We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fortunate location good food nice rooms”
Review of Hotel Azure

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Azure
Ranked #15 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fortunate location good food nice rooms”
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Nice beds good location and good service convenient fridge microwave nice restaurants. Almost everything is in walking distance. Relaxing beach 2 blocks away. One room was very long it could fit 6 people. That room had a dishwasher.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elise118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    308
    142
    63
    32
See reviews for
278
374
30
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2011

On our way to Reno we stopped there for 2 nights 1st night we got a big room which was very good until the air conditioner broke after that we switched to a smaller room and was a great room

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommy11115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2011

This was our 4th time staying at this Inn. Always clean and well kept. Staff friendly and very helpful, and can get discounts on things like a lake cruise. Only shortcoming would be a lack of a continental breakfast or something similar. No snacks either, both of which make this place a bit pricey, though the lake view is likely what one is paying for. Pool and tub cleaned daily.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyswxman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmchael, General Manager at Hotel Azure, responded to this review, July 31, 2011
Great comments. Thank you so much.
When we leased out our restaurant building, we opted to offer a full sit down breakfast rather than a free continental. Consider our bed and breakfast package for an excellent value.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We stayed at the Inn by the lake for a few days and loved the location. There were road improvements outside but the hotel staff did their best to minimize the disruption in any way they could (providing ear plugs, if required)
The hotel is not new but appears to have been recently decorated and upgraded, very tastefully leaving the old character in place. The room was spotlessly clean.
The room we had overlooked the lake and hotel pool, a great view!

Room Tip: The room over looking the lake also over look the pool which has a hot tub that is open until 11, qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LbVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmchael, General Manager at Hotel Azure, responded to this review, July 31, 2011
Thank you, we love our lake view mid-town location. While it has been quite near the Inn lately, Caltrans is continuing its Trout Creek to Ski Run Blvd. enhancement project of new curbs, gutters, sidewalks, landscaping and streetlights. The results will be fantastic and enhance the bike paths and ADA access throughout mid-town.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We stayed here over July 4th weekend for 4 nights. We arrived a little early, but the desk staff was awesome and check-in lasted about 1 minute.

The hotel rooms are small and outdated, but the bed was comfortable and we were well rested our whole trip. The bathroom was big (about 75% the size of the room), with a noisy fan that we used to drowned out the noise of some July 4th party people.

Our room faced the parking lot. Not a big deal for us because we were only in the room for a short time each night and morning. I could see how this might bother some people.

Overall, we had a good time on vacation and REALLY ENJOYED the weather in South Lake Tahoe. If you don't mind a little older hotel with nothing super fancy then I would recommend Inn by the Lake.

Room Tip: DO NOT leave food out. Ants. The Cafe next door is great. Also, if you are not a people person do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bruce_donnovan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmchael, General Manager at Hotel Azure, responded to this review, July 31, 2011
Your comments are very much appreciate by me and I am sure our readers. Can't help but get a kick out of the fact that older buildings in Europe are charming and anything in the US over 20 years is outdated. Yes the Inn is "dated" specifically 1982 which makes it one of the newest hotels in the Tahoe Basin. In addition to having great guests we have great owners who allow us to reinvest cash flow right back into the Inn. Glad you enjoyed our fantastic weather and thank you for your recommendation.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonora, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Perfect location-directly accross the street from the Lake which made for excellent viewing of the fireworks. Grounds were beautiful with a nice pool and jacuzzi. Also enjoyed using games from the Club room. Upon a very late arrival of 11PM on a busy holiday weekend, we were surprised when we jokingly asked if there was any availability for an upgrade to a larger, lakeview room. Our original reservation was for a basic small queen room. They actually had a King room with a lake view availbe for an extra $60/nite. The room was spacious and the view was incredible-well worth it. Bed was comfy and room decor was older but very clean. One of the terry robes provided was rather tattered. We enjoyed a very fresh tastey breakfast at the restaurant next door, but when we went back for dinner we were very disappointed. The service was excellent but not so the food.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank softballqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmchael, General Manager at Hotel Azure, responded to this review, July 13, 2011
Delighted that you enjoyed your 4th of July Holiday at Inn by the Lake! We and others appreciate your descriptive comments and constructive input. Sorry about that robe and we have shared with the operator of our restaurant your nice comments about breakfast and input on dinner. This years Labor Day fireworks show promises to be as good as the one you witnessed on Independence Day. With the sun setting earlier in September we often host a hot dog BBQ for guests on our lawn. I burnt a few weiners last year thus, I'm not sure at this point if I will be back by popular demand. Stay tuned.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Our family spent one weeknight June 2011, $129 with a view of the lake. The negative reviews seem mostly due to higher expectations. Compare instead with the Best Western or H.I. Express which are similar in price if you get the Inn's 30% discounted rate (which we got and I assume they offer frequently). With that in mind, this place is great. Big outdoor pool heated just right. Huge two-level jacuzzi. Exercise room. They've got free loaner beach-cruiser bikes that my wife and I and two teenage daughters rode on the nice paved trail surrounding a campground next door. We walked across the street to the beach. Staff was EXTREMELY friendly. The view was beautiful, looking across the street to a broad view of the lake (there are several buildings, only the front building has the good view).

This place would do itself a favor by NOT referring to itself as a "boutique" hotel. It's not. It's an older property, and while they've kept the place reasonably clean and freshly painted, those who have stayed in modern hotels will notice the old-style tile in the bath, the older carpeting that's fading a bit, the big CRT-style TV (not LCD flatscreen), the old style floorboard and wall texture, the older elevator, the older roof style, etc. It would cost them a fortune to upgrade, so I can see why they choose instead to just lower prices. Worked great for us, we were quite satisfied and don't mind the older look and feel. But I can see how honeymooners or others wanting luxurious accommodations would be disappointed -- just drop the "boutique" and you'll have fewer dissatisfied customers.

(BTW, I notice the management responds to most TripAdvisor reviews. A piece of advice -- don't respond to the positive ones, and keep your responses to the negatives ones SHORT. Your numerous and lengthy responses make it such that people just don't read your responses. Oh, and keep up the good work with the cheerful staff; the three girls that were there the evening of June 15 were delightful!).

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankInCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmchael, General Manager at Hotel Azure, responded to this review, July 1, 2011
Thank you for you’re constructive but lengthily review. Construction was completed on Inn by the Lake in 1982. You’re right; we expend our resources on keeping things fresh, working & clean and not attempting to update our vintage alpine architecture. An example of this would be our Tahoe Bowl, which celebrated its 50th anniversary last year. In recent years we have spent nearly a half million dollars computerizing, installing new lanes, AC, a Sports Bar, Blue Dog Pizza etcetera. However, if you look at the outside of the building you would never know its 50 years old. It looks at least 60.

The seasonal nature and environmental restrictions (which for the most part we support) make it difficult to build and/or operate a business in the Tahoe Basin. This is further evidenced by the fact that there are only 3 South Lake Tahoe lodging properties newer that Inn by the Lake. Speaking of seasonality, we offer seasonal pricing and attractive discounts from time to time. Discounts are not typically available over summer weekends or holidays. This summer we are offering a 30% mid-week discount for guests staying three consecutive nights or longer. We appreciate your bring this up but do not wish to miss-lead anyone.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.2 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#12 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
932 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
881 reviews
0.9 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#6 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,069 reviews
1.0 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
416 reviews
1.8 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Azure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Azure

Property: Hotel Azure
Address: 3300 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-7907 (Formerly Inn by the Lake)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Azure 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Azure has undergone an extensive remodel to elevate your stay during your next trip to South Lake Tahoe. Conveniently located across the street from Lake Tahoe's El Dorado Beach, a few minutes away from Heavenly Mountain and providing easy access to all that Tahoe has to offer there is something for everyone at Hotel Azure. We have a fully equipped fitness room, sauna, outdoor swimming pool (seasonal)and bi-level spa. Enjoy our family fun center, Tahoe Bowl - featuring Blue Dog Gourmet Pizza and Lane 17 Sports Bar. Bear Beach Cafe serves breakfast, lunch and dinner for your family dining pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Azure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn By The Lake Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Hotel By The Lake
By The Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing