We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“only good if you get lakefront”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aston Lakeland Village Beach & Mountain Resort
Ranked #19 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Reviewed September 19, 2013

There are a few LakeFront condominiums in this complex. We did not stay in one,but they looked very superior to the others. The one we were in was a little run down and we were basically surrounded by parking lots and other condominiums. Some other guests were playing football quite loudly outside our window. The unit we stayed in was supposed to be newly remodeled and "wonderful" according to the general manager who booked us..... but there were holes in the walls, and one of the beds had bed sheets that didn't look clean and had a long black human hair on one of the pillows. There were lots of stairs to get to the living area. We were booked for 2 nights, but only stayed one and left early in the morning. (frankly I couldn't wait to get out of there), but I'm guessing the Lake Front Units would be much better.

Room Tip: I'm guessing that if you got a lake front unit, your experience would be much more positive.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SanFranciscoVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (598)
There are newer reviews for Aston Lakeland Village Beach & Mountain Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

266 - 272 of 598 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2013

the hotel is fine, close to beach with beach access. the hotel is a resorthotel, nevertheless the daily guest rooms are usual hotel in the building close to the highway.

the room was ok, internet is available and not included, breaktfast is not available.

the rooms comes with a full equipped small kitchen, which helfs to solve dinner and breakfast wishes.

from my person point of view the hotel is too expensive, considering the area the price may be ok.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joedi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed here and were really happy about our choice. We had a lodge room--one bedroom, kitchen, living room--and it was roomy,very well kept and comfortable. We had two flat-screen TVs, two balconies--just a really nice unit. Only problem is it was right next door to the entrance to the reception area, consequently it was a little noisy late at night and early in the morning. A big plus here was the staff. They could not have been more accommodating. They were glad to answer numerous questions and provided so much helpful information. I want to especially acknowledge Benjamin for his patience and courtesy. If we come back to Lake Tahoe and I hope we do, I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask to be moved away from the entrance area.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isaacsnana50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 3 nights in September when day temps were 75ish. While it's a roomy and nice 3 level lakeview home it does not have air conditioning. The description on the website doesn't let you know this. I should not have assumed that a nice place like this would have it. One bed is downstairs and it was uncomfortably hot until about midnight. The bed rooms up stairs I don't know how anyone could sleep it was so miserable. There are no screens in the windows so opening them is not really an option with all the bees and flies this time of year. So just be warned you will be miserable if you come when it's warm out. The bed is hard as a rock and the pillows sink flat as soon as your head touches. Other than that it was well furnished, nice kitchen, and close to everything. They even have a shuttle that will run you 2 miles from 8 to 11.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RomaTraveled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

For a long time we wanted to go to Tahoe...it is so beautiful! The house we rented was clean, cozy, way too big for our small family, but that was fine! The people at the hotel were not very helpful when we asked about places to go to eat...they only told us about South Lake Tahoe, and there is so much more elsewhere...It was okay but now that we went all around the lake we see that there are many other choices! The lake is so beautiful though!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edelvisr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed in an efficiency apartment in the main lodge. Our room was on the first floor and faced the main road outside the resort, but the noise from the traffic wasn't bad, especially since our room had shrubbery planted right outside of our little balcony (room 108).
The room was large, clean, comfortable and the kitchen had everything we needed. Linens were ample and clean. I would suggest a larger fridge though, since the one we had was a little bigger than dorm-sized, but we were able to fit what we had for a week's stay. We didn't realize that the gas fireplace wasn't working until our penultimate night, which was the first time we tried to use it. However, when we reported it to the main desk it was taken care of the same day.
There are two pools with outdoor spas, one at the main lodge and one at the beach. Nice big towels are available at the main lodge or the cafe building at the beach, which also had abundant beach chairs. The pools and beach were nicely maintained, and the beach and cafe also featured outdoor grills, fire pits, and a ping pong table. Water activities were extra and we thought a tad pricey.
There's also a pretty little pier that provides beautiful sunset views. The sunsets are simply amazing. Unfortunately that might have been due in part to the ongoing wildfires south of Tahoe. The air smelled fresh and piney with only a hint of smoke from the fires. The grounds are beautifully maintained with lots of gorgeous pine trees.
The resort staff are friendly and very helpful. There's a free shuttle to take you to spots up and down the main drag within a couple of miles, including the casinos at the stateline. They also provide free coffee and computer access which came in very handy when we needed to check in and print our boarding passes (essential if you're flying Southwest). They have DVDs for rental and free safebox storage at the main desk.
Lots of restaurants, bars and shopping in walking distance. Driving is also a pleasure, and I was impressed at how polite the drivers in California are, at least in Tahoe! Minimal tailgating and no honking - what a relief for us stressed-out New Yorkers.
We breakfasted at Heidi's next door our first morning but it was very expensive and not worth the money. We had better luck at IHOP (in walking distance) and Denny's (short drive). Mo's Sports Bar in the Super8 across the street from the resort is a fun place with great pub grub and a nice mix of visitors and locals.
The gondola trip up Heavenly is awesome with beautiful panoramic views of the lake and surrounding mountains. I'm afraid of heights but enjoyed it nevertheless!
The Safeway supermarket was a short walk and a great place to stock up. There's also a CVS right next to the resort. In short, the place is ideally located.
We used Tahoe as a jumping-off place for what we'd hoped would be a two-day visit to Yosemite, but the fire started raging the first day we were there. It took us an extra two hours to drive to Sonora, where we stayed one night, and then returned to Tahoe rather than venture into Yosemite again; sadly the air quality was already pretty bad. Plus it was really really hot in Sonora.
We had a gorgeous drive (about two and a half hours) on Highway 88 up from Sonora through Eldorado National Forest back to Tahoe. We literally went from fire to ice - an afternoon dip in the pool at the resort in Lake Tahoe was cut short by an astounding thunderstorm with brilliant lightning and a hail storm with an accumulation of about an inch of ice! Nature really puts on a show in Lake Tahoe.
But that's another story....
Anyway, I highly recommend Aston Lakeland Village and definitely plan to stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpecialK718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Totally recommend this hotel. The place is huge, with 2 bedrooms and a loft on the 3rd floor. It had all the dishes and cookware we needed. The rooms were clean and the service was great. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.3 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,080 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
900 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#14 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
#17 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
515 reviews
1.2 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,092 reviews
1.1 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Lakeland Village Beach & Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Lakeland Village Beach & Mountain Resort

Address: 3535 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8947
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#13 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: $147 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Lakeland Village Beach & Mountain Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aston at Lakeland Village is one mile from the Heavenly Gondola via a complimentary shuttle service that also transports guests around town. The South Lake Tahoe hotel offers two spa tubs, two outdoor pools (one open year-round), During the winter season, enjoy a Winter Continental Breakfast (Seasonal at the Heavenly Mountain), Kids can enjoy a summer of Kids Camp, and a private pier with boat moorings. Fitness equipment is also available. At this Lake Tahoe resort, a cozy fireplace warms the lobby and every room, where complimentary coffee is available all day, along with a self-serve cappuccino/latte machine (surcharge), cozy in every unit, free wireless internet access and a kiosk of rental videos. The on-site ski shop rents skis, snowboards, and clothing, and also sells equipment. Garage parking is free. Parking passes are required and are limited to one pass per guestroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Aston Lakeland Village Beach & Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Lakeland Village Beach & Mountain Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Aston Lakeland Village Beach And Mountain Resort
Lakeland Village Beach Mountain Hotel
Lakeland Village Lake Tahoe
Lakeland Village Beach And Mountain Resort South Lake Tahoe
Lakeland Village Beach&Mountain Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing