We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel goes out of its way” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Lakeland Village Beach & Mountain Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Aston Lakeland Village Beach & Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Aston Lakeland Village Beach & Mountain Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3535 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Take 15% Off Your Stay
Ranked #21 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Hotel goes out of its way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed three nights (the third night free) in a 1BR/1BA/loft townhome, based on the reviews on the condos here.

After we checked out, I received a call from the hotel saying a housekeeper found jewelry in the bathroom. I didn't even realize I had left it in the medicine cabinet. He offered to fedex it to me (at my expense). I've stayed at numerous hotels over the last 20+ years and I've left all kinds of stuff behind in hotel rooms, but this is the first time the hotel called to tell me. So I give them major high marks for that!

The great thing about this hotel is the private beach. We hiked off Hwy 89 every day so the location wasn't the best for that. It's a great location for skiers.

The townhome was spacious and the room was functional and comfortable. It could use some updating (the carpet definitely needs to go.)

Room Tip: The layout was fine just for the two of us, but there is only one bathroom, next to the master bedro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalKuidaore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

One of the reason i booked this property is because it was close to the beach and they have kid/teen activities and thought this would be a great place to stay. Front desk people were very helpful. The unit we stayed at however (410) is nothing like the picture posted on the site.The unit was outdated. As we walk into our unit the carpeting was wet, kitchen closet door has hole patch and the side wall has hole patch as well then the smoke alarm was not attached properly that it fell on my head (OUCH!). The pillows and bed were very uncomfortable and the traffic noise was bad.

The good thing about this resort is that they had some children activities and its very close to the beach and free shuttle services. Kitchen is fully equipped. Unit is very spacious good for a a big family. The pools are nice and the beach is really wonderful and there was lots of space and plenty of chairs and lounges to use. I would come back here again because of the beach the kids activities but am hoping to have a better unit with less traffic noise and a more updated townhome/unit

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank merrelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia Station, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

One of the reasons I booked this property was there were 7 people on our party and Aston Lakeland offered multi-room townhouses. Of course I investigated their web-site and Trip Advisor before booking. The price of our 4-bedroom/3 bath condo unit #437 was very affordable for the area and ultimately the reason I chose this property. I had apprehension since some of the reviews on Trip Advisor were negative. I've come to the conclusion that people posting the negative comments were just hard to please on average. This property was magnificent. The location was perfect. The beach was meticulous and within easy walking distance of any unit. Our townhouse was in the pine grove which provided much relaxing shade and ambiance. Sitting on our little deck while drinking coffee was amusing watching the birds and gray squirrels frolicking in the morning. The townhouse was very comfortable and could have easily accommodated 2 or 3 more people easily. My mother who was an administrative executive for a well-known hospital in Cleveland OH was impressed how clean the grounds and the townhouse were kept. What I liked most about this location was the beach and how wonderful it was to sit by the water's edge and relax. We were contemplating a house in the hills but that choice would only allow a view of Tahoe and not the experience of sitting by the water's edge. This location was ideal for teenagers too. It was within easy walking distance to assorted chain restaurants which were built to blend into the overall setting of South Lake Tahoe. If were back in this neck of the woods, I will book here again. Thank you Aston Lakeland Village!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kelli p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I really wanted to like this place. And there are some nice attributes. But, overall, it just wasn't that great for us. My wife and 4 year old son and I stayed for two nights in the first week of June in a 1-bedroom lodge room.

My biggest complaint was the hide-a-bed. We put our son to bed in the bedroom and then figured we'd pull out the couch and sleep out in the living room since we stayed up later. There is no way anyone could possibly sleep on this thing, so don't even consider trying. I can't believe they market it as a bed. It's like laying on bare coils of metal.

So, after night 1 we asked for a roll away bed for our son, figuring we could put it in the bedroom and then we could sleep on the bed. No luck. We got an air mattress. At 10 o'clock that night, we blew up the air mattress in the living room and it promptly deflated due to the quarter-size hole in the side. We call again. They bring a new air mattress, this one seems to fill up, except we wake up at 2 a.m. fully deflated on the floor. And again at 5 a.m.

My next biggest complaint is the traffic noise. I'm not one to usually complain about noise issues, but this was bad. Our deck was completely unusable. We sat out there one night to play cards, and we brought an ipad out to listen to music. On the highest volume setting, we could not hear the music, nor could we speak to one another without raising our voices. So, we sat inside with the doors and windows shut tight.

The good thing about this place is a really nice beach area. The pools are fine enough, but the beach really is wonderful, and there was lots of space and plenty of chairs and lounges to use. We had a great time on that beach.

My advice-- Stay in a townhome for sure. The lodge just isn't that great, and the hallway leading to our room had a really funky odor. I guess the low price should've been a clue.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Adm_VT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Nice condo units. Excellent location. Free shuttle to casinos and restaurants. Reasonable walking distance to restaurants and bars. Gorgeous lakeside location. Beautiful view, gorgeous beach, two pools, hot tub, kiddie pool. Daily housekeeping. Only improvement could be updated bed linens and bed comfort. Would plan to stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobinJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA State
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed in unit 500; 2 bedrooms, 2 bath plus loft. The basic interior decor is somewhat dark and dated (walnut finish on the high-ceiling's wood beams, dark fireplace stone, etc.). We had a wood fireplace that we did not use (June travel); we'd personally prefer the gas fireplace which some units have. A nearly-new (microfiber?) couch and matching love seat with four throw cushions were of very good quality and quite comfortable. There was a large coffee table and one large end table. There was a large dining table with six upholstered chairs, and several stools at the kitchen counter. There were four (?) resin chairs on the balcony.

The carpets appeared to be newer and were clean and in very good repair. The large (48"?) modern Sony TV and DVD player were also very nice. The small kitchen is satisfactory-plus; the (quartz?) counter tops were updated and a very nice light modern color. There were lots of nice matching glasses and dinnerware, etc. Though we did not cook, that equipment appeared somewhat more dated. The beds were OK and the linens and pillows were particularly nice.

The downstairs bath and toilet were in a separate room from the single sink with a broad mirror and counter top. The upstairs was a 3/4 bath all in one room. So, considering the twin beds in the loft additional to the two other bedrooms, the bathroom facilities are the main limiting factor as to how many friends or family might be comfortable here.

The grounds and facilities were all very well kept and staff members were all very pleasant. A defective toaster was promptly replaced. There are DVD’s for rent at the office. The beach and associated facilities are quite nice, though we didn't really take advantage of it beyond a sunset tour. We booked with pricing that made this an exceptionally good value and we were very happy with our choice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Civilguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Every year for our family reunion we stay at Lakeland Village. We usually rent a Townhouse and it is just great. You basically get your own little house to stay at. The first floor you get your bed room(s), the second floor you have your kitchen and living room, and then you get a loft which usually has 2 beds. The hotel "room" you get is close to the lake, and the area it is in is like a forest. They also recently (2 years) redid the hot tub area by the lake where you get a lake view. It is a great place to stay, and close to a marina where you can parasail, rent Jet Skis, Boats, Kayaks which Lakeland Village gives you discounts on in the office. I would recommend it to anyone. I plan on staying there every time I go to Lake Tahoe.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maxlipman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
1.1 mi away
Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe
Marriott Grand Residence Club Ta...
#9 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 707 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#19 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 471 reviews
0.6 mi away
Inn by the Lake
Inn by the Lake
#24 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#12 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 818 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
#14 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 427 reviews
1.1 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#2 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Lakeland Village Beach & Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Lakeland Village Beach & Mountain Resort

Address: 3535 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#13 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Aston Lakeland Village Beach & Mountain Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Aston Lakeland Village Beach & Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Lakeland Village Beach & Mountain Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Aston Lakeland Village Beach And Mountain Resort
Lakeland Village Beach Mountain Hotel
Lakeland Village Lake Tahoe
Lakeland Village Beach And Mountain Resort South Lake Tahoe
Lakeland Village Beach&Mountain Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing