We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Azure

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Azure
Ranked #16 of 68 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Very friendly place! Good accommodations. Not at the beach, as the title implies. Great location to visit Emerald Bay attractions. Good value. Room was basic but comfortable. There was no noise from the street. Has a great place for breakfast wihtin walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmchael, General Manager at Hotel Azure, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. Delighted that you enjoyed your stay and our location.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    281
    128
    60
    30
See reviews for
245
335
26
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakdale, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

I don't usually do these, but felt compelled to in this case. I booked this room via the web-site from the link from the "American Century" golf tournament. The way that I read the promotion(as well as my son and wife did), we were to receive 2 tickets to the tournament per day that we stayed at this hotel. Upon arriving 3:10pm(3:00pm check-in), we were told that there was no rooms ready. As my wife was checking us in, she asked when we needed to pick up our tickets for tomorrow and was told that they have none, and we were not elgible for them as we had received a discount already. After telling the clerk that I booked this room directly from the link, and did not look for any discount, and that I felt this was misleading. He told us that for the misunderstanding, he would UPGRADE us, and he sure did!?! Our room was handicap accesible(why?) with a beautiful view of the parking lot and garbage dumpster!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmchael, General Manager at Hotel Azure, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
I am terribily sorry that you were frustrated during your recent stay at the Inn. You booked a discounted room rather than the golf package. Our fault. We will work to improve the clarity of our website next year. At 570 sq. ft. the room you stayed in is our largest with a private patio and adjacent garden that has grown like crazy this summer. And yes, beyound that is a parking lot and a necessary but not very attractive dumpster can be seen over the shrubs.

Speaking of frustration, let me expose a tad to our readers in general. Inn by the Lake works hard to keep up with the ever changing requirements of the Americans with Disibility Act (ADA). We have the required number of accessable rooms. The main elements in these units is space to manuever a wheel chair, grab bars at the toilet and bath/shower and a few other aids for those who may have special needs. There is absolutely nothing that would interfear with a fully able guest's enjoyment of the unit. Unfortunately, a misconception exists as it is not uncommon for a guest to express resentment when their room is so equipped. Three years ago we spent $7,000 for an electric ADA pool lift. This week it was used for the second time which works out to $3,500 per use. The smile on the young womans face who was using the lift made it clear that this was money very well spent.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wyoming
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

My wife and I spent a long weekend here celebrating our first wedding anniversary. We had a ground floor room, but were a bit removed from the entrance and never found noise to be an issue. The room was relatively basic, but comfortable and met all of our needs.

If you're in to pools, this area was especially nice, with a regular-sized pool, a hot tub, and a 'happy medium' heated pool with the spillover water from the hot tub. Great way to relax in the evening! Adjacent to the pool area was also a pretty decent fitness center, along with a game room that had a few basic games, where we had some epic canasta battles well into the night (I promise we've only been married for a year).

The main perk of this place is clearly the location. It's directly across the street from the south shores of lake Tahoe, with some prime view rooms available. There's also beach access via a flight of stairs directly by the crosswalk once you're across the road. Turn right at the bottom of the stairs for a relatively large beach area, turn left for some great sitting rocks that are right in the shade. My wife and I spent a good amount of time down here.

Also a few minutes' drive away is Heavenly village, which has some shopping opportunities, games, and a gondola ride that leads to some hiking trails and pretty sweet views. Another minute or two up the road is the casinos, in case you're looking to get your gamboooooooool on. Something to love for everybody!

We didn't have much interaction with staff during our stay, but found those we encountered to be helpful and pleasant. In fact, the lady at checkout was nice enough to warn us of some fires in the path of our intended route, which saved us time and caused us to take a more scenic direction. Many thanks for that! We love Tahoe and would definitely stay here again if we some back to the southern area

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pknight212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmchael, General Manager at Hotel Azure, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Glad you and your new bride love Tahoe. Must admit, I loved your review. You pointed out some often overlooked areas which our readers will benefit from. It would be great if you were to make a visit to the inn an annual tradition. Let me know as I would love to give your reservation my personal attention.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed here for the 4th of July weekend. Right across the street from Lake Tahoe. Great views. The major draw back for us was animals were allowed at the hotel and it seemed everyone had one. Not just dogs, but a lady even had a cat. If we had known animals were allowed we would have stayed somewhere else because you never know what is left on the carpets in the room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PVmexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmchael, General Manager at Hotel Azure, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for sharing and we appreciate your perspective on the Inn being pet friendly. Out of our 100 units we did have four legged friends in 5 of our guest units on 7/3 and 3 on 7/4. We rarely have any problems with pets but on occassion their handlers question our $20 per night pet fee. However, this is necessary to cover the cost of the extra time our housekeepers spend to insure that pet check-out rooms are dropless and spotless.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We enjoyed the stay. The staff was friendly and accommodating, providing chairs to folks who wanted to watch 4th of July fireworks over the lake. The room was spacious and had a great view. We had 3 sinks, which turned out to be oddly useful a couple times. Dog friendly! The location is great, being just out of the busiest tourist areas, but close enough to several local restaurants to walk 5 - 10 minutes to breakfast or dinner.

It is about time for some renovations, given the age of the place, but they keep it clean. The little fridge was a bit under-powered in the summer weather.

Room Tip: Try to snag a 3rd floor room for a good view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmchael, General Manager at Hotel Azure, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and we were pleased that you enjoyed the fireworks show over the lake from our new front lawn. As soon as we have a short break in occupancy we will be installing the final 13 of the 100 plus new LED flat screen TVs we recently purchased. With the nice increase in business we are enjoying we will continue our tradition of reinvesting in the property but at a faster pace. Come back and stay with us for the Labor Day fireworks show!
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Inn by the Lake as part of our Anniversary, I got a King size room with partial view of the lake ( cut down few large trees would have full view :) )..I reserve thru travelocity , I could have get better deal if I walk up and negotiated , the place was near empty because we stayed during the week before the 4th of July.. The room was quite clean and featured ammenities such as a microwave and refrigerator, A/C work great.. Across the street is a public access beach with paddle board and kayak rental that we found clean, and a great picnic lunch spot.. The front desk staff is courteous and they allowed me a later check-out time, give us extra time to take pictures and walked the beach before we head out to the airport....all and all it was great stay, and if we ever come to south Lake Tahoe again , we would stay here ....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmchael, General Manager at Hotel Azure, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you so very much! You said it all and we look forward to your next visit.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

This was a perfect spot for a little weekend getaway! We had drove all night and arrived at 10am and they were gracious enough to get us in a room immediately, upgraded us to a waterfront view and were so full of information and helpful suggestions. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmchael, General Manager at Hotel Azure, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We were pleased to accomodate your early arrival and delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Please come stay with us again.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.3 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
1.0 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.9 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
#20 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Azure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Azure

Property: Hotel Azure
Address: 3300 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-7907 (Formerly Inn by the Lake)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Azure 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Azure has undergone an extensive remodel to elevate your stay during your next trip to South Lake Tahoe. Conveniently located across the street from Lake Tahoe's El Dorado Beach, a few minutes away from Heavenly Mountain and providing easy access to all that Tahoe has to offer there is something for everyone at Hotel Azure. We have a fully equipped fitness room, sauna, outdoor swimming pool (seasonal)and bi-level spa. Enjoy our family fun center, Tahoe Bowl - featuring Blue Dog Gourmet Pizza and Lane 17 Sports Bar. Bear Beach Cafe serves breakfast, lunch and dinner for your family dining pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Azure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn By The Lake Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Hotel By The Lake
By The Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing