very tasty. We also ate at the sushi place just down the road by the safeway. Yummy!!!! We will be back.

Stayed: April 2007
6  Thank kiwijoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.3 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#12 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,150 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#11 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
239 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#7 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
#17 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
528 reviews
0.3 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#6 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
524 reviews
1.2 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#9 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Lakeland Village Beach & Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Lakeland Village Beach & Mountain Resort

Address: 3535 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8947
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#10 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: $142 - $382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Lakeland Village Beach & Mountain Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aston at Lakeland Village is one mile from the Heavenly Gondola via a complimentary shuttle service that also transports guests around town. The South Lake Tahoe hotel offers two spa tubs, two outdoor pools (one open year-round), During the winter season, enjoy a Winter Continental Breakfast (Seasonal at the Heavenly Mountain), Kids can enjoy a summer of Kids Camp, and a private pier with boat moorings. Fitness equipment is also available. At this Lake Tahoe resort, a cozy fireplace warms the lobby and every room, where complimentary coffee is available all day, along with a self-serve cappuccino/latte machine (surcharge), cozy in every unit, free wireless internet access and a kiosk of rental videos. The on-site ski shop rents skis, snowboards, and clothing, and also sells equipment. Garage parking is free. Parking passes are required and are limited to one pass per guestroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston Lakeland Village Beach & Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Lakeland Village Beach & Mountain Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Aston Lakeland Village Beach And Mountain Resort
Lakeland Village Beach Mountain Hotel
Lakeland Village Lake Tahoe
Lakeland Village Beach And Mountain Resort South Lake Tahoe
Lakeland Village Beach&Mountain Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing