We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat the convenience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel
Ranked #17 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Aliso Viejo, California
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Can't beat the convenience”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We are a family of 5 and do not fit into a traditional hotel room. Normally we would rent a condo, but since we were only going to be staying two nights we decided to stay here. Having stayed in Embassy Suites in the past, we knew we could make it work.

Pros:

The room was clean, comfortable, and up to date.
5 minute walk to the Heavenly gondola.
Close to many shops and restaurants.
Steps from the casinos.
The breakfast was not the best but certainly not the worse one we have had at this type of hotel.
You can store your ski/snowboards downstairs if you would like.
Very friendly and accommodating staff.
Washers and dryers available.

Cons:

Our package included WiFi, but it was very slow.
The coffee in the buffet was awful. Made a better cup from the Keurig machine in the room.

Room Tip: Washers and dryers available to guests on the 8th and 9th floors. Soap and quarters available at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clairef246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    276
    116
    45
    35
See reviews for
292
240
6
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

This hotel used to be known as the Embassy Suites and is situated 5 minutes from the Heavenly Valley ski area and gondolas. There are nice shops/boutiques near the hotel. The rooms/suites are spacious enough and come with a small refrigerator, microwave and a pull-out sofa which is reasonably comfortable. The service was very good and the employees attentive. Great for a family with children. Should we decide to go back, I would definitely return to this establishment.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

High prices New Years week,not matched by high quality.Copper Ridge Happy Hour wines were barely passable. Snacks were pretzels and popcorn.Buffet breakfast missing Embassy Suites omelette station, choice of cereals,choice of sausage,ham.bacon,etc. Pluses: kids love the indoor pool next to the buffet.Location is steps to Harrah's Casino and more steps to Heavenly Gondola or shuttle buses. Cons: mandatory $25 valet parking daily. Wi-fi fees.Some rooms not remodeled yet.

Room Tip: floor 2 gives easy access to pool,jacuzzi,happy hour and buffet s(eat in your suite)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank henrylew9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

The Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel is located right by the Heavenly Ski Village where the gondola takes you up to the ski area. The hotel was an Embassy Suites on the past but has maintained all its amenities such as the happy hour and a great breakfast. The rooms are all suites and very clean.
Great hotel for family vacation!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank conradowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico DF
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

I spent two nights at Lake Tahoe Resort. From the fast check in, to the complementary happy hour, I found everything to be much more than i expected. Service from the restaurants, the bar, front desk and housekeeping was really corteous, helpful and attend pretty quick any request.
The rooms are huge, with a separate bedroom, living room, work desk, minibar and microwave. Even though the rooms are not new, they are pretty well kept.
The heated pool and jacuzzi are just what you need after a day at the mountain.
Located right next to Heavenly Village and the Harrahs Casino, you couldn't ask for more.
Definitely will come back. I really enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sedicecoconute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

stayed here for 3 days few months ago with my husband, the room rate was very affordable which comes with free breakfast. the front desk was very friendly and was kind enough to give us the free access to the internet. He helped us find good restaurant around the area. The room was big, the living room was spacious, we have a beautiful view and was lucky enough to see a rainbow from our room. The gym is a little small. Good location. Over all we will considerer coming back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllafromtheIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

We stayed for 5 days in December, before the Christmas rush. This is a former Embassy Suites so it has the 2 room layout. The room was clean and well maintained. The bathroom was very clean. The breakfast was good and the food was hot. The main audience for this hotel is families so it is not a luxury hotel but is a good value for the money. All of the staff was helpful and as it was not a busy time they took the time to talk to us. You cannot beat this location as you can walk to the casinos and the gondola at Heavenly.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JIMTDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
881 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#12 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
932 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,069 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
856 reviews
1.0 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#6 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel

Property: Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel
Address: 4130 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#5 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#14 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel is South Lake Tahoe's only all-suite lodging option. Located at the base of Heavenly Mountain Resort and moments from world-class gaming, dining, ice-skating, golf, shopping, hiking, biking, entertainment, and lake activities. Our stylish Lake Tahoe accommodations are perfect for families, corporate meetings & retreats, social functions, groups, Weddings, or an adventure vacation. Every hotel reservation at Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel includes a comfortable two-room suite, free breakfast buffet, and a nightly happy hour. Discover this outstanding Lake Tahoe lodging resort and destination, make your reservation today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Lake Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Embassy Suites South Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing