We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Want to like it more, but spoiled by the area....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel
Ranked #17 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Sussex
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Want to like it more, but spoiled by the area....”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We went to Lake Tahoe for the US Labour Day weekend. We were expecting Swiss-style location, pretty-little towns, easy lake access, the ability to stroll around to etc, beach-side cafes, promenades. Like you'd find in Nice, Brighton, De Panne, even Clacton !

The hotel is OK-ish. Very big and rather cramped - there is a large Marriott next door which bears down on it, and then across the border in Nevada three huge casino resorts which are a real eye-sore. So a little more space would be nice.

What would also be nice is beach access ! The beach is less than a 10 minute walk away - this being America though, most people seem to have lost the use of their legs, and the place is over-run with cars. This is not helped by the fact that South Lake Tahoe town is a building site - walking to the nearest beach is virtually impossible because there are few pavements at the side of the roads !

Once you get to the beach, you are in for a shock. It is PRIVATE. In fact, there are NO beaches in South Lake Tahoe that are public. And no facilities at the beach - no cafes, no promenades, nothing. This was a REAL downer - we LOVE our walks along the beachfront, stopping to look in a restaurants, having the odd G&T by the water-side. Not here. Other than the few pizza places around the hotel, there really is nothing that you can walk to for dinner (and some of those stop serving RIDICULOUSLY early - by 9pm we were the last people in one pizza place at a holiday weekend and they were shutting up !)

The other major drawback is the town itself. It is a dump on the Californian side with unmade roads and pavements, tatty houses and shops, a total lack of order. Loads of scruffy campsites with ancient tumbledown shacks. Nasty. Then you get across to Nevada, and it is high-rise hotels with bright-lights, noise and casinos ! Pretty, it ain't. Which is a shame, because once you get out of the town onto the road around the lake, it is beautiful.

So, it's an OK-ish hotel in a dump of an area, surrounded by some stunning scenery. A real mixed bag.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank net_boyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    282
    123
    47
    37
See reviews for
303
246
6
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salinas, CA
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Nice spacious rooms, nice lobby and a good breakfast. The facilities and location are very good. Unfortunately they charge $25 for parking and also charge for WiFi, that is a one star deduction. Staff was always friendly and helpful. The legacy tube TV's were quaint.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Raroach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh NC
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

My husband and I combined a work trip with some vacation time in Lake Tahoe. Our meetings were held at the Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel.

The hotel has kept the complimentary breakfast and Manager's Reception that are offered by Embassy Suites. The breakfast was really good! Scrambled eggs were fully cooked and the bacon was crispy. They always had plenty of fresh fruit and hot coffee. The Manager's Reception was more than beer and wine. They offered mixed drinks, as well, with VERY friendly and fun bartenders. Freshly popped corn was a huge hit. Great way to draw folks in!

While we were a small group, the meeting space was very nice and well set-up. The room was quiet and clean and the chairs were comfortable.

Our sleeping room was very nice. While it was not one of the more recently refurbished, it was not out of date. The bed and pillow were very comfortable. Everything was really clean. Loved the bathroom amenities!

The trickiest part of the stay was parking. Their is no self-parking, so you always have to give the car to the valet. So, if you need to get things in and out of your car, it's a hassle.

Otherwise, ALL of the staff we came into contact with were wonderful. Hope we get the chance to go back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PlannerRaleighNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City, California
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was our second stay at this hotel. The first time was when it was still an Embassy Suites hotel. We loved the hotel last time and I was curious to see what it would be like now that it's changed hands. Honestly, the only difference I saw was that the appetizers at the Manager's Reception were a little less than last time. The rooms - true two bedroom suites - are wonderful with great views of the mountains. The staff is very nice. It is an excellent locations, across the street from the Nevada border, 20-25 minute walk to the lake. The suites are very quiet. Really, we love this place and will stay there again. A little pricey but worth it.

Room Tip: We have only stayed on the Harrah's side, it has great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DTM46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin, Usa
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

This is a true 5 star hotel. I am a tour director arrived here this evening with 37 guests. Many of them said this is the best hotel they have ever seen. The manager's reception they offered us was superb. The rooms seem more like a lush apartment than a hotel room. The only downside is the fact that we are only here for one night.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank comkelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron Park, California
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My daughter & I went up for just the night since we had business on Sat in nearby Carson City. We found the staff very helpful, the accommodations really nice and the restaurant very, very good. It's a great family place, far enough away from the hustle and bustle of the casinos but close enough to make a short walk to enjoy some adult entertainment. Formerly and Embassy Suites hotel, which we love, the whole layout of the hotel is very nice. The managers welcome with the free drinks is especially nice. As I stated, the restaurant food was really good but it was also cozy and comfortable. Not like a big noisy restaurant but more of a comfortable, quiet place to enjoy an excellent meal. The only negative think I would say is in our room, two of the lamps had very loose fixtures and made me a little worried about getting shocked. In the main room, you had to hold the lamp fixture in order to get the lamp to stay on. I should have reported this but failed to as we hurried out the next morning. In the bedroom, we had to bang on the fixture to get the lamp to come on after we turned the switch. Other than that, a great place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RD P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Hotel recently changed from an Embassy Suites. Layout of hotel, open structure, water features are all nice. Hotel rooms are just ok. Several large carpet stains, shower doesn't drain well but the rooms are relatively clean (which is very important to me). One floor appears to be undergoing a remodel as there are mattresses on the indoor balcony. Lots of nearby restaurants, casinos are 20 feet away. Rates are good.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
888 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,001 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,107 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
878 reviews
1.0 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#6 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel

Property: Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel
Address: 4130 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#5 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#14 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel is South Lake Tahoe's only all-suite lodging option. Located at the base of Heavenly Mountain Resort and moments from world-class gaming, dining, ice-skating, golf, shopping, hiking, biking, entertainment, and lake activities. Our stylish Lake Tahoe accommodations are perfect for families, corporate meetings & retreats, social functions, groups, Weddings, or an adventure vacation. Every hotel reservation at Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel includes a comfortable two-room suite, free breakfast buffet, and a nightly happy hour. Discover this outstanding Lake Tahoe lodging resort and destination, make your reservation today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Lake Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Embassy Suites South Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing