We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fits the budget...”
Review of Hotel Azure

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Azure
Ranked #15 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
US
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fits the budget...”
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Visited the hotel during the labor day weekend of 2011.. The hotel is conveniently located and faces the lake.. But they have very very few rooms that actually face the lake.. We somehow expected to atleast have a decent view from our room, but ended up getting a view of the dumpster and parking lot from our patio.. The room was dark and slightly outdated, the amenities were great..
The staff is extremely friendly and guide you with all the activities that can be done there. They arranged for an evening BBQ and we could watch the fireworks right from the front porch of the property.. On the whole, a nice budget getaway but not really a great resort experience...

Room Tip: Do specifically ask for a lake facing property else you might not be allocated one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sindhuja_raman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmchael, General Manager at Hotel Azure, responded to this review, December 26, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Actually, about 60% of our units have full or partial lake views. We only market our full view units as lake view. You will note on our website that all other units carry the designation property view. Please also keep in mind that we are located on over 5 acres and the lake can be viewed from our lobby, fitness room, club room, event center and restaurant. We also appreciate your kind words concerning our staff and the value we offer.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    296
    136
    62
    32
See reviews for
266
354
29
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

I am booked to stay at Inn by the Lake for 16 days over xmas and new year of 2011 / 12.
This will be my third time staying at this hotel for a snowboarding holiday and my fifth time in South Lake Tahoe.
I booked it through www.americanskiclassics.com (UK based) again as it was the most competitive price for a hotel of a good standard in South Lake Tahoe. There are many other options but this is my favourite based on past experience, cost and location.
We asked for our upcoming holiday if there was any chance of a free upgrade to one of the larger rooms at the back of the hotel as last time our room which was perfectly fine was under a large pine tree which would drop pine cones onto our roof in the middle of the night. This was arranged and we are looking forward to the extra space and being right next to the hot tub.

Main Points:
Staff were very attentive and friendly.
Room well looked after by housekeeping.
Bus service prompt and friendly too.
Big comfortable beds.
Free Wifi.
Fantastic view of the lake
Great value for money
Pub a couple of minutes walk away.
Bowling Alley with great pizza which you can take away virtually on doorstep.
Great Hot Tub and pool - I dont stay anywhere without a hot tub on a winter holiday, this one is very good.

We had breakfast in the Big Bear most mornings as it is next door admiring the views of the lake.

All in all a great place to stay, it is not a 5 star hotel but you are not paying for 5 star.Location wise you need use the free bus which picks you up at the front door or drive to get around. It is not in the centre of town but I have never found that to be an issue. Taxis are cheap if you really need one and as the town has casinos they are always available.

PS
In the UK they have commercials / adverts on TV to encourage visits to California, one of the spots they feature is Emerald Bay. Go there on a clear day and take your camera. It is stunning. You will see what I mean.

Room Tip: Rooms near the hot tub are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rob064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmchael, General Manager at Hotel Azure, responded to this review, December 26, 2011
This is a very helpful review for visitors considering Lake Tahoe and the INN. We continue to be mindful of the current economy by offering great value. We look forward to welcoming you back to Inn by the Lake.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rexburg, Idaho
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Nice, comfortable room with a fantastic view of the lake. Friendly staff. Beautiful landscaping around the pool and hot tub. Walking distance to a bowling alley with great pizza and another restaurant for all meals. Look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Ask for view. We had a 2 bedroom suite so we could visit more with the other couple we only see onc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmchael, General Manager at Hotel Azure, responded to this review, December 28, 2011
Thank you so much for your post. You raise several seldom mentioned points. The South Shore is often marketed by our visitors authority as where the action is - which is true. However, our property with it's mid-town location is also a great place to kick back and relax. Check our our immediate neighborhood on our web site for restaurants and activities you can walk too. Our two-bedroom, two-bath suites are ideal for families and/or two couples. Thank you again for sharing and come back and see us again soon.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pablo, California
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Our stay was short but the staff was great and the room was very comfortable. Would stay again if in South Lake Tahoe.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmchael, General Manager at Hotel Azure, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
Thank you so much. What could be more important then the staff!
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mongo, Indiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Looking for an extended weekend getaway; found a good rate and tempting description for the Inn By The Lake ("Tahoe's Boutique Resort", "Tahoe's Unique Resort with Priceless Views"). Property turned out to be a well-maintained 80's vintage motel. Only boutique-like attributes that I could identify were (a) the provision of terrycloth robes for guest use, and (b) the use of white linen (duvet cover and pillow shams). The rest was strictly motel, well-maintained, but still motel. Front desk staff was cheerful and friendly but weren't provided with any kind of training or desk reference regarding nearby dining and entertainment options. Property had a great Lake view, but was separated from the Lake by busy Tahoe Boulevard.

Pros - Nice, clean, extra large outdoor hot-tub with interesting multi-level design, (adjoining pool looked good, too); pool/tub towels provided in room; room was relatively quiet; property was well maintained; front desk staff cheerful & friendly; reasonable price.

Cons - Motel. Nice motel, but motel, plain and simple.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salchicha_Verde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmchael, General Manager at Hotel Azure, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
When we introduced our "Tahoe's Boutique Resort" tag line some six years ago our primary goal was to get across the point that we were a small, unique resort. As mentioned priviously the term boutique has come to mean many things to different people. Thus, we are dropping boutique from our phone greeting and website to avoid confusion. Call the Inn to hear our new tag line. Thank you for your comments.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Inn by the Lake is AAA rated as a 3-star, BUT the room we had was far from 3-star. Maybe a 2-star. The room was very small with only 1 bed. The carpeting needed to be replaced and was dirty around the walls. The bathroom had linoleum floors instead of tile. We will NOT stay there again as the price did not reflect the type of room that we had.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TNLADY155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmchael, General Manager at Hotel Azure, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
Please accept our sincere apologies for any deficiencies you may of incountered in one of our standard queen non-view rooms. There is never an excuse for a lack of cleanliness. However, after a busy summer, we are in the mist of our Fall heavy cleaning program and if we missed this before, we will catch it now. Thank you for writing.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Inn by the Lake is very centrally located with a friendly, helpful staff. The room was comfortable and clean. However, our first room was #345 and located directly beneath an insanely noisy compressor that kept us awake ALL night long. The morning after we complained to the front desk and they moved us to a room on the second floor. Much quieter and in all likelihood we would return. The best part of staying here was the recommendation from the young man at the desk to eat at MacDuff's which is next door. Amazing food and a wonderful crew.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank george_sand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmchael, General Manager at Hotel Azure, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
Please accept our apologies for the mechanical problem that disturbed you the first night of your stay. This problem was resolved and we appreciate your bring it to our attention. Let me know the next time you visit Lake Tahoe as I would like to give your reservation my personal attention.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.2 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
0.9 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
1.0 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
1.8 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
1.7 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Azure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Azure

Property: Hotel Azure
Address: 3300 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-7907 (Formerly Inn by the Lake)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Azure 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Azure has undergone an extensive remodel to elevate your stay during your next trip to South Lake Tahoe. Conveniently located across the street from Lake Tahoe's El Dorado Beach, a few minutes away from Heavenly Mountain and providing easy access to all that Tahoe has to offer there is something for everyone at Hotel Azure. We have a fully equipped fitness room, sauna, outdoor swimming pool (seasonal)and bi-level spa. Enjoy our family fun center, Tahoe Bowl - featuring Blue Dog Gourmet Pizza and Lane 17 Sports Bar. Bear Beach Cafe serves breakfast, lunch and dinner for your family dining pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Azure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn By The Lake Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Hotel By The Lake
By The Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing