We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel
Ranked #18 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Reviewed March 30, 2014

we stayed here for 7 nights in march and found the hotel to be very clean and tidy you get a full american breakfast in the morning included in you're price and a two hour free bar from 4.30 until 6.30 in the afternoons which is just what you need after a hard days skiing the rooms are all suites with a refurbished bath shower room and a lounge area with flat screen TV and couch the bedrooms also have a flat screen TV and sink the rooms are very spacious and there is also a microwave and sink in the lounge area all in all a very nice place to stay in the center of town and two minutes walk from the gondola there is also a pool and hot tub and gym we highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (760)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

612 - 618 of 760 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2014

I stayed for a week at the Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel, as part of a charter ski trip. Typical Empress Suites-style layout, with a 1980s vibe. Buffet breakfast was included in our rate. The hot food buffet was ok, but I couldn't understand why a decent hotel would use communal jars of jam and peanut butter, instead of individual packets, considering the volume of guests (and their respective germs) going through the buffet every day.

The pool was often filled with kids, and according to some friends, the hot tub was more warm than hot.

All the staff I met were friendly, and the concierge desk had lots of suggestions, as well as discounts at several restaurants. The ski valet was handy.

My bed was comfortable, but some friends found the beds uncomfortable. From our room on the 7th floor, we had a nice view, facing the gondola.

We ate dinner at the hotel restaurant a couple times, which always had a loss leader dinner special that sounded tempting. The steak and shrimp for $16.95 ended up being a fairly tough piece of cold skirt steak, with some garlic shrimp that seemed to have been cooked in advance. Better to order off the menu than their specials. I liked the fried chicken salad.

All in all, a good hotel, with good rates and clean rooms, but the Marriott next to the Heavenly Gondola looked like a much nicer place to stay, if one has the budget to splurge.

Interestingly, the Hyatt at Incline, which was a much nicer, more deluxe property, had the same room rate as the Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel the nights I was there. I realize it's located further from the ski resorts, but I'd probably stay in Incline next time I visit Lake Tahoe. I found Stateline/ South Lake Tahoe convenient for Heavenly, but the town itself is very commercial, and I preferred the look and vibe of Incline, if I was arranging my own stay near Tahoe.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank phoenikia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We loved staying there, rooms were spacious, great location. Ski storage is convenient. There needs to be signage for bell stand and valet. The concierge is very helpful and has good coupon deals. The staff is very friendly and courteous.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We've stayed here several times (when it was owned by Embassy Suites). Some of the rooms have now been renovated and we were lucky to stay on the 4th floor on which all the rooms (I believe) have been remodeled.
Much better now with new carpeting, nicer looking bathroom etc. Basically, bottom line is if you're traveling with kids this place is perfect as there is a separate living area with a tv and pull out sofa bed. Plenty of space to keep all your ski / board gear without falling over each other.

They are still doing free drinks at happy hour (which can be a zoo at prime time) same for the buffet breakfast (which we thought was better when Embassy Suites owned the hotel – but still pretty good). If you're there to ski and want easy access to the gondola it's perfect. We go up to Tahoe a lot and I still think this is the best value for families.

I'd like to also add how helpful all the staff are, from valet, to check-in to bell man.

Tip: If you want to avoid the zoo-like feeding frenzy of kids in pjs on a Sunday morning at breakfast, get down there earlier. We've found on several occasions that it's nice and tranquil earlier in the morning.

Room Tip: Any of the new remodeled rooms would be a good option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TeeEmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed here the first week of March, 2014 for our annual ski trip. It is located just across the street from Harrah's Casino and a block away from the Gondola. Very convenient to the Heavenly village and gambling. It is a nice hotel, comfortable room but currently under renovation: replanting the plants, caulking trim, painting, etc. Our room felt like it hadn't been remodeled yet -- mis-matched decor, hook from the bathroom door fell off, and bad paint jobs. Other than that, the room was nice and the bedroom is separate from the dining table, tv, and mini-fridge/wet bar -- this is a nice feature. I used this area to log-in to work a couple mornings while my spouse slept, it was far enough away and I didn't disturb the sleeping. Breakfast buffet each morning is included and really good -- both cold and hot items. There is a complimentary happy hour each evening that we didn't attend because we were concerned that the highly aggressive concierge folks would be there pushing us to buy a timeshare -- Our biggest complaint is the concierge, we asked them for a dinner recommendation nearby and they couldn't give us options, no map, no list of local restaurants, it was strange. We complained to the desk and they informed us that the concierge is not affiliated with the hotel, only rents the space -- this explains the multiple phone calls we received from them pushing us to visit the concierge for our "free gift" - whatever -- it was annoying and they were not helpful when we needed it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jay Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Have stayed here twice before.great location for skiing/Casino's.My biggest complaint is the cost of the Wifi.we stayed here for 7 nights which would have cost $90.considering how much it cost to stay here and the fact that most motels in resort have free Wifi I think this cost is daylight robbery.also breakfast was ok but not great often the food was cold.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank frabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Excellent Hotel. Comfortable, great service, very clean and with delicious breakfast and happy hour. The breakfast and happy hour (beverage and tasty snacks) are included.

The location is excellent. It is near of the Casino and Heavenly Mountain Resort (3 min walk).

The only problem is that the wifi and parking are paid. However, if you park your car at the hotel ($ 25 a day if I'm not mistaken), you have free access to internet.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marieloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
912 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#9 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,100 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,150 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
#17 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel

Address: 4130 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#5 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#13 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: $137 - $382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel is South Lake Tahoe's only all-suite lodging option. Located at the base of Heavenly Mountain Resort and moments from world-class gaming, dining, ice-skating, golf, shopping, hiking, biking, entertainment, and lake activities. Our stylish Lake Tahoe accommodations are perfect for families, corporate meetings & retreats, social functions, groups, Weddings, or an adventure vacation. Every hotel reservation at Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel includes a comfortable two-room suite, free breakfast buffet, and a nightly happy hour. Discover this outstanding Lake Tahoe lodging resort and destination, make your reservation today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Lake Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Embassy Suites South Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing