We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel
Ranked #16 of 72 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
“Excellent Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

My family was very satisfied with the Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel. The breakfast was excellent and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. The location is great with easy access to plenty of activities for both day and night. We hope to return to Lake Tahoe in the future and will definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SueM1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    223
    90
    37
    21
See reviews for
220
189
3
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm City, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed here for four days while we toured the Lake Tahoe area. The hotel services - front desk, concierge, housekeeping were all first rate. Rooms are large, but not luxury. Free breakfast and Happy Hour. The basic restaurant was adequate. Location adjacent to Harrah's is good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Recently stayed here 4 nights & amazed at huge room sizes. Wonderful Hotel abutting Harrah's--the driveway is the Stateline. If you like 2 large private rooms this is the place. Has free breakfast/cocktails or onsite Café -- or walk across driveway to Harrah's!!! Reservation system still shakey but worth it!!

Room Tip: Rooms away from free breakfast area quietier
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George92677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Hotel was previously an Embassy Suites, rooms (suites) were very nice, bathrooms a little dated and needed a deep cleaning. Location was ideal, right on the state line and walking distance to the casinos and plenty of outdoor activities in the near surrounding area. Frontdesk customer service was lacking friendliness, but otherwise everyone was pleasant. The happyhour was continued over from Embassy Suites and great.

Room Tip: Get a room close to the elevators, otherwise it might be a long walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We went to Lake Tahoe for the US Labour Day weekend. We were expecting Swiss-style location, pretty-little towns, easy lake access, the ability to stroll around to etc, beach-side cafes, promenades. Like you'd find in Nice, Brighton, De Panne, even Clacton !

The hotel is OK-ish. Very big and rather cramped - there is a large Marriott next door which bears down on it, and then across the border in Nevada three huge casino resorts which are a real eye-sore. So a little more space would be nice.

What would also be nice is beach access ! The beach is less than a 10 minute walk away - this being America though, most people seem to have lost the use of their legs, and the place is over-run with cars. This is not helped by the fact that South Lake Tahoe town is a building site - walking to the nearest beach is virtually impossible because there are few pavements at the side of the roads !

Once you get to the beach, you are in for a shock. It is PRIVATE. In fact, there are NO beaches in South Lake Tahoe that are public. And no facilities at the beach - no cafes, no promenades, nothing. This was a REAL downer - we LOVE our walks along the beachfront, stopping to look in a restaurants, having the odd G&T by the water-side. Not here. Other than the few pizza places around the hotel, there really is nothing that you can walk to for dinner (and some of those stop serving RIDICULOUSLY early - by 9pm we were the last people in one pizza place at a holiday weekend and they were shutting up !)

The other major drawback is the town itself. It is a dump on the Californian side with unmade roads and pavements, tatty houses and shops, a total lack of order. Loads of scruffy campsites with ancient tumbledown shacks. Nasty. Then you get across to Nevada, and it is high-rise hotels with bright-lights, noise and casinos ! Pretty, it ain't. Which is a shame, because once you get out of the town onto the road around the lake, it is beautiful.

So, it's an OK-ish hotel in a dump of an area, surrounded by some stunning scenery. A real mixed bag.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank net_boyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, CA
Level Contributor
93 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Nice spacious rooms, nice lobby and a good breakfast. The facilities and location are very good. Unfortunately they charge $25 for parking and also charge for WiFi, that is a one star deduction. Staff was always friendly and helpful. The legacy tube TV's were quaint.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Raroach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh NC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

My husband and I combined a work trip with some vacation time in Lake Tahoe. Our meetings were held at the Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel.

The hotel has kept the complimentary breakfast and Manager's Reception that are offered by Embassy Suites. The breakfast was really good! Scrambled eggs were fully cooked and the bacon was crispy. They always had plenty of fresh fruit and hot coffee. The Manager's Reception was more than beer and wine. They offered mixed drinks, as well, with VERY friendly and fun bartenders. Freshly popped corn was a huge hit. Great way to draw folks in!

While we were a small group, the meeting space was very nice and well set-up. The room was quiet and clean and the chairs were comfortable.

Our sleeping room was very nice. While it was not one of the more recently refurbished, it was not out of date. The bed and pillow were very comfortable. Everything was really clean. Loved the bathroom amenities!

The trickiest part of the stay was parking. Their is no self-parking, so you always have to give the car to the valet. So, if you need to get things in and out of your car, it's a hassle.

Otherwise, ALL of the staff we came into contact with were wonderful. Hope we get the chance to go back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PlannerRaleighNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 789 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#15 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 668 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Inn by the Lake
Inn by the Lake
#17 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 689 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 839 reviews
1.0 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#6 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel

Property: Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel
Address: 4130 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#5 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#14 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel is South Lake Tahoe's only all-suite lodging option. Located at the base of Heavenly Mountain Resort and moments from world-class gaming, dining, ice-skating, golf, shopping, hiking, biking, entertainment, and lake activities. Our stylish Lake Tahoe accommodations are perfect for families, corporate meetings & retreats, social functions, groups, Weddings, or an adventure vacation. Every hotel reservation at Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel includes a comfortable two-room suite, free breakfast buffet, and a nightly happy hour. Discover this outstanding Lake Tahoe lodging resort and destination, make your reservation today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Lake Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Embassy Suites South Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing