We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nightmare” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn by the Lake

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn by the Lake
Ranked #16 of 68 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Colusa, California
1 review
“Nightmare”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

There were so many reasons why this trip was a nightmare. The front desk was not helpful, they would talk nicely but not offer any help. It was very strange. The place smelt of mildew and kept very dirty. We had a suite so I was surprised it was the way it was. There are also mirrors everywhere that look creepy. The bathroom especially as there is a space between the wall on the other side and the bathroom, and then a mirror. Like something you would see on a creeper show where they video record you. Given the 80's decor, the tootless front desk person, it made the uncomfortable stay even more so.

Room Tip: The rooms walls are very thin so try something on the top floor on the end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmchael, General Manager at Inn by the Lake, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
This was posted to our site in error. The guest did not stay at Inn by the Lake. We are endeavoring to contact Trip Advisor to have it removed.
Regards,
Dan McHale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    269
    126
    58
    30
See reviews for
224
329
23
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Morgan Hill, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We Spent two nights had a puppy we felt welcome The Staff was great Karla housekeeper very nice and Lizzie at the Desk all very warm and friendly great view of the Lake. The View in Room 104 was great.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the VIEW
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adelita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmchael, General Manager at Inn by the Lake, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Delighted you enjoyed your stay and that Lizzie and Karla were especially friendly & helpful. It is always nice to hear that ones efforts do not go unnoticed. Please come back and see us again soon.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I just stayed here for our anniversary and I was happy to see the cleanliness of the room because she is a clean freak and when she says its clean, it's clean. Front desk and the maids were friendly and helpful. The heating system was ancient but didn't really bother me once the room warmed up it stayed a good temperature the next 2 nights we were there. I know the owners or people that work here can't control this but I've never heard so much racket coming from the room above us in the middle of the night. Sound like kids dropping golf balls on the floor and running around. Finally I had enough at 1 a.m. And banged on the ceiling and whoever it was got the point and let us sleep the rest of the night lol. I would stay there again, I feel like we received a fair price on a nice room.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Medevacpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmchael, General Manager at Inn by the Lake, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about our staff and the high level of cleanliness we maintain at the Inn. We understand how important good housekeeping is and are fortunate to have a seasoned team that maintains our high standards. We wish to extend our apologies for the noise which disrupted your sleep. When staying in a first class lodging property never hesitate to bring matters of this attention to the 24/7 reception desk. Typically, all it takes is a call to the offending room from our Guest Service Represenative to quell the disturbance. We also have security available if necessary and we never disclose the reporting party. Thank you again for sharing.
Best regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We have stayed at a dozen different hotels in both North and South Lake Tahoe, and I would book this one again.
Located across from the lake some rooms have views (not ours but what-ever) and close to the California entrance to Heavenly Ski resort. This hotel is not near the casino, and I like that.
Room had a fridge, microwave, coffee balcony and most importantly to me, robes.
We were skiing so I really wanted a hotel with a hot tub. This has 2 large tubs full of very hot water. They do not have jets, however, while at one time they did but now do now, but again, it was hot and there was space so whatever.
This hotel is next to Mac Duffs Bar, and that has some of the best food and service in Tahoe so we will be coming here again just for that.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmchael, General Manager at Inn by the Lake, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for your very constructive and informative review. As I write this response we are receiving a fresh layer of snow. Glad you enjoyed our hot tub. Once the snow melts and the ground thaws in the spring we will fix a broken spa pipe and have the jets back in service. Please come back again soon.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We spent three nights here at the end of December, departing on NYE. The staff was friendly and professional, and the room was comfortable - especially for the price, the location, and definitely compared with some of the hotels and condominiums we have rented in Tahoe. We even had a small lake view from our balcony. The property is older and could use some updates - to the slider door insulation, to the sinks, the lighting fixtures and even the artwork. A newer TV with inputs for HDMI or other video cables. The beds were comfortable and the room was a decent size for four of us with all of our holiday and ski stuff. The housekeeping staff did a great job, and the parking lot was plowed early every morning (about 6, 'cause we could hear it through the sliding door). The on-property restaurant had a great staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deborahhorger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmchael, General Manager at Inn by the Lake, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Delighted that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your constructive input . We are in the process of updating our Lake Bldg bathrooms with new granite vanities, sinks faucets, mirrors, comodes, lighting fixtures plus some other touches. We are currently about a third of the way through and await delivery of the granite so we may complete this project. I'll post a photo upon completion. We are gradually upgrading to flat screen LED TVs and hope to speed up this project in the spring. Thanks again for sharing.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed in the deluxe suite for 3 nights. Checkin was a breeze, room was clean and perfect size for our family. Perfect location - close to restuarants, safeway and Heavenly for skiing. Pool and hot tub were perfect. We were in 3rd floor with amazing views of the lake. Highly recommend, will definitely go back.

Heating system was a bit arcane - had to manually turn on/off, climate control didn't work.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmchael, General Manager at Inn by the Lake, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thanks for your great comments about the Inn and our neighborhood. We are one of the few properties in town with interior corridors, central heating & AC plus great insulation. Typically these factors add up to a high level of comfort. You are right though as the heat will shut down at the temp setting but not the fan. I will renew my efforts to find a new thermostat that can address both issues. Delighted that you enjoyed staying in one of our deluxe suites! We look forward to your next visit.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

I arrived after the first freak snowstorm of the season and the hotel was nearly empty (the town was nearly empty too). The local temperature had dropped from the 60s to the 20s almost overnight. The desk clerk, whose name was Rosie, couldn't have been more gracious and welcoming, and upgraded me to a lake-facing room. The visit would have been ideal except for the very noisy and not very efficient heating system which worked erratically. It took about 12 hours for the room to reach a serviceable temperature. My sense was their heating units (or maybe just that one) are probably long overdue for replacement; at another time of year, it might have been just fine.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmchael, General Manager at Inn by the Lake, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Please excuse my delay in responding to your constructive comments. We would like to extend our sincere apologies for the fan coil unit in your unit not working properly. We are one of the few tahoe properties with interior corridors and central heating.air conditioning. We should of detected the problem with the unit in your room which allows you to set the tempature to your particular preferences. We owe you a more successful upgrade. Please let me know the next time you plan to visit the Lake so that I may make amends.
Happy Holiday,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.3 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#14 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#10 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
1.0 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#8 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
1.8 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#9 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
#20 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn by the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn by the Lake

Property: Inn by the Lake
Address: 3300 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-7907
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn by the Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn by the Lake is conveniently located across the street from Lake Tahoe's El Dorado Beach. Heavenly Mountain Resort is a mile away and the Inn's mid-town location offers easy access to all that Tahoe has to offer. We have a fully equipped fitness room, sauna, outdoor swimming pool (seasonal)and bi-level spa. Enjoy our family fun center, Tahoe Bowl - featuring Blue Dog Gourmet Pizza and Lane 17 Sports Bar. Bear Beach Cafe serves breakfast, lunch and dinner for your family dining pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Inn by the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn By The Lake Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Hotel By The Lake
By The Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing