We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Azure(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
$132
$118
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Americana Village(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
$109
Americana Tahoe
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Basecamp South Lake Tahoe(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
$119
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
7 Seas Inn at Tahoe(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe(South Lake Tahoe)
$48
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe(South Lake Tahoe)
$48
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Station House Inn(South Lake Tahoe)(Great Value!)
$94
$89
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Landing Resort & Spa(South Lake Tahoe)
$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (797)
Filter reviews
797 results
Traveler rating
258
298
144
54
43
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
258
298
144
54
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsembassy suitespretzelsindoor poolhappy hourvalet parkingkoi pondfree breakfasta separate living roomharrah's casinoheavenly villagedining tablerooms are spaciousstate linefresh fruitperfect locationking suitesitting area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
720 - 725 of 797 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed here simply because our time share gave it to us free. They had changed the name of the hotel on the outside, but our reservation retained the old name, so it was a little confusing to find. As we arrived we noted that it was $20 a day to park; as others have mentioned, parking is a nightmare due to the Harrah's parking lot, so valet is almost essential.
The service was exceptional at the front desk, during happy hour, and during breakfast. The employees delivered our requests speedily and with a smile. The happy hour and breakfast are always a treat at an Embassy because they are free, but the service here was exceptional (average institutionalized food but the drinks during happy hour were not skimpy).
The pool is inside which was a disappointment as we were there when it was warm enough to lay out, but we used their large patio and slipped into the pool if needed. The people staying at the time we were there were wonderfully friendly and kind (ie: when we jumped in the pool at 10pm-the so called "adult time"- everyone with kids left).
Our room was spacious but I don't believe it had been updated in awhile. It was clean.
They do have an arrangement with a lakeside area, but be sure to bring all your own beach towels, chairs, etc, and grab a pass from the front desk to avoid the fee to get into the area.
The resort is located in a central area that makes it easy to walk to watch a movie, take a ride on the gondola, gamble, eat a delicious meal, or shop.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank just1beth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Extremely disappointed in our room, #709. Outdated and not clean. The vents and lighting in the bathroom were dirty. Unidentifiable stains on the carpet. It's a hotel room that you don't feel comfortable walking around without your shoes on. The breakfast was mediocre to say the least, very basic. If your going to charge top dollar, the quality of the rooms should match, we paid $240.00 for Saturday night. Just be aware that this hotel is in need of a huge facelift, I'm sure there are better properties in the area for the price. The only silver lining is the free open bar for two hours in the evening, that was great. Also, be prepared to pay $25 a night for valet parking or put on your walking shoes and hope for a close free parking spot in the adjacent property. Hopefully the hotel is planning a remodel, until then look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natheen73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_MgrSLT, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you were not pleased with your suite and some of the common areas of the property. I will be certain to pass on your concerns regarding the vents and carpets in that particular suite to our Head of Housekeeping. She takes a lot of pride in the cleanliness of the suites and we know she will be very unhappy to hear that we may have missed something. We have received very high praises for our buffet breakfast recently and are surprised that you did not find it better than mediocre. Please let us know how we might improve the breakfast and what items you felt were missing. We have added items from some local vendors and have also added a daily scrambled egg special; please let us know what we missed by emailing us at: info@tahoeresorthotel.com. Regarding parking, the only hotel parking lot is far too small for the general public to park, which is why we valet park; this includes unlimited in / out service and protects your vehicle from wildlife, damage from uncaring drivers, etc… Keep in mind, we only charge for valet parking, which is a great service, other properties either charge a mandatory resort fee, or parking (not valet), or both. We hope you will choose to visit us again. Our suite renovations should be completed by mid-December.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I stayed here recently during a basketball tournament in Tahoe. The place (formerly Embassy Suites) seemed nice enough..... HOWEVER - I was in a room (225) adjoining another room - Where to begin....

First of all, the entrance to my room was through the staging area of the kitchen - so it was actually a challenge to get to the door, because there were workers going back and forth - plus there were a lot of aromas coming from the kitchen....

But FAR WORSE, our room smelled horribly as if someone had been quite ill (think Bourbon Street in New Orleans after too many Hurricanes) We complained to the front desk. They were pleasant and sent someone to the room with air freshener spray. Seriously. So, the woman sprayed, then the room smelled sickly sweet of bad airspray AND vomit. Nice combo.

So we called the front desk again, and they sent some machine that was supposed to take all the smell out of the room. It did not. The good news/bad news, is that after being in the room for awhile, we sort of got used to it, but it was foul.

I will say that the bed was comfortable and that the breakfast was decent - one good thing being right off the eating area was our ability to bring the food back to our room.

It may be that in other rooms that our stay would have been dramatically different, but our rooms were AWFUL.

Room Tip: Do NOT stay in 224/225
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SFOglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_MgrSLT, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. We want to sincerely apologize for the discomfort you experienced during your stay with us. Since your visit, we have removed suite 225 from our inventory until our scheduled room renovations have been completed. The kitchen staff is also working on a plan for handling the breakfast and reception staging to avoid this in the future. Unfortunately, the weekend while you were with us we were completely sold out so we did not have an alternate suite to relocate you. We are terribly sorry for this inconvenience We would like to make it up to you so please contact us directly at info@tahoeresorthotel.com so that we can discuss this further. Again, thank you for your feedback and look forward to hearing from you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Drove up to Lake Tahoe for a wedding June 22nd. Arrived, not shocked by the $25 cost to park as I had been there before but surprised by the front desk attitude. Ran into a Front Desk Clerk with the maturity of a 12 year old named Jeremy. He kept insisting that we had booked an access room in spite of being advised otherwise and visibly not needing it. After repeating himself several times and not even pretending to listen, insisting that he was the only Manager on duty, we were forced to take a room we did not book. We checked in early in the afternoon and this spoiled man/child still refused to accommodate us or offer even a sales pitch on the room. I told him that it was too bad that they were no longer Hilton because at least there would be some place to turn. So tiring of the insolence, we took the room.

Fortunately, the bellhop Ian tried to make up for the Front Desk's lack of customer service and did a great job. The rest of the weekend went well in spite of handrails in the bathroom. It is really hard to stay upset when you are in one of the most beautiful locations on earth.

Soccer teams every where, rules not enforced, children dive bombing the pool and running up and down the halls, and adult pool hours a joke. Breakfast good, happy hour mediocre, restaurant understaffed, location great, rooms ok, and rest of staff hard working and accommodating. $490 for two nights but location, location, location.

Hope they fix their only one real problem with some intense customer service training or replacing immature staff.

Room Tip: Call so that there is no confusion and bring a copy of your confirmation.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Onebrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_MgrSLT, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Thank you for your recent review. We appreciate you bringing the issues you experienced to our attention so that we can address them directly with the team. We pride ourselves on providing great customer service and it is certainly not acceptable that you did not receive that while you stayed with us. We have spoken to all those involved and have taken actions to ensure that this will not occur in the future. If you have any other questions, please feel free to contact us directly at: info@tahoeresorthotel.com . We appreciate your business and hope you will decide to stay with us again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Between the wonderful staff, the free cocktail hour(s) (4:30-6:30), the free breakfast, and wonderfully clean, spacious rooms, this is a traveler's delight. Especially helpful was a lady named Jean Gurley. She's very knowledgeable, and will answer whatever questions you may have about the Tahoe/Reno/Carson City area. Being located directly across the driveway/stateline from Harrah's is another plus.

Room Tip: They're all good!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews