We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient Location With Great Value For Families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aston Lakeland Village Beach & Mountain Resort
Ranked #21 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Convenient Location With Great Value For Families”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

This was my first time staying overnight at South Tahoe and was pleasantly surprised with our stay at the Aston Lakeside Village. Since I was bringing my dad along, I thought staying here in a 2 bedroom 1 1/2 bath townhouse would be a better value giving us much more space and easy access to the lake than to get 2 rooms at a hotel. At the time of reservation, I did request an early check in if possible and a townhouse closer to the lake if available. I did get the early check in which is why it was understandable that I did not get a townhome even remotely close to the lake since we couldn't be further away but I'm not complaining and overall had a great stay with just a little more walking. Since the townhouses are individually owned, this review is for 401.

Pros:

Location is close (walking distance via beach or road) to the Ski Run Marina and Ski Run Blvd for the Tahoe Queen and/or restaurants/shops so you don't have to pay for parking

On demand shuttle that will take you anywhere up to 2 miles. I didn't make use of this but love the idea

Casinos are only about 1 1/2 miles away which the adults can enjoy and get to via shuttle while the kids can enjoy time at the pool and the private beach

Cons:

Pool by the lake was super crowded so it was impossible to swim in that pool

Would be nice to have umbrellas you can use for the beach like the Hyatt at Incline Village offers

Would have liked to have a temperature control for each floor as the temperature between the bottom floor and the other floors is a huge difference so it might be freezing downstairs but hot on the 2nd floor and downright sweltering on the 3rd.

Bathrooms were on the small side

I noticed that there are some complaints on Yelp and many of those were staying via a Living Social or GroupOn offer. I usually think twice with some of these offers as sometimes it is too good to be true. Many times the reason why there is an offer is due to construction going on which there was at the main lodge. Not saying that you cannot get great deals and wonderful stays with one of those but sometimes you do get what you pay for. If you happen to be there during low occupancy, you will have a better chance of getting a room where you want location wise whether that is closer to the lake or on the top floor of the lodge. However, if you are there when it is sold out, you have to understand it does make more business sense for them to accommodate clients who paid full price in the more premium locations than someone who paid half of that. So just something to think about so you are not disappointed if you're expecting a lakefront cabin with a GroupOn deal.

Room Tip: If you want to actually swim, go to the pool by the lodge as it is larger and less crowded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LuckyLotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    219
    79
    41
    29
See reviews for
251
141
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Great location. Super friendly front desk staff. Private beach. Very clean room. 5 stars for these.

We stayed in a loft. The whole building, including the elevators and our room had an old-building smell. Got used to it after one day. The wall between next room seemed pretty thin. We shared their activities including the morning cartoon and late evening kids noises. We had a gas fireplace, a remodeled travertine bathroom and the dated original kitchen with old vinyl tiles in some areas. One burner in the stove did not work. I saw another room had wood flooring. Apparently the rooms are independently owned and different. For the old smell and dated interior, minus 1 star.

What really bothered us was the internet speed. A snail can move faster than this. On the first day (a weekend) after we spent 20 minutes on Pandora to play a song and it never came out, we gave up. Couldn't check any google map, nor to make reservation on OpenTable. No webpage could show. The second day (a weekday) a little bit better. Slow still but things showed up. They really need to update their internet. Minus 1 star for the slower-than-snail-speed internet.

One thing about the loft. Great for kids. My daughter had fun shooting paper airplanes from living room up to the loft and from the loft down. May not be so good for older people though if you need to get up in the midnight to use the bathroom.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SFvicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Coast Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

This should be your first request if you want any sleep!! We were kept awake both nights by the people in the room above walking around at all times of the night. They are perfectly entitled do do so, we just should have to hear them! Creaky timber floors seem to be the problem acknowledged by the staff the next day, when they suggested you should ask for the top floor. Apart from that, a lovely place to stay and with the central location, close to all that this wonderful area has to offer.

Room Tip: Top floor only !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Macca6178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed in two room apartment during memorial weekend. It's perfectly located near to beach and ski run marina (hub of most water sports). House was clean and kitchen was kept well with pans, cups, plates etc. also the staff was helping and courteous.

Rooms were small and no cross ventilation and not naturally lighted but no a big problem. I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moneyease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

We actually stayed dec 2012 Xmas, but I never write reviews and I have used other peoples reviews for our other holidays and found it very helpful. So here's ours.
Great price/not too expensive.
Loved the hot outdoor spa especially after a day on the slopes in the snow!
The bedding was really comfortable and rooms where lovely and clean.
The free shuttle (which u can call anytime) was great.
Location was great as it's 5mins down the road from the gondola at heavenly.
It was great value really we thought!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Tina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redmond, WA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Loved the fact that this had a shuttle going to the slopes in heavenly, was super convenient. The value for money was great. The breakfast was included which is also a plus, and the variety of the breakfast was pretty good. Overall, I would come back to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank USA_trekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

The room that we got was spacious, because it had a mini kitchen and balcony and a fireplace.

My only comment is that the breakfast area gets pretty packed around 9am - 9:30 because breakfast is only until 10pm. The tables are not enough to accommodate everyone. or Go early

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joycea101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.4 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
0.3 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.5 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Lakeland Village Beach & Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Lakeland Village Beach & Mountain Resort

Property: Aston Lakeland Village Beach & Mountain Resort
Address: 3535 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8947
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#13 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Lakeland Village Beach & Mountain Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aston at Lakeland Village is one mile from the Heavenly Gondola via a complimentary shuttle service that also transports guests around town. The South Lake Tahoe hotel offers two spa tubs, two outdoor pools (one open year-round), During the winter season, enjoy a Winter Continental Breakfast (Seasonal at the Heavenly Mountain), Kids can enjoy a summer of Kids Camp, and a private pier with boat moorings. Fitness equipment is also available. At this Lake Tahoe resort, a cozy fireplace warms the lobby and every room, where complimentary coffee is available all day, along with a self-serve cappuccino/latte machine (surcharge), cozy in every unit, free wireless internet access and a kiosk of rental videos. The on-site ski shop rents skis, snowboards, and clothing, and also sells equipment. Garage parking is free. Parking passes are required and are limited to one pass per guestroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Vacatia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston Lakeland Village Beach & Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Lakeland Village Beach & Mountain Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Aston Lakeland Village Beach And Mountain Resort
Lakeland Village Beach Mountain Hotel
Lakeland Village Lake Tahoe
Lakeland Village Beach And Mountain Resort South Lake Tahoe
Lakeland Village Beach&Mountain Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing